Online Sewing Class: Fun with Fitting - PANTS
SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Vogue 8815

Here's what you'll learn:

  1. Distinguishing between different types of leather
  2. How to select and how much to buy for your project
  3. Choosing patterns
  4. Supplies and industry tips and tricks to sew with leather
  5. Seams
    • Basic
    • Flat-felled
    • Lapped
    • Cut-edge Lapped
  6. Darts
    • Classic
    • Overlap
    • Slot
  7. How to sew flaps and collars and cuffs
  8. Sewing the Peplum top
    • Cutting and Marking on Leather
    • Staying Leather
    • Pressing Leather
    • Sewing Darts
    • Inserting Zipper
    • Finishing
  9. Bonus: A 29 page PDF document showing step by step photos of all the different types of darts and seams. ">Leather 101 Online Sewing Class

Pattern Reviews> Colette Patterns> 1022 (Iris)

22 more reviews
Viewed 455 times 
Reviewed by:Raye Ann
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Raye Annstar
CA USA
Member since: 3/25/09
Reviews: 31 (patterns: 28)
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 16 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/3/12 0:15 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
See other patterns in this category: Shorts    
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 Pattern Details

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Historical Patterns
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
MNBarb said... (7/9/12 2:03 PM) Reply
I'm getting cooler just looking at your shorts (temperature-wise, not "oh, man, I'm so cool"). This pattern is tempting me and your review is very helpful. I think all of your changes would be spot on for my shape and size. Maybe you could just sew up a pair for me and drop them in the mail! Very, very cute!
cocosloft said... (7/4/12 12:26 PM) Reply
The first time I have liked this pattern! Super fabric and nice work!
BettyMike said... (7/4/12 8:10 AM) Reply
Okay, your review settles it, I'm getting that pattern! Your shorts look great! Thanks for a great review!
Raye Ann said... (7/3/12 1:33 PM) Reply
Marianna, yes to 40s! Actually, I say yes to any age if you are comfortable with your legs:). And, Colette's instructions on finishing were great. I finished my raw edges with my serger and that worked well. The only step I changed was the interior waistband. I trimmed the interior raw facing 1/8" and then bound it with double fold bias tape. This was the first time I tried it, and I love it. Next time I will trim more like 1/2" off the raw first.
MariannaSew2Pro said... (7/3/12 12:01 PM) Reply
Ooh, do you think 40s are fine for these?! But, well done! Don't know if it's you or the pattern, but the interior looks very professional.
Amanda.Claire said... (7/3/12 10:32 AM) Reply
I love your version Raye Anne! I read your fitting info and you are on the money. At 49, I thought that the shorter shorts were not for me. But I love my Iris shorts. It compliments my 5'2" height and Texas is so hot in the summer, shorter shorts are better than being naked. I hope loads of people try this pattern. It is the only shorts pattern that I have not been disappointed in.
Lori V said... (7/3/12 9:39 AM) Reply
Those shorts look great on you.
cleverkitty said... (7/3/12 9:12 AM) Reply
30's no 50's yes these look fabulous on you!!!
nellc said... (7/3/12 8:32 AM) Reply
Very cute and pretty shorts!
renren said... (7/3/12 1:33 AM) Reply
Very cute with a great fit and I love that summery orange color.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Class Details

Online Class
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Class Details

BurdaStyle Magazine 04-1996-417

photo
by: motorharp

Review
Islander Sewing Systems - MyStyle Greetings

Islander Sewing Systems - MyStyle Greetings

Pattern Details
Beginner Sewing Lab 102 - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Beginner Sewing Lab 102  - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Pattern Details