Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: 4521 (Designer Sewing Accessories) thumbsup - Type:Crafts    printable version
Viewed 1289 times 7 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 2 people   
Reviewed by:jacalhoun
photo
About jacalhounstarstar
PA
Member since: 9/6/04
Reviews written: 105
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 12 people
patterns reviewed: 103
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/30/04 1:50 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Kristi_Dugan said...
Very nice. Maybe a like-colored mesh would sew easier and still be see-through? Looks like a very useful pattern. Thanks for the review.
12/30/04 2:14 PM
kirianth said...
I hear a teflon foot (or maybe a regular foot wrapped with a layer of teflon tape) works better with vinyl. I haven't actually tried it before though.
12/30/04 2:31 PM
Susan Dryer said...
Teflon foot or roller foot, either one will make sewing on vinyl much less frustrating. I have used each at one time or other; both work well.
12/30/04 4:40 PM
Lunar_C said...
Fantastic. Just like a bought one only better.!! Maybe a water soluble or tear away stabiliser could be used in thin strips where stitching is on top of the vinyl.
12/30/04 6:12 PM
jacalhoun said...
Thanks for the suggestions when sewing vinyl. I looked back at a previous review of this (after I sewed mine, not before, of course!) and she had the same problem. I think I'll get a roller foot, if I can find one for my Singer, that is.
12/30/04 8:12 PM
LiZ said...
Your wall organiser looks great. I am sure that you will get a lot of use from it. I just purchased this pattern today as Spotlight in Australia have all patterns half price. I thought that I would make one for my DD for next Christmas.
12/31/04 1:59 AM
jacalhoun said...
knitter, definitely make sure you use either a teflon foot or a roller foot, because otherwise, it's not worth the hassle!
12/31/04 8:00 AM
Tinka said...
It has been many years since I sewed with vinyl, but it seems to me that I put tissue paper between the presser foot and the vinyl. And I do remember using very heavy duty iron on interfacing to give my project body - it was a hair accessories holder for my daughter, one of the free project sheets that Sew News used to have that you could send in for. I will see if I still have it kicking around somewhere, because I am sure I didn't come up with idea myself, so it must have been on the project sheet. Thank you for your review - organizing ideas are greatly welcomed!
12/31/04 8:49 AM
AnneM said...
That came out very nicely. Congratulations! I wonder if Solvy or something like that would prevent it sticking? (I need to pick up a teflon or roller foot.)
12/31/04 12:17 PM
jacalhoun said...
Well, I "just happened" to be at Joann's yesterday (heaven help me) and I spotted both a teflon and roller foot, and they were $7 combined, so I got one of each! That way if one doesn't work so well, I'll already have the other one. But, I won't be making more of these until March, because today starts the new patterns only contest. :-D Thanks for the tips everyone. I'll try to remember to let you know how it works next time.
1/1/05 9:51 AM
hat-and-bag-lady said...
I'm glad that I'm not the only one that admits (0ccassionally) to being too lazy to do something. I like the look of these things, so I bought the pattern. I am interested in making the sewing machine cover. (Because, sometimes, it is a long time inbetween sewing sessions: the poor machine gets this ... gasp ... dust on it.)
3/7/07 7:30 PM
HeyJane said...
Thanks so much for the warning about vinyl ! I made one just cotton. I think the mesh or netting fabric idea was a great one. I will try that next time. Not enough bravery to attempt vinyl. I'm having enough trouble right now with sequins - same thing they gum up the needle.
8/9/07 6:35 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Vogue Patterns 8805
photo
Review by paolag on 3/23/14
Read Review

Christine Jonson Boyfriend Jacket and Shell
Christine Jonson Boyfriend Jacket and Shell

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Bluegingerdoll Stella Blouse
Bluegingerdoll Stella Blouse

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Tiny Pocket Tank
Tiny Pocket Tank

Details
Price: $6.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simple Things Cozy Cap Digital Pattern (003)
Simple Things Cozy Cap Digital Pattern (003)

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 3762
photo
Review by MCBurbage on 11/1/09
Read Review

New Look 6070 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12-14-16 )
New Look 6070 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2290 Pattern( Size XS )
Simplicity 2290 Pattern( Size XS )

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us