SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5209 

42 more reviews
Viewed 382 times 
Reviewed by:Nan Kay
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Nan Kaystar
MO United States
Member since: 5/27/09
Reviews: 73 (patterns: 70)
Body Type:
Skill level:Advanced
Favored by: 17 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/14/12 2:42 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 3 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Michele Lommasson said... (3/13/13 9:28 AM) Reply
Thanks for the thorough review. I don't believe I will even consider this dress without a muslin after you experience. I think yours is quite pretty; the fabric looks wonderful even if it gave you fits. Maybe you'll be able to wear it this summer without too many bad feelings.
Nan Kay said... (7/15/12 2:54 PM) Reply
Thank you for the kind words!! This will never be a favorite dress. It continues to stretch when it is being worn, but the belt keeps it from showing too much! I do like the colors and as I said there is nothing wrong with this pattern. I should have altered it to fit and used different fabric!
strongnow said... (7/15/12 10:21 AM) Reply
While not denying your problems, the end result looks lovely. I would not have looked at this pattern if I had not been drawn to your picture. So thanks for posting.
pdiddly said... (7/15/12 4:19 AM) Reply
I agree with the others it has turned out lovely
zoe said... (7/14/12 4:53 PM) Reply
The dress looks beautiful on you! So much trouble with the zipper though! Poor you; I just hate when that sort of thing happens. I remember once struggling with a zipper in a similar way: I do believe I even bled on the fabric ( pins and fristrations); which, of course, resulted in blood drops that stained the fabric; just worse and worse. Yours looks good though!
prttynpnk said... (7/14/12 4:44 PM) Reply
It really is pretty on you- I did mine in an upholstery-esque jacquard and it does get a little linebacker-y in the shoulders when I sit! Your fabric choice gives it a lovely Dorothy Lamour look.
Christas said... (7/14/12 2:58 PM) Reply
Despite all your troubles, the dress is very pretty and looks very nice on you!
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Class Details

Online Class
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Class Details

Lutterloh Lutterloh Supp 271#75

photo
by: Lagolden2

Review
Vogue Patterns 1191

photo
by: maryfrana

Review
Sew Liberated Esme Top Pattern

Sew Liberated Esme Top Pattern

Pattern Details
HANDBAG CONSTRUCTION - A CD Book By Kenneth King

HANDBAG CONSTRUCTION - A CD Book By Kenneth King

Pattern Details