SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1183 (Misses' Dress)

25 more reviews
Viewed 680 times 
Reviewed by:CatMukai
photo

 
 
About CatMukaistar
CA USA
Member since: 5/31/07
Reviews: 35 (patterns: 34)
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 8 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/1/12 9:02 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 9 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $30.00 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $30.00 Pattern Details

Merchants on PR

O! Jolly! Shop


Sweater knit fabrics
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Amulet Swim Fabrics


Poly/PBT swimwear fabric
Web site

<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
CatMukai said... (7/12/12 3:36 PM) Reply
Koushite, here are two links to how I did the underlining with a mock Hong Kong finish: http://laurasewingroom.blogspot.com/2008/04/underlining-and-hong-kong-seam.html http://sewing.patternreview.com/cgi-bin/review/readreview.pl?readreview=1&ID=1044 Good luck!
mz.choize said... (7/4/12 11:16 PM) Reply
Soo gorgeous on you!
Koushite said... (7/4/12 8:06 AM) Reply
Love it! I'll take the dress and the dog! To finish the seams, I assume you wrapped the silk organza around them sort of Hong Kong fashion? I have some silk tweed for a suit and I'm thinking perhaps should underline it in silk organza rather than block fuse to prevent skirt from "seating out". Would appreciate your thoughts on this. Thanks so much. You are so talented!
waltzqueen said... (7/3/12 10:36 PM) Reply
What pot belly?? You did a wonderful job with your alterations and the fabric is lovely and a good color for you. Thanks for the detailed review.
Heatherrique said... (7/3/12 4:50 PM) Reply
Truly sleek looking dress on you!
mesewlot said... (7/3/12 2:14 AM) Reply
I've been wanting to make this pattern~ I'm glad to see your choice of fabric, VERY nice! It looks so good on you, and I love the color. Thanks for this very helpful review!
mochimo said... (7/2/12 10:46 AM) Reply
Love your dress! I also have this pattern but was wondering why I purchased it. Your dress inspires me. Beautiful color, also. And I love the nice finish of the underlining.
CatMukai said... (7/2/12 10:33 AM) Reply
Hi sewnotwork, I only underlined the skirt because I wanted the skirt seams to be finished, since I didn't have enough lining fabric to line the skirt. I interfaced all the bodice pieces, which is why I didn't underline them. I love underlining, I hope you are finding it useful!
sewnotwork said... (7/2/12 9:57 AM) Reply
Great! Did you underline the top also? Why did you underline skirt? More body? New at underlining concept and when it is a good idea to do it.
Sue Parrott said... (7/2/12 9:37 AM) Reply
Great color, the dress fits well and you look cute in it! What pot belly? I don't see one!
jlg said... (7/2/12 7:28 AM) Reply
Very, very pretty.
goal100 said... (7/2/12 5:47 AM) Reply
It's beautiful! I love the colour, too!
KatC83 said... (7/2/12 5:01 AM) Reply
What a stunning dress, and a perfect fit!
SewWil said... (7/2/12 0:32 AM) Reply
Beautiful dress!
GoodbyeValntino said... (7/1/12 9:09 PM) Reply
Your dress turned out very cute! Thanks for the review.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Class Details

Online Class
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Class Details

BurdaStyle Magazine 10-2005-101B

photo
by: yummymummy...

Review
BurdaStyle Magazine 01-2014-122

photo
by: popo

Review
Pamela's Patterns New Necklines & sleeves Pattern

Pamela's Patterns New Necklines & sleeves Pattern

Pattern Details
Full Bust DVD

Full Bust DVD

Pattern Details