Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 2245 (Misses' Sportswear) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 315 times 29 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 1 people   
Reviewed by:21wale
photo
About 21walestarstarstar
MN USA
Member since: 6/25/08
Reviews written: 261
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 27 people
patterns reviewed: 261
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/18/12 10:55 AM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Tops    Pants    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Renren said...
Very nice. Yep, I looked at the line drawing of this Portfolio dress--there's a lot of seaming! Surely there is some way to treat the scratchy linen to make it softer? Many washes? Something? Very nice dress and I do hope you get lots of wear out of it.
7/18/12 11:05 AM
MNBarb said...
I think the looser fit is fine. It might not be what you were looking for but it seems to fit the design and will be really cool and airy in linen on the hot summer days.
7/18/12 12:30 PM
LynnG said...
I like your version of the dress. Very cute. I made the top, twice, in lightweight cotton and really like the fit.
7/18/12 12:35 PM
luckeyone said...
I sewed a muslin of this and it's been sitting in my 'someday' bin. Your suggestion for downsizing by 2 may be an avenue I need to try. Thanks for the insightful review. BTW - I have this same fabric aging in my stash.
7/18/12 12:57 PM
Amanda.Claire said...
Your dress is really cute!! I am working on this very pattern right now as a top. I made the neck and yoke in linen and the rest in a gauzy cotton (yikes). The linen is really thick for this. Hopefully, by pounding the life out of the seams, it will be better.
7/18/12 1:49 PM
cocosloft said...
So cute. Thanks for all the tips on the pattern, good to know.
7/19/12 7:21 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Online Sewing Classes
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Self Drafted Pattern 00035
photo
Review by cloudyhn on 3/8/11
Read Review

McCalls 6532 Pattern ( Size One Size )
McCalls 6532 Pattern ( Size One Size )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 9477 Pattern
Burda 9477 Pattern

Details
Price: $5.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7381 SHORTS
photo
Review by LTC on 1/6/13
Read Review

Oliver + S Seashore Sundress Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )
Oliver + S Seashore Sundress Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

MariaDenmark Day-to-night Drape Top Digital Pattern
MariaDenmark Day-to-night Drape Top Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $6.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jamie Christina Sunny Day Dress and Skirt Pattern (JC308SD)
Jamie Christina Sunny Day Dress and Skirt Pattern (JC308SD)

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Islander Sewing Systems - MyStyle Greetings
Islander Sewing Systems - MyStyle Greetings

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us