SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Sewaholic Patterns> 1202 (Cambie Dress)

60 more reviews
Viewed 966 times 
Reviewed by:retrotechgeneva
photo

 
 
About retrotechgenevastar
SWITZERLAND
Member since: 4/25/12
Reviews written: 6
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 8 people
patterns reviewed: 5
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2012
Posted on:7/15/12 4:59 PM
Last Updated:7/16/12 1:18 PM




Buy Pattern
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 21 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $17.98 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $17.98 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
57 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Kristin Prairie said...
Super helpful extra info--your dress is fantastic.
6/11/14 10:05 AM
Miss Metronome said...
Signed in just to tell you how much I like this dress! Very clever with the thrifted bed sheet lining. Your work is so tidy and the pattern looks great on you.
7/10/13 9:48 AM
sophiepontouf said...
Great!
6/8/13 1:46 PM
retrotechgeneva said...
Thanks for the kind words, everyone! Can't wait for warmer weather so I can share more of my makes here; I'm glad to be part of this wonderful community :)
2/28/13 11:46 AM
Living Beauty said...
Very beautiful and a great fit on you! Thanks for the review!
2/19/13 0:23 AM
tiadia said...
This is spectacular! Love your use of the fabric with this pattern. What a lovely dress!
2/15/13 4:25 PM
tiadia said...
This is spectacular! Love your use of the fabric with this pattern. What a lovely dress!
2/15/13 4:19 PM
mrs quickly said...
Beautiful!
7/22/12 2:08 AM
SecondHandRogue said...
Love this on you, thanks for the great review!
7/18/12 9:05 PM
StephiLuna said...
Absolutely stunning dress!
7/18/12 4:05 PM
WasabiZee said...
That looks wonderful on you! Thank you for the detailed review.
7/18/12 12:41 PM
mesewlot said...
OMG, your dress is so inspiring! It fits you beautifully; I probably would not have given this pattern a second thought, but you brought it into plain sight~ THANK YOU!!
7/18/12 0:47 AM
sewtime said...
Beautiful!
7/18/12 0:03 AM
Sue Parrott said...
So pretty, it fits you beautifully!
7/17/12 10:03 PM
knitmachinequeen said...
Beautiful dress and very informative review. TFS
7/17/12 3:08 PM
Erin D said...
Wow! Beautiful choice of fabric. It looks really great on you.
7/17/12 1:45 AM
Anne Cherry said...
What a spectacular dress! That fabric and the way you've placed the pattern is wonderful. And great review.
7/16/12 11:02 PM
portercs said...
Wow! Beautiful dress and it looks wonderful on you.
7/16/12 9:40 PM
Karendee said...
Congratulations, your new dress is very elegant. The fabric is amazing as is your workmanship. Your finished product looks as if you have been sewing well for many years. Enjoy your beautiful dress.
7/16/12 9:33 PM
Cheryl25 said...
Your dress is beautiful! Beginner?...no way! Great work!
7/16/12 8:43 PM
Lee-Lee said...
You look fabulous! What a great dress, choice of fabrics, colors, you name it. Thanks for the thorough review.
7/16/12 8:15 PM
olynda said...
Beautiful!! Love that fabric!
7/16/12 7:24 PM
divabuddha said...
Fantastic dress!! I'm sitting here on my couch drooling over the fabric. What a great print! Congrats on a job well done!
7/16/12 5:00 PM
SavageCoco said...
really, REALLy well done. Your skill level just went several notches!
7/16/12 4:45 PM
TJSEWS said...
Your dress is absolute gorgeous and you look beautiful. I like the way the sleeves turned out - fun! Congratulations on a great review and a beautiful dress.
7/16/12 4:43 PM
retrotechgeneva said...
More lovely comments, thank you all :) @crazygrad - the picture was taken in Zurich; I live in Geneva, Switzerland and wore the dress to attend a friend's wedding. @zoe: Thanks for checking back! Once I read on other blogs about using old bedsheets for lining, I've never even bothered to purchase proper lining fabrics! Good thing I discovered this early on, because I would much rather have fully-lined dresses and not have to worry about whether I should wear a slip.
