SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Sewaholic Patterns> 1202 (Cambie Dress)

59 more reviews
Viewed 959 times 
Reviewed by:retrotechgeneva
photo

 
 
About retrotechgenevastar
SWITZERLAND
Member since: 4/25/12
Reviews written: 6
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 7 people
patterns reviewed: 5
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2012
Posted on:7/15/12 4:59 PM
Last Updated:7/16/12 1:18 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 21 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $17.98 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $17.98 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
57 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Karla Kizer said...
Excellent review, and fantastic dress. Don't worry about going "off-script". In sewing, you do whatever works - and your dress is evidence that you're doing something right.
7/15/12 5:09 PM
tg33 said...
Beautiful!
7/16/12 4:03 AM
sewmytime said...
Lovely dress!
7/16/12 4:56 AM
jlg said...
Oh wow, what a fantastic dress.
7/16/12 5:22 AM
KensingtonCrab said...
Beautiful dress and background scenery!
7/16/12 6:43 AM
GoodbyeValntino said...
How beautiful!
7/16/12 7:08 AM
Living Beauty said...
I really enjoyed you review. You chose such a beautiful fabric for this dress. I love it. It looks fantastic on you!
7/16/12 7:20 AM
Scheri said...
What a beautiful dress. I am in love with the fabric
7/16/12 7:29 AM
canei said...
Love, love, love!!!
7/16/12 7:41 AM
QueenZ said...
This is waaaay ultra cute!
7/16/12 7:57 AM
Lori V said...
Gorgeous dress and beautiful photo.
7/16/12 8:21 AM
RLL said...
The fabric is perfect for this dress. KensingtonCrab mentioned the background scenery and I had to go back up to look.....your dress was so eyecatching that I did not notice the background.
7/16/12 8:38 AM
prostheticsgirl said...
I love your use of fabric for this dress! I like unique fabrics applied to more conventional designs, it makes for such unique projects!
7/16/12 9:01 AM
Kathy7661 said...
Very pretty, looks great on you!
7/16/12 9:07 AM
HelenMcG said...
Stunning dress. You should be so proud. I have had stuggles with the zipper issue myself and your self-confidence to go "off script" with the zipper is awesome.
7/16/12 9:28 AM
zoe said...
Well written review! Your dress looks beautiful. The sleeve 'design feature' with the contrasting fabrics actually works really well and looks great.
7/16/12 9:59 AM
retrotechgeneva said...
Thank you so much for all your positive comments! This is my first review here and it is so nice to have such a warm welcome. I shall update my review this evening with pictures of the back of the dress showing the lapped zipper, and the lining as well.
7/16/12 10:41 AM
Izzie said...
Gorgeous dress! Congratulations on your first review, great job!
7/16/12 11:26 AM
Knitters Delight said...
I cannot stress enough - how much I love your version. I have made one, but will have more in my future for sure.
7/16/12 12:03 PM
CJgal said...
Gorgeous!
7/16/12 12:19 PM
prttynpnk said...
Oh, I love this so much! YOu have truly made this your on and it's wonderful!
7/16/12 12:24 PM
duckbucket said...
Looks amazing. I love your fabric choice!
7/16/12 1:23 PM
blessedtosew said...
That is BEAUTIFUL!!! You look fabulous in it.
7/16/12 1:34 PM
norie creates said...
What a beautiful dress! I'd better start keeping my old bedsheets : )
7/16/12 1:39 PM
Sassy T said...
My favourite Cambie thus far. I think Sewaholic has a tutorial on zippers in her sewtionary at the top of her page.
7/16/12 1:39 PM
Claverie said...
Wow! What a debut for your first pattern review. Beautiful.
7/16/12 1:43 PM
ChristineX said...
Oh wow, great dress and use of fabric! You look gorgeous!
7/16/12 1:46 PM
flyawayhair said...
This is stunning on you! Also the choice of fabric is great. I really appreciate how the design of the fabric is placed with this dress.
7/16/12 2:28 PM
crazygrad said...
Gorgeous! Where was the pic taken? The whole image-- dress, you, scene-- is worthy of a magazine!
7/16/12 3:34 PM
zoe said...
