SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8819 (Misses Cardigan)

6 more reviews
Viewed 760 times 
Reviewed by:sfshaza
photo

 
 
About sfshazastar
CA USA
Member since: 9/12/07
Reviews written: 160
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 89 people
patterns reviewed: 160
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/16/12 11:57 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 8 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    Coat/Jacket    
Available for sale on PR: $25.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $25.00 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Dee2 said...
Wonderful jacket--really excellent changes to allowthe fabric speak. I just made this & wish I had your review to refer to--sleeves are quite snug & I am not crazy about the facings. I really had a problem with the back facing---wonknicity: does not lay flat against the neck, not sure why. Enjoy your beautiful jacket, the fit looks great, & thanks for this review.
7/16/12 12:05 PM
mhoutz said...
Gorgeous take on an interesting pattern...brava, Shams!
7/16/12 12:55 PM
persevering said...
Brilliant!
7/16/12 1:05 PM
marthamyers said...
Nice silhouette. And excellent use of this interesting fabric. It is good to remember that you gain control by not using a machine. I like it a lot.
7/16/12 1:18 PM
blue mooney said...
Love it. Great fabric substitution! Thank you for showing the side-by-side pix of the stripe directions.
7/16/12 1:55 PM
piffle said...
What a great use of the stripes in the fabric. It's very flattering. Nicely done!
7/16/12 6:14 PM
DorothyK said...
I love this jacket. The fabric is perfect. I'm impressed that you sewed it entirely by hand. How long did it take?
7/16/12 7:27 PM
lcdrbetty said...
Way cool! Your directional use of the stripes is very flattering! Love it!!
7/16/12 7:29 PM
sfshaza said...
Thanks, everyone! Dorothy, it took me a couple weeks, maybe more. But I work, so it's hard for me to really estimate the time, as I worked on it on weekends and here and there in the evenings. I sew the seams with a backstitch and I fell the seams with a whip stitch. I bought the same fabric from Marcy in a blue/cream/grey colorway. I haven't decided if I'll do that one by machine. I guess I should experiment a bit. :)
7/16/12 8:18 PM
Ann Smith said...
Wonderful jacket. So fascinating with the stripes and intriguing unusual fabric.
7/16/12 8:51 PM
bjird said...
Love it! Very sophisticated.
7/16/12 10:09 PM
Karine said...
Beautiful jacket - and all by hand - very impressive! I like the way you oriented your stripes.
7/17/12 9:10 AM
KensingtonCrab said...
Fab-boo! Love your style!
7/17/12 10:32 AM
marec said...
This is so pretty in the wonderful fabric you bought. I like the placement of the stripes, and can see how the placement could be varied for different figures. Enjoy your creation-it is really cool!
7/17/12 10:34 AM
Barbara V said...
Impressive hand sewing makes your jacket even more special! The fabric is fabulous and your layout creating the interesting stripe effect is so creative! Super work!
7/17/12 10:55 AM
CorgieMom said...
Just love it! Very creative! Hand sewn? How long did it take? (Years, if it were me....)
7/17/12 12:41 PM
Annette1 said...
I'm not sure how I missed this review, but I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE this jacket, and I'd BETTER, BETTER, BETTER have this pattern. :o) Mine would never turn out as nice as yours, but STILL. It's EXTRA special, too, due to all the hand sewing.
7/17/12 4:57 PM
carolynw said...
Beautiful - have this pattern (YAY) and will use your review when I sew this - thanks and enjoy your lovely coat
7/17/12 5:18 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Paradiso Designs Everyday Bag Pattern

Paradiso Designs Everyday Bag Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl City Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl City Bag Pattern

Buy Now