SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1183 (Misses' Dress)

24 more reviews
Viewed 667 times 
Reviewed by:CatMukai
photo

 
 
About CatMukaistar
CA USA
Member since: 5/31/07
Reviews written: 35
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 8 people
patterns reviewed: 34
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/1/12 9:02 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 9 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $30.00 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $30.00 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
CatMukai said...
Koushite, here are two links to how I did the underlining with a mock Hong Kong finish: http://laurasewingroom.blogspot.com/2008/04/underlining-and-hong-kong-seam.html http://sewing.patternreview.com/cgi-bin/review/readreview.pl?readreview=1&ID=1044 Good luck!
7/12/12 3:36 PM
mz.choize said...
Soo gorgeous on you!
7/4/12 11:16 PM
Koushite said...
Love it! I'll take the dress and the dog! To finish the seams, I assume you wrapped the silk organza around them sort of Hong Kong fashion? I have some silk tweed for a suit and I'm thinking perhaps should underline it in silk organza rather than block fuse to prevent skirt from "seating out". Would appreciate your thoughts on this. Thanks so much. You are so talented!
7/4/12 8:06 AM
waltzqueen said...
What pot belly?? You did a wonderful job with your alterations and the fabric is lovely and a good color for you. Thanks for the detailed review.
7/3/12 10:36 PM
Heatherrique said...
Truly sleek looking dress on you!
7/3/12 4:50 PM
mesewlot said...
I've been wanting to make this pattern~ I'm glad to see your choice of fabric, VERY nice! It looks so good on you, and I love the color. Thanks for this very helpful review!
7/3/12 2:14 AM
mochimo said...
Love your dress! I also have this pattern but was wondering why I purchased it. Your dress inspires me. Beautiful color, also. And I love the nice finish of the underlining.
7/2/12 10:46 AM
CatMukai said...
Hi sewnotwork, I only underlined the skirt because I wanted the skirt seams to be finished, since I didn't have enough lining fabric to line the skirt. I interfaced all the bodice pieces, which is why I didn't underline them. I love underlining, I hope you are finding it useful!
7/2/12 10:33 AM
sewnotwork said...
Great! Did you underline the top also? Why did you underline skirt? More body? New at underlining concept and when it is a good idea to do it.
7/2/12 9:57 AM
Sue Parrott said...
Great color, the dress fits well and you look cute in it! What pot belly? I don't see one!
7/2/12 9:37 AM
jlg said...
Very, very pretty.
7/2/12 7:28 AM
goal100 said...
It's beautiful! I love the colour, too!
7/2/12 5:47 AM
KatC83 said...
What a stunning dress, and a perfect fit!
7/2/12 5:01 AM
SewWil said...
Beautiful dress!
7/2/12 0:32 AM
GoodbyeValntino said...
Your dress turned out very cute! Thanks for the review.
7/1/12 9:09 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Self Drafted Pattern 328244-1000

photo
by: katecorrie

Review
Simplicity 2938

photo
by: Monica Wal...

Review
Fanny Pack or Purse

Fanny Pack or Purse

Buy Now
Jennifer Stern The Perfectly Fitted Shirt by the Cup-Full Pattern ( Size 6-14(Cup A-DD) )

Jennifer Stern The Perfectly Fitted Shirt by the Cup-Full Pattern ( Size 6-14(Cup A-DD) )

Buy Now