SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> New Look> 6598 (Misses Tops)

36 more reviews
Viewed 583 times 
Reviewed by:MNBarb
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About MNBarbstarstarstarstar
MN USA
Member since: 4/3/10
Reviews written: 141
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 73 people
patterns reviewed: 132
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/10/12 7:24 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $4.49 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $4.49 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Dilliander said...
Great fix, lovely result :)
7/10/12 7:52 PM
Amanda.Claire said...
You are cracking me up with your King Kong armholes! So glad you fixed that, cause your top turned out really cute. I think I have this pattern somewhere but have not sewn it. I now know what to look for while sewing it!!
7/10/12 8:00 PM
SewWil said...
Great job fixing the "King Kong" armholes. Cute summer top. Thanks for the link for the cropped pants.
7/10/12 9:15 PM
cleverkitty said...
I had to go look in my closet to see if I made the sleeveless version on this pattern, I guess not, I will stay away from that view. You totally reveal my getaway at the computer with your humor that makes me LOL, "two people could have held a conversation, while maintaining eye contact, looking from one side of me to the other through these openings" The way I see it Your top is pretty cute, but your wit won me over on this review. White pants on you? what gives....
7/10/12 9:15 PM
sfshaza said...
What a cute summer outfit. The fixed-up armholes look great. Thanks for that link to the threads article on cropped pants.
7/10/12 10:59 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
great fit and it looks fab on you
7/10/12 11:40 PM
JenniferMM said...
Well done fixing the armhole issue. It looks great!
7/11/12 3:03 AM
Ripple Dandelion said...
I really like your top--the v-neck shape is very graceful and the color is great.
7/11/12 6:41 AM
Christas said...
Ha! SO glad you fixed those "King Kong" armholes! You are a hoot. Love your new top. It looks so nice on you!
7/11/12 9:45 AM
ArtAttack said...
Oh, Barb...no hayseed going on here, girlfriend. This is cute! I wondered about this pattern since it looked so sleek and easy...thanks for the review!
7/11/12 11:33 AM
CCQ said...
Very comfortable summer-time look. Good choice as always :)
7/12/12 9:22 AM
RLL said...
Looks so nice on you, great shape/fit and the color is wonderful. The flare out at the front hem...I seem to recall reading once with jacket fitting that it meant it was too short at CF in chest area....to add length in CF above bust (cut and spread pattern) tappering to nothing at side then true up the CF line , grainline and any darts. Don't know if this works for tops in general or just jackets.....but might be worth a try.
7/12/12 2:03 PM
CorgieMom said...
Cute outfit! Like the silhouette in the back photo - shapes nicely. Looks like you nailed the fix on the armholes. Winner!
7/17/12 1:29 PM
Margaret said...
Great-looking top, glad the armholes could be fixed. New Looks often seem big in my experience too, especially in the shoulder and neckline area. RLL's suggestion about the flare out seems good to me -- I would guess the front might be too short relative to the back for it to be able to hang down vertically at the hem?
7/24/12 4:58 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Other Merckwaerdigh BHS10

photo
by: treefrog

Review
Summer Tote

Summer Tote

Buy Now
Favorite Things Little Bow Peep Pattern

Favorite Things Little Bow Peep Pattern

Buy Now
Vogue Patterns 8742

photo
by: SewWil

Review