SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Petite Poche> Sandy (Sandy)

Viewed 87 times 
Reviewed by:BrightFeather
photo

 
 
About BrightFeatherstar
GA USA
Member since: 3/7/08
Reviews written: 78
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 71
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/8/12 9:19 PM
Last Updated:7/8/12 11:03 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 2 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
4 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
cmj said...
I've had the same issue with these patterns. I love them - they're darling, classic designs and not too froufrou. I have way too many of them! But I sew for kids that don't live anywhere near me, and I have to be able to use their measurements to size patterns. The only suggestion I've had from Petite Poche is to take an outfit that fits them and compare it to the pattern. Since they don't live nearby, so I can't do that. Anyway ---- Yours turned out lovely!
7/9/12 10:37 AM
Pink Hollybush Designs said...
Thanks so much for the head's up about Petite Poche patterns. I love supporting independent pattern designers, but still want that professional looking result. Sizing is a big deal. Despite everything, your nieces look adoradable in the outfits you made!
7/9/12 11:54 AM
ctirish said...
I would not have imagined the outcome looking at the pattern. And the ability to make a matching cover to a sunsuit. just great. I have sizing issues too, last year I made 4 dresses and all of them were too big. Recently, I want to make tops and capris but if i go by the measurements on the pattern I will be making a size 3 for my 6 yr gd. I can't imagine that everything is going to be in the right place. So, do you think Petie Poche patterns run big or small?
7/10/12 1:47 AM
BrightFeather said...
Ctirish, RTW sizing and pattern sizing don't even have a nodding acquaintance. Especially in kids clothing. If she's measuring a three, she probably is one--though you need to check finished length and torso length. Gracie is 4 and still solidly in 3s, but she's the height of an average six-year-old, so everything has to be lengthened. It's become part of my standard regime to check both and lengthen if necessary--and it usually is! I've even altered RTW stuff for her by adding bands of fabric to the bottom. As for Petite Poche, this is the only pattern I've made, so I can't really generalize. The fit was pretty good on the girls, (Nikki's was a great fit!) aside from the fact that the rise on the play suit and the straps were too short on Gracie's! PHD, thanks! CMJ- Nice to know I'm not the only one! Thanks! Edit: I've learned how to size these now. Take the kid's measurements and add two inches to them for wearing ease and compare to the finished measurements. Make the one that matches and you're good to go!
7/11/12 0:55 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Jalie 2673

photo
by: newyorklan...

Review
Sewn Square One Swing Shift Pattern

Sewn Square One Swing Shift Pattern

Buy Now
Petite Plus 151 Pattern

Petite Plus 151 Pattern

Buy Now
Butterick 5534

photo
by: Trinity.

Review