SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 6503 (Misses' Dresses)

33 more reviews
Viewed 555 times 
Reviewed by:zoe
photo

 
 
About zoestar
NA CANADA
Member since: 9/14/03
Reviews written: 17
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 6 people
patterns reviewed: 16
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/13/12 6:55 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 4 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $18.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $18.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
prostheticsgirl said...
LOVE your fabric!! The colors and prints on saris are just so amazing. I have never heard about using gelatin, but guarantee I'll be trying it when making next sari dress!
7/13/12 8:41 PM
Christas said...
Absolutely beautiful dress! Your fabric is very lovely, too. I can see why you would want to make it again.
7/14/12 0:52 AM
sewnotwork said...
Very nice. What site did you order sari from?
7/14/12 1:10 AM
cocosloft said...
This is just lovely. Thanks for tip on gelatin, I've been avoiding a piece of silk my mom gave me :-)
7/14/12 7:11 AM
mrsnodders said...
It's beautiful! I love the fabric! I have this pattern, but have yet to make it. All of your versions are very inspiring.
7/14/12 10:10 AM
Jrhee said...
This is so beautiful. I've heard about the gelatin soak method, but was worried it would gum up my iron. Did you have any issues with that?
7/14/12 10:50 AM
zoe said...
Thank you all for your kind comments. Jrhee; there were no issues at all with the gelatin gumming up the needle ( or the iron; or anything at all). It was such a great fix for working with the slippery silk with no problems with it in any way. I tested it on a piece of the silk before doing the whole 5 yards; I cut a square, did the soak; dried, ironed; test sewed; and all just perfect; I was, in fact, delighted with it). sewnotwork: I bought the sari on ebay (as a used item; not new). If you do that, just take care to check seller feedback, and be sure to get genuine silk, not 'art silk' ( which is synthetic). There are lots of good sellers there in India. In total, with the cost of shipping, I paid less than $20.00 for 5 yards of this amazing silk. I love the recycling aspect of doing this too.
7/14/12 10:59 AM
prostheticsgirl said...
I've also purchased quite a few vintage saris from Ebay. It can take quite a while (3-4 weeks) for shipping from India, but the prices are amazing. Most sellers will also combine several orders, which greatly reduces shipping fees, if you pay for several at once. With vintage, you often get some flaws (small holes, stains, and fabric irregularities) so I usually select projects that won't require the full yardage which allows me to work around these issues. Be warned, it can be quite addicitive looking at them online!
7/14/12 11:43 AM
zoe said...
prostheticsgirl: I'm looking forward to seeing your next sari project. You are right: it gets obsessive. I need a life where I can wear more dressy clothes. I've taken to wearing silk regularly, just because; but I would love to be able to sew something really elegant and very dressy from sari silk; alas, I have no where to wear such a creation though.
7/14/12 12:10 PM
Michele Lommasson said...
Perfect choice of pattern for your lovely vintage fabric.
7/14/12 12:53 PM
miausiau said...
Your work is beautiful and thank you for the gelatin idea...I do a lot with silk so it may come in handy. Love your dresses!
7/31/12 11:33 PM
biink said...
Such a classy dress, love the colors and print-looks very pretty on you
8/5/12 3:57 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

StyleArc Jenny Shirt

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
Kwik Sew 3146

photo
by: Pickledwea...

Review

Pattern

Christine Jonson BaseWear Two - Straight Skirt, Taper Skirt, & Top with Options

Christine Jonson BaseWear Two - Straight Skirt, Taper Skirt, & Top with Options

Buy Now
Sew Chic The Tia Dress Pattern (ln1312)

Sew Chic The Tia Dress Pattern (ln1312)

Buy Now