Checked back to see the pics of the dress interior; always good to see in a review. Looks like you've done a wonderful job! I also use thrifted cotton bedsheets for linings; I started doing so, once I realized they were the same fabric as most of the cotton I was buying to line things. YARDS of it for an amazing price too! I just love recycling ( it makes me feel so virtuous ). :)
7/16/12 3:43 PM
SewWil said...
Beautiful dress! The fabric is very well suited to this style.
7/16/12 4:01 PM
retrotechgeneva said...
More lovely comments, thank you all :) @crazygrad - the picture was taken in Zurich; I live in Geneva, Switzerland and wore the dress to attend a friend's wedding. @zoe: Thanks for checking back! Once I read on other blogs about using old bedsheets for lining, I've never even bothered to purchase proper lining fabrics! Good thing I discovered this early on, because I would much rather have fully-lined dresses and not have to worry about whether I should wear a slip.
7/16/12 4:06 PM
TJSEWS said...
Your dress is absolute gorgeous and you look beautiful. I like the way the sleeves turned out - fun! Congratulations on a great review and a beautiful dress.
7/16/12 4:43 PM
SavageCoco said...
really, REALLy well done. Your skill level just went several notches!
7/16/12 4:45 PM
divabuddha said...
Fantastic dress!! I'm sitting here on my couch drooling over the fabric. What a great print! Congrats on a job well done!
7/16/12 5:00 PM
olynda said...
Beautiful!! Love that fabric!
7/16/12 7:24 PM
Lee-Lee said...
You look fabulous! What a great dress, choice of fabrics, colors, you name it. Thanks for the thorough review.
7/16/12 8:15 PM
Cheryl25 said...
Your dress is beautiful! Beginner?...no way! Great work!
7/16/12 8:43 PM
Karendee said...
Congratulations, your new dress is very elegant. The fabric is amazing as is your workmanship. Your finished product looks as if you have been sewing well for many years. Enjoy your beautiful dress.
7/16/12 9:33 PM
portercs said...
Wow! Beautiful dress and it looks wonderful on you.
7/16/12 9:40 PM
Anne Cherry said...
What a spectacular dress! That fabric and the way you've placed the pattern is wonderful. And great review.
7/16/12 11:02 PM
Erin D said...
Wow! Beautiful choice of fabric. It looks really great on you.
7/17/12 1:45 AM
knitmachinequeen said...
Beautiful dress and very informative review. TFS
7/17/12 3:08 PM
Sue Parrott said...
So pretty, it fits you beautifully!
7/17/12 10:03 PM
sewtime said...
Beautiful!
7/18/12 0:03 AM
mesewlot said...
OMG, your dress is so inspiring! It fits you beautifully; I probably would not have given this pattern a second thought, but you brought it into plain sight~ THANK YOU!!
7/18/12 0:47 AM
WasabiZee said...
That looks wonderful on you! Thank you for the detailed review.
7/18/12 12:41 PM
StephiLuna said...
Absolutely stunning dress!
7/18/12 4:05 PM
SecondHandRogue said...
Love this on you, thanks for the great review!
7/18/12 9:05 PM
mrs quickly said...
Beautiful!
7/22/12 2:08 AM
tiadia said...
This is spectacular! Love your use of the fabric with this pattern. What a lovely dress!
2/15/13 4:19 PM
tiadia said...
This is spectacular! Love your use of the fabric with this pattern. What a lovely dress!
2/15/13 4:25 PM
Living Beauty said...
Very beautiful and a great fit on you! Thanks for the review!
2/19/13 0:23 AM
retrotechgeneva said...
Thanks for the kind words, everyone! Can't wait for warmer weather so I can share more of my makes here; I'm glad to be part of this wonderful community :)
2/28/13 11:46 AM
sophiepontouf said...
Great!
6/8/13 1:46 PM
Miss Metronome said...
Signed in just to tell you how much I like this dress! Very clever with the thrifted bed sheet lining. Your work is so tidy and the pattern looks great on you.
7/10/13 9:48 AM
Kristin Prairie said...
Super helpful extra info--your dress is fantastic.
6/11/14 10:05 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Butterick 5579

photo
by: Char in KS

Review
Sewing Workshop Soho Coat Pattern

Sewing Workshop Soho Coat Pattern

Buy Now
8 inch Dressmaking Shears

8 inch Dressmaking Shears

Buy Now