SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5209 

38 more reviews
Viewed 362 times 
Reviewed by:Nan Kay
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Nan Kaystar
MO USA
Member since: 5/27/09
Reviews written: 58
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 13 people
patterns reviewed: 55
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/14/12 2:42 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 3 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Christas said...
Despite all your troubles, the dress is very pretty and looks very nice on you!
7/14/12 2:58 PM
prttynpnk said...
It really is pretty on you- I did mine in an upholstery-esque jacquard and it does get a little linebacker-y in the shoulders when I sit! Your fabric choice gives it a lovely Dorothy Lamour look.
7/14/12 4:44 PM
zoe said...
The dress looks beautiful on you! So much trouble with the zipper though! Poor you; I just hate when that sort of thing happens. I remember once struggling with a zipper in a similar way: I do believe I even bled on the fabric ( pins and fristrations); which, of course, resulted in blood drops that stained the fabric; just worse and worse. Yours looks good though!
7/14/12 4:53 PM
pdiddly said...
I agree with the others it has turned out lovely
7/15/12 4:19 AM
strongnow said...
While not denying your problems, the end result looks lovely. I would not have looked at this pattern if I had not been drawn to your picture. So thanks for posting.
7/15/12 10:21 AM
Nan Kay said...
Thank you for the kind words!! This will never be a favorite dress. It continues to stretch when it is being worn, but the belt keeps it from showing too much! I do like the colors and as I said there is nothing wrong with this pattern. I should have altered it to fit and used different fabric!
7/15/12 2:54 PM
Michele Lommasson said...
Thanks for the thorough review. I don't believe I will even consider this dress without a muslin after you experience. I think yours is quite pretty; the fabric looks wonderful even if it gave you fits. Maybe you'll be able to wear it this summer without too many bad feelings.
3/13/13 9:28 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Simplicity 3752

photo
by: heathergwo

Review
Contest Mini Wardrobe Contest

photo
by: mangoflavo...

Review
Islander Sewing Systems Women's City Western Blouse Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Women's City Western Blouse Pattern

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Tie-Back Top

Christine Jonson Tie-Back Top

Buy Now