SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
PR Weekend Los Angeles

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 4521 (Designer Sewing Accessories)

7 more reviews
Viewed 1289 times 
Reviewed by:jacalhoun
photo

 
 
About jacalhounstarstar
PA
Member since: 9/6/04
Reviews: 105 (patterns: 103)
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 12 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/30/04 1:50 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 2 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
HeyJane said... (8/9/07 6:35 PM) Reply
Thanks so much for the warning about vinyl ! I made one just cotton. I think the mesh or netting fabric idea was a great one. I will try that next time. Not enough bravery to attempt vinyl. I'm having enough trouble right now with sequins - same thing they gum up the needle.
hat-and-bag-lady said... (3/7/07 7:30 PM) Reply
I'm glad that I'm not the only one that admits (0ccassionally) to being too lazy to do something. I like the look of these things, so I bought the pattern. I am interested in making the sewing machine cover. (Because, sometimes, it is a long time inbetween sewing sessions: the poor machine gets this ... gasp ... dust on it.)
jacalhoun said... (1/1/05 9:51 AM) Reply
Well, I "just happened" to be at Joann's yesterday (heaven help me) and I spotted both a teflon and roller foot, and they were $7 combined, so I got one of each! That way if one doesn't work so well, I'll already have the other one. But, I won't be making more of these until March, because today starts the new patterns only contest. :-D Thanks for the tips everyone. I'll try to remember to let you know how it works next time.
AnneM said... (12/31/04 12:17 PM) Reply
That came out very nicely. Congratulations! I wonder if Solvy or something like that would prevent it sticking? (I need to pick up a teflon or roller foot.)
Tinka said... (12/31/04 8:49 AM) Reply
It has been many years since I sewed with vinyl, but it seems to me that I put tissue paper between the presser foot and the vinyl. And I do remember using very heavy duty iron on interfacing to give my project body - it was a hair accessories holder for my daughter, one of the free project sheets that Sew News used to have that you could send in for. I will see if I still have it kicking around somewhere, because I am sure I didn't come up with idea myself, so it must have been on the project sheet. Thank you for your review - organizing ideas are greatly welcomed!
jacalhoun said... (12/31/04 8:00 AM) Reply
knitter, definitely make sure you use either a teflon foot or a roller foot, because otherwise, it's not worth the hassle!
LiZ said... (12/31/04 1:59 AM) Reply
Your wall organiser looks great. I am sure that you will get a lot of use from it. I just purchased this pattern today as Spotlight in Australia have all patterns half price. I thought that I would make one for my DD for next Christmas.
jacalhoun said... (12/30/04 8:12 PM) Reply
Thanks for the suggestions when sewing vinyl. I looked back at a previous review of this (after I sewed mine, not before, of course!) and she had the same problem. I think I'll get a roller foot, if I can find one for my Singer, that is.
Lunar_C said... (12/30/04 6:12 PM) Reply
Fantastic. Just like a bought one only better.!! Maybe a water soluble or tear away stabiliser could be used in thin strips where stitching is on top of the vinyl.
Susan Dryer said... (12/30/04 4:40 PM) Reply
Teflon foot or roller foot, either one will make sewing on vinyl much less frustrating. I have used each at one time or other; both work well.
kirianth said... (12/30/04 2:31 PM) Reply
I hear a teflon foot (or maybe a regular foot wrapped with a layer of teflon tape) works better with vinyl. I haven't actually tried it before though.
Kristi_Dugan said... (12/30/04 2:14 PM) Reply
Very nice. Maybe a like-colored mesh would sew easier and still be see-through? Looks like a very useful pattern. Thanks for the review.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Class Details

Online Class
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Class Details

McCall's 6603

photo
by: Mirakel

Review
Victory Simone Paper Pattern

Victory Simone Paper Pattern

Pattern Details
Islander Sewing Systems Men's City Western Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Men's City Western Shirt Pattern

Pattern Details
Colette Patterns 0003

photo
by: Nanax4

Review