Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Japanese Pattern Books: Stylish Dress Book 1 (Dress E) thumbsup - Type:Dresses
Review submitted in Pattern Stash 2012 Contest    printable version
Viewed 284 times 5 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
Reviewed by:dawn so cal
photo
About dawn so calstar
IL USA
Member since: 1/6/11
Reviews written: 55
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 6 people
patterns reviewed: 54
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/6/12 3:00 PM
Last Updated:7/8/12 3:58 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
duckbucket said...
I actually think it's cute on you without the belt. A nice light summer dress.
7/6/12 3:18 PM
Mufffet said...
Soooo cute - both ways, and I like the without the belt best! Because more comfy!
7/6/12 3:50 PM
loti said...
I think it's cute, I also like it better without the belt.
7/6/12 4:36 PM
katlew03 said...
Very cute and comfortable looking.
7/6/12 4:56 PM
dawn so cal said...
Really? You all are too kind! I just hate it! I think it looks like a mumu!
7/6/12 5:16 PM
cerulean said...
I like the print! It's too bad that it seems too loose to you!
7/6/12 5:28 PM
sew4grands said...
Like the dress without the belt too. I am looking for a pattern like this, cool for summer, what is the title of the book?
7/7/12 9:10 AM
FreyaStark said...
I like it as it is, without the belt, but then I like the muumuu look and not everyone does. Just wear it around the house! It's too good to waste.
7/7/12 4:28 PM
QuikSew said...
I agree with duck bucket. I actually like the light summery look as a dress without the belt. It's not a church dress, but I would wear it around the house and on short trips to the store. Especially in TX when it's 100 degrees.
7/7/12 6:16 PM
QuikSew said...
I agree with duck bucket. I actually like the light summery look as a dress without the belt. It's not a church dress, but I would wear it around the house and on short trips to the store. Especially in TX when it's 100 degrees.
7/7/12 6:16 PM
dawn so cal said...
Thanks! The book is called Stylish Dress Book.
7/8/12 2:55 AM
Renata said...
I bought the book because of the dress on the cover and it is a pity you don't like it. Maybe with a softer fabric you would like the style. It might soften up after a few washes and you may grow to like it. I do like it without the belt.
7/8/12 4:07 AM
mm said...
It looks fine.
7/8/12 4:08 AM
Renren said...
This looks like the kind of dress that, although it might not at first be my favorite, I would find myself reaching for again and again because of the comfort. I don't know about the sleeves (if they are too tight or if they pull--a definite turn off for me) but I consider dresses like this to be "low demand"--you can wear them in comfort without having to constantly be reminded you have something on. I bet you find you will enjoy wearing this dress.
7/8/12 9:46 AM
pammysarry said...
Love your fabric choice but agree the dress has the mumu look! In fairness, the models picture is side-on so I am thinking even on her it would have that sack like quality. Had similar issue with mumu-ness from simplicity 2174 – it took a lot of reworking to get it to suit my pear shape. Agree with QuikSew – great round the house type of dress for summer. To reduce the mumu-ness, think with this dress - if you are comfortable with doing so - I would recommend lowering the neckline (high necklines are generally not a friend to a fuller bust) to reduce amount of fabric up top. A hint of curve when everything else is hidden. Another option, take the hem up to more mid/upper thigh and wear as tunic over leggings. Really like the deep pockets - look to be at the perfect height!
7/9/12 6:52 AM
dawn so cal said...
That´s a great idea to turn in into a tunic! I never would have thought to lower the neckline. Great idea!!
7/9/12 10:52 AM
Margaret said...
I've decided I have the same problem with anything that doesn't fit into the waist at all, especially in back. Sometimes adding a self-fabric belt helps some (if you have fabric left). I like pammysarry's neckline idea too, and the fabric may also start to soften up more to give it some more drape. Looks like a nice cool dress, though.
7/17/12 10:38 AM
testbunny said...
It's a lovely dress. You have a similar figure to me, I would just have made it lots longer. Have you tried wearing it over a slightly longer skirt?- bet it will suit you just fine then!That's what I do with too short dresses.
7/21/13 4:26 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Vogue Patterns 1087 MISSES' DRESS
photo
Review by Mazzygirl on 6/6/10
Read Review

Burda 7086 Pattern
Burda 7086 Pattern

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 9448 Pattern
Burda 9448 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Other no. 12
photo
Review by Tini on 6/4/04
Read Review

You Sew Girl Pyramid Purse Digital Pattern
You Sew Girl Pyramid Purse Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $6.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Flat Cap Digital Pattern
You Sew Girl Flat Cap Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $11.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus 605 Pattern
Petite Plus 605 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby "I Can Do It" Cloth Activity Book Pattern
SewBaby

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us