Online Sewing Class: Understanding Knit Fabrics
SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Colette Patterns> 1022 (Iris)

24 more reviews
Viewed 471 times 
Reviewed by:Raye Ann
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Raye Annstar
CA USA
Member since: 3/25/09
Reviews: 31 (patterns: 28)
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 17 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/3/12 0:15 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
See other patterns in this category: Shorts    
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
MNBarb said... (7/9/12 2:03 PM) Reply
I'm getting cooler just looking at your shorts (temperature-wise, not "oh, man, I'm so cool"). This pattern is tempting me and your review is very helpful. I think all of your changes would be spot on for my shape and size. Maybe you could just sew up a pair for me and drop them in the mail! Very, very cute!
cocosloft said... (7/4/12 12:26 PM) Reply
The first time I have liked this pattern! Super fabric and nice work!
BettyMike said... (7/4/12 8:10 AM) Reply
Okay, your review settles it, I'm getting that pattern! Your shorts look great! Thanks for a great review!
Raye Ann said... (7/3/12 1:33 PM) Reply
Marianna, yes to 40s! Actually, I say yes to any age if you are comfortable with your legs:). And, Colette's instructions on finishing were great. I finished my raw edges with my serger and that worked well. The only step I changed was the interior waistband. I trimmed the interior raw facing 1/8" and then bound it with double fold bias tape. This was the first time I tried it, and I love it. Next time I will trim more like 1/2" off the raw first.
MariannaSew2Pro said... (7/3/12 12:01 PM) Reply
Ooh, do you think 40s are fine for these?! But, well done! Don't know if it's you or the pattern, but the interior looks very professional.
Amanda.Claire said... (7/3/12 10:32 AM) Reply
I love your version Raye Anne! I read your fitting info and you are on the money. At 49, I thought that the shorter shorts were not for me. But I love my Iris shorts. It compliments my 5'2" height and Texas is so hot in the summer, shorter shorts are better than being naked. I hope loads of people try this pattern. It is the only shorts pattern that I have not been disappointed in.
Lori V said... (7/3/12 9:39 AM) Reply
Those shorts look great on you.
cleverkitty said... (7/3/12 9:12 AM) Reply
30's no 50's yes these look fabulous on you!!!
nellc said... (7/3/12 8:32 AM) Reply
Very cute and pretty shorts!
renren said... (7/3/12 1:33 AM) Reply
Very cute with a great fit and I love that summery orange color.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Class Details

Online Class
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Class Details

Simplicity 2181

photo
by: ArtAttack

Review
Lazy Girl Designs Slicker Tote Paper Pattern

Lazy Girl Designs Slicker Tote Paper Pattern

Pattern Details
Sewing Workshop Tahoe Pants Pattern

Sewing Workshop Tahoe Pants Pattern

Pattern Details
Sew Liberated 116

photo
by: megumi

Review