7/16/12 4:06 PM
SewWil said...
Beautiful dress! The fabric is very well suited to this style.
7/16/12 4:01 PM
zoe said...
Checked back to see the pics of the dress interior; always good to see in a review. Looks like you've done a wonderful job! I also use thrifted cotton bedsheets for linings; I started doing so, once I realized they were the same fabric as most of the cotton I was buying to line things. YARDS of it for an amazing price too! I just love recycling ( it makes me feel so virtuous ). :)
7/16/12 3:43 PM
crazygrad said...
Gorgeous! Where was the pic taken? The whole image-- dress, you, scene-- is worthy of a magazine!
7/16/12 3:34 PM
flyawayhair said...
This is stunning on you! Also the choice of fabric is great. I really appreciate how the design of the fabric is placed with this dress.
7/16/12 2:28 PM
ChristineX said...
Oh wow, great dress and use of fabric! You look gorgeous!
7/16/12 1:46 PM
Claverie said...
Wow! What a debut for your first pattern review. Beautiful.
7/16/12 1:43 PM
Sassy T said...
My favourite Cambie thus far. I think Sewaholic has a tutorial on zippers in her sewtionary at the top of her page.
7/16/12 1:39 PM
norie creates said...
What a beautiful dress! I'd better start keeping my old bedsheets : )
7/16/12 1:39 PM
blessedtosew said...
That is BEAUTIFUL!!! You look fabulous in it.
7/16/12 1:34 PM
duckbucket said...
Looks amazing. I love your fabric choice!
7/16/12 1:23 PM
prttynpnk said...
Oh, I love this so much! YOu have truly made this your on and it's wonderful!
7/16/12 12:24 PM
CJgal said...
Gorgeous!
7/16/12 12:19 PM
Knitters Delight said...
I cannot stress enough - how much I love your version. I have made one, but will have more in my future for sure.
7/16/12 12:03 PM
Izzie said...
Gorgeous dress! Congratulations on your first review, great job!
7/16/12 11:26 AM
retrotechgeneva said...
Thank you so much for all your positive comments! This is my first review here and it is so nice to have such a warm welcome. I shall update my review this evening with pictures of the back of the dress showing the lapped zipper, and the lining as well.
7/16/12 10:41 AM
zoe said...
Well written review! Your dress looks beautiful. The sleeve 'design feature' with the contrasting fabrics actually works really well and looks great.
7/16/12 9:59 AM
HelenMcG said...
Stunning dress. You should be so proud. I have had stuggles with the zipper issue myself and your self-confidence to go "off script" with the zipper is awesome.
7/16/12 9:28 AM
Kathy7661 said...
Very pretty, looks great on you!
7/16/12 9:07 AM
prostheticsgirl said...
I love your use of fabric for this dress! I like unique fabrics applied to more conventional designs, it makes for such unique projects!
7/16/12 9:01 AM
RLL said...
The fabric is perfect for this dress. KensingtonCrab mentioned the background scenery and I had to go back up to look.....your dress was so eyecatching that I did not notice the background.
7/16/12 8:38 AM
Lori V said...
Gorgeous dress and beautiful photo.
7/16/12 8:21 AM
QueenZ said...
This is waaaay ultra cute!
7/16/12 7:57 AM
canei said...
Love, love, love!!!
7/16/12 7:41 AM
Scheri said...
What a beautiful dress. I am in love with the fabric
7/16/12 7:29 AM
Living Beauty said...
I really enjoyed you review. You chose such a beautiful fabric for this dress. I love it. It looks fantastic on you!
7/16/12 7:20 AM
GoodbyeValntino said...
How beautiful!
7/16/12 7:08 AM
KensingtonCrab said...
Beautiful dress and background scenery!
7/16/12 6:43 AM
jlg said...
Oh wow, what a fantastic dress.
7/16/12 5:22 AM
sewmytime said...
Lovely dress!
7/16/12 4:56 AM
tg33 said...
Beautiful!
7/16/12 4:03 AM
Karla Kizer said...
Excellent review, and fantastic dress. Don't worry about going "off-script". In sewing, you do whatever works - and your dress is evidence that you're doing something right.
7/15/12 5:09 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

New Look 6000

photo
by: style insp...

Review

Pattern

You Sew Girl Beauty Case Pattern

You Sew Girl Beauty Case Pattern

Buy Now
Victory Roxanne Paper Pattern

Victory Roxanne Paper Pattern

Buy Now