SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 6503 (Misses' Dresses)

34 more reviews
Viewed 574 times 
Reviewed by:zoe
photo

 
 
About zoestar
NA CANADA
Member since: 9/14/03
Reviews written: 17
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 6 people
patterns reviewed: 16
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/13/12 6:55 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 4 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $18.95 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $18.95 Pattern Details

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
biink said...
Such a classy dress, love the colors and print-looks very pretty on you
8/5/12 3:57 PM
miausiau said...
Your work is beautiful and thank you for the gelatin idea...I do a lot with silk so it may come in handy. Love your dresses!
7/31/12 11:33 PM
Michele Lommasson said...
Perfect choice of pattern for your lovely vintage fabric.
7/14/12 12:53 PM
zoe said...
prostheticsgirl: I'm looking forward to seeing your next sari project. You are right: it gets obsessive. I need a life where I can wear more dressy clothes. I've taken to wearing silk regularly, just because; but I would love to be able to sew something really elegant and very dressy from sari silk; alas, I have no where to wear such a creation though.
7/14/12 12:10 PM
prostheticsgirl said...
I've also purchased quite a few vintage saris from Ebay. It can take quite a while (3-4 weeks) for shipping from India, but the prices are amazing. Most sellers will also combine several orders, which greatly reduces shipping fees, if you pay for several at once. With vintage, you often get some flaws (small holes, stains, and fabric irregularities) so I usually select projects that won't require the full yardage which allows me to work around these issues. Be warned, it can be quite addicitive looking at them online!
7/14/12 11:43 AM
zoe said...
Thank you all for your kind comments. Jrhee; there were no issues at all with the gelatin gumming up the needle ( or the iron; or anything at all). It was such a great fix for working with the slippery silk with no problems with it in any way. I tested it on a piece of the silk before doing the whole 5 yards; I cut a square, did the soak; dried, ironed; test sewed; and all just perfect; I was, in fact, delighted with it). sewnotwork: I bought the sari on ebay (as a used item; not new). If you do that, just take care to check seller feedback, and be sure to get genuine silk, not 'art silk' ( which is synthetic). There are lots of good sellers there in India. In total, with the cost of shipping, I paid less than $20.00 for 5 yards of this amazing silk. I love the recycling aspect of doing this too.
7/14/12 10:59 AM
Jrhee said...
This is so beautiful. I've heard about the gelatin soak method, but was worried it would gum up my iron. Did you have any issues with that?
7/14/12 10:50 AM
mrsnodders said...
It's beautiful! I love the fabric! I have this pattern, but have yet to make it. All of your versions are very inspiring.
7/14/12 10:10 AM
cocosloft said...
This is just lovely. Thanks for tip on gelatin, I've been avoiding a piece of silk my mom gave me :-)
7/14/12 7:11 AM
sewnotwork said...
Very nice. What site did you order sari from?
7/14/12 1:10 AM
Christas said...
Absolutely beautiful dress! Your fabric is very lovely, too. I can see why you would want to make it again.
7/14/12 0:52 AM
prostheticsgirl said...
LOVE your fabric!! The colors and prints on saris are just so amazing. I have never heard about using gelatin, but guarantee I'll be trying it when making next sari dress!
7/13/12 8:41 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Ottobre Woman Magazine 02-2013-2

photo
by: westmoon

Review
Sew Chic Beatrice Pocket Dress Pattern (ln1310)

Sew Chic Beatrice Pocket Dress Pattern (ln1310)

Buy Now
You Sew Girl Large Tote and Satchel Pattern

You Sew Girl Large Tote and Satchel Pattern

Buy Now