Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 8819 (Misses Cardigan) thumbsup - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 736 times 6 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 8 people   
Reviewed by:sfshaza
photo
About sfshazastar
CA USA
Member since: 9/12/07
Reviews written: 156
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 85 people
patterns reviewed: 156
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/16/12 11:57 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


See other patterns in this category: Tops    Coat/Jacket    
Available for sale on PR: $25.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $25.00     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Dee2 said...
Wonderful jacket--really excellent changes to allowthe fabric speak. I just made this & wish I had your review to refer to--sleeves are quite snug & I am not crazy about the facings. I really had a problem with the back facing---wonknicity: does not lay flat against the neck, not sure why. Enjoy your beautiful jacket, the fit looks great, & thanks for this review.
7/16/12 12:05 PM
mhoutz said...
Gorgeous take on an interesting pattern...brava, Shams!
7/16/12 12:55 PM
persevering said...
Brilliant!
7/16/12 1:05 PM
marthamyers said...
Nice silhouette. And excellent use of this interesting fabric. It is good to remember that you gain control by not using a machine. I like it a lot.
7/16/12 1:18 PM
blue mooney said...
Love it. Great fabric substitution! Thank you for showing the side-by-side pix of the stripe directions.
7/16/12 1:55 PM
piffle said...
What a great use of the stripes in the fabric. It's very flattering. Nicely done!
7/16/12 6:14 PM
DorothyK said...
I love this jacket. The fabric is perfect. I'm impressed that you sewed it entirely by hand. How long did it take?
7/16/12 7:27 PM
lcdrbetty said...
Way cool! Your directional use of the stripes is very flattering! Love it!!
7/16/12 7:29 PM
sfshaza said...
Thanks, everyone! Dorothy, it took me a couple weeks, maybe more. But I work, so it's hard for me to really estimate the time, as I worked on it on weekends and here and there in the evenings. I sew the seams with a backstitch and I fell the seams with a whip stitch. I bought the same fabric from Marcy in a blue/cream/grey colorway. I haven't decided if I'll do that one by machine. I guess I should experiment a bit. :)
7/16/12 8:18 PM
Ann Smith said...
Wonderful jacket. So fascinating with the stripes and intriguing unusual fabric.
7/16/12 8:51 PM
bjird said...
Love it! Very sophisticated.
7/16/12 10:09 PM
Karine said...
Beautiful jacket - and all by hand - very impressive! I like the way you oriented your stripes.
7/17/12 9:10 AM
KensingtonCrab said...
Fab-boo! Love your style!
7/17/12 10:32 AM
marec said...
This is so pretty in the wonderful fabric you bought. I like the placement of the stripes, and can see how the placement could be varied for different figures. Enjoy your creation-it is really cool!
7/17/12 10:34 AM
Barbara V said...
Impressive hand sewing makes your jacket even more special! The fabric is fabulous and your layout creating the interesting stripe effect is so creative! Super work!
7/17/12 10:55 AM
CorgieMom said...
Just love it! Very creative! Hand sewn? How long did it take? (Years, if it were me....)
7/17/12 12:41 PM
Annette1 said...
I'm not sure how I missed this review, but I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE this jacket, and I'd BETTER, BETTER, BETTER have this pattern. :o) Mine would never turn out as nice as yours, but STILL. It's EXTRA special, too, due to all the hand sewing.
7/17/12 4:57 PM
carolynw said...
Beautiful - have this pattern (YAY) and will use your review when I sew this - thanks and enjoy your lovely coat
7/17/12 5:18 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

Amy Butler AB024MB
photo
Review by EeLo on 3/27/10
Read Review

Kwik Sew 3160 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3160 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2613 Pattern( Size ONESIZE )
Simplicity 2613 Pattern( Size ONESIZE )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 8659
photo
Review by rivergum on 10/28/12
Read Review

Salme Bib Top Digital Pattern
Salme Bib Top Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Megan Nielsen Tania Culottes Digital Pattern
Megan Nielsen Tania Culottes Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl SEWING CLASS 1 - Shopping Bag Pattern
You Sew Girl SEWING CLASS 1 - Shopping Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $18.15
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Islander Shirt Pattern Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Men's Islander Shirt Pattern Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us