Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 6347 (Misses Dress in two lengths) - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 235 times 3 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 1 people   
Reviewed by:Passion4Sewing
photo
Friend of PR
About Passion4Sewingstarstarstar
SC USA
Member since: 9/21/08
Reviews written: 214
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 27 people
patterns reviewed: 180
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/15/12 7:08 PM
Last Updated:2/24/14 8:14 AM
Project Photo:photo3

Pattern Photo:McCall's 6347
McCall's Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Polyester Knit  [See other projects in this fabric]
Related Links  
Click on to add a link
Pattern Description:

MISSES' DRESS IN TWO LENGTHS: A: Close-fitting through bustline. B: Very loose-fitting, self-lined yoke.

Pattern Sizing:

Multi sized. I used the XL

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?

Mostly

Were the instructions easy to follow?

It was difficult to follow how to make the band at the bottom, which was the entire reason I liked the pattern
The bottom edge folds back on itself to create the cute fullness over the bottom band. I had to read through the directions a few times before I finally understood, but I think the result was nice.

Bottom ruffle

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?

I loved how it turned out. When I was in Cincinnati with my dd, getting some things before going to the wedding I had made it to wear to, a lot of people I didn't even know complemented me on it.

Fabric Used:

This was a poly knit wit wonderful body to it. It was covered with silver sparkle.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:

I wanted it longer than the envelope showed, so I added 4". Rather than add at the bottom (because I would have to alter the band an lower ruffle), I cut it above the band and blended the cut lines.

added 4"

added 4"

The top turned out very low in the front and under arms. I decided to use a pretty cami

I had already decided I wanted a shrug with the dress. That also helped cover the low cut arm holes.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?

Definitely and yes. If you are just learning to sew, the lower band might be frustrating, but with patience, it will work out.

Conclusion:

I loved how beautiful I felt in it. My niece's best friend was getting married and I went there with my dd. I got there a day early to alter bride's dress and one attendant's dress. It was a hot, hot outdoor wedding, but I felt cool in my dress
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
prttynpnk said...
What a fun pattern! Where did you get your fabric?
7/15/12 8:41 PM
sewtime said...
Love your outfit, very elegant!
7/15/12 8:56 PM
Passion4Sewing said...
prttynpnk, I got it from Hancock's.
7/15/12 9:01 PM
sewtime said...
You look beautiful in in it! Fabulous fabric too!
2/24/14 12:15 PM
carolynw said...
Love this - you look great in it. Pretty fabric
2/24/14 7:40 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

New Look 6922
photo
Review by ginnie.wis... on 8/26/10
Read Review

Burda 6908 Pattern
Burda 6908 Pattern

Details
Price: $10.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6762 Pattern
New Look 6762 Pattern

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Other 2063 Roos patterns
photo
Review by Tini on 3/31/05
Read Review

In-House Claire Shorts Digital Pattern
In-House Claire Shorts Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Jenny Dress Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Jenny Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

ADVANCED SLEEVE - A CD Book by Kenneth King
ADVANCED SLEEVE - A CD Book by Kenneth King

Details
Price: $24.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Bath Puppet Pals Pattern
SewBaby Bath Puppet Pals Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us