Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 6503 (Misses' Dresses) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 542 times 32 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 4 people   
Reviewed by:zoe
photo
About zoestar
NA CANADA
Member since: 9/14/03
Reviews written: 17
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 6 people
patterns reviewed: 16
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/13/12 6:55 PM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $15.16 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $15.16  List Price: $18.95   Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
prostheticsgirl said...
LOVE your fabric!! The colors and prints on saris are just so amazing. I have never heard about using gelatin, but guarantee I'll be trying it when making next sari dress!
7/13/12 8:41 PM
Christas said...
Absolutely beautiful dress! Your fabric is very lovely, too. I can see why you would want to make it again.
7/14/12 0:52 AM
sewnotwork said...
Very nice. What site did you order sari from?
7/14/12 1:10 AM
cocosloft said...
This is just lovely. Thanks for tip on gelatin, I've been avoiding a piece of silk my mom gave me :-)
7/14/12 7:11 AM
mrsnodders said...
It's beautiful! I love the fabric! I have this pattern, but have yet to make it. All of your versions are very inspiring.
7/14/12 10:10 AM
Jrhee said...
This is so beautiful. I've heard about the gelatin soak method, but was worried it would gum up my iron. Did you have any issues with that?
7/14/12 10:50 AM
zoe said...
Thank you all for your kind comments. Jrhee; there were no issues at all with the gelatin gumming up the needle ( or the iron; or anything at all). It was such a great fix for working with the slippery silk with no problems with it in any way. I tested it on a piece of the silk before doing the whole 5 yards; I cut a square, did the soak; dried, ironed; test sewed; and all just perfect; I was, in fact, delighted with it). sewnotwork: I bought the sari on ebay (as a used item; not new). If you do that, just take care to check seller feedback, and be sure to get genuine silk, not 'art silk' ( which is synthetic). There are lots of good sellers there in India. In total, with the cost of shipping, I paid less than $20.00 for 5 yards of this amazing silk. I love the recycling aspect of doing this too.
7/14/12 10:59 AM
prostheticsgirl said...
I've also purchased quite a few vintage saris from Ebay. It can take quite a while (3-4 weeks) for shipping from India, but the prices are amazing. Most sellers will also combine several orders, which greatly reduces shipping fees, if you pay for several at once. With vintage, you often get some flaws (small holes, stains, and fabric irregularities) so I usually select projects that won't require the full yardage which allows me to work around these issues. Be warned, it can be quite addicitive looking at them online!
7/14/12 11:43 AM
zoe said...
prostheticsgirl: I'm looking forward to seeing your next sari project. You are right: it gets obsessive. I need a life where I can wear more dressy clothes. I've taken to wearing silk regularly, just because; but I would love to be able to sew something really elegant and very dressy from sari silk; alas, I have no where to wear such a creation though.
7/14/12 12:10 PM
Michele Lommasson said...
Perfect choice of pattern for your lovely vintage fabric.
7/14/12 12:53 PM
miausiau said...
Your work is beautiful and thank you for the gelatin idea...I do a lot with silk so it may come in handy. Love your dresses!
7/31/12 11:33 PM
biink said...
Such a classy dress, love the colors and print-looks very pretty on you
8/5/12 3:57 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

Butterick 5965
photo
Review by MrsCharism... on 10/30/13
Read Review

Salme Playsuit Digital Pattern
Salme Playsuit Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver S Birthday Party Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-3T )
Oliver   S Birthday Party Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-3T )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 6070
photo
Review by Amanda S. on 5/21/10
Read Review

SewBaby Animal Mittens Pattern
SewBaby Animal Mittens Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Everyday Baskets
Everyday Baskets

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8939 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )
Vogue 8939 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1651 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16-18-20 )
Simplicity 1651 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16-18-20 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us