Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Folkwear: 219 (Intimacies) thumbsup - Type:Lingerie    printable version
Viewed 396 times 8 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
Reviewed by:Miss Fairchild
photo
About Miss Fairchildstarstarstarstar
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 132
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 53 people
patterns reviewed: 82
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/19/12 10:44 AM
Last Updated:7/20/12 8:44 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
fuzzygalore said...
No reason why a beginner couldn't do this in cotton voile, avoiding the slippery problems. And I sure hope you aren't rating the pattern difficult because you chose an inappropriately light fabric, or because they omitted to tell you how to do a hem :-)?
7/19/12 11:32 AM
Mufffet said...
Thank you for a good review and a thoughtful one. :)
7/19/12 12:28 PM
marthamyers said...
Oh, so pretty. I don't have this one from folkwear but maybe I need it. Thanks for posting the review and reminding me of this cool pattern.
7/19/12 2:06 PM
BrendaJoyce said...
Thanks for the accurate rating, it does sound like it would require some advanced knowledge. Your chosen fabric looks terrific in this pattern. Thanks for the detailed review.
7/19/12 5:34 PM
Immelu said...
Gorgeous! I have this pattern and I have some sumptuous charmeuese and must say...I've been waiting about 4 years to build up the sewing skills to try it. maybe soon. :) Your versions are fantastic!
7/19/12 8:56 PM
Miss Fairchild said...
Thank you for your comments, fuzzygalore. I'd like to explain that I rated this pattern as difficult and not for beginners especially because of the bias cuts of fabric and the fact that you have to flip pieces over; one in particular three times. Yes, it could be done in voile (thank you for the recommendation) but sewing the inserts requires you to sew them in an unconventional way--pressing under one edge and then attaching it to the main piece by topstitching. The fluidity of the bias cut on the inserts as well as the bias cut on the main piece creates slipperyness even more than that found in fabric. If you'll reread the review, I chose two fabrics--a georgette and a chiffon. The georgette is much "beefier" and was easier to manage than the chiffon. However, it didn't get entirely away from the slipperyness due to the bias cuts. And yes, about the hem. I'm a stickler for accuracy when it comes to a beginner using a pattern; I've spent too many years teaching and having a concern for my students' well being. Those of us who have been sewing a while, as I am sure you are a part, know what to do with a hem. But a beginner would be dumbfounded especially if they didn't have someone nearby, and I felt the pattern needed to give some examples--it's part of that training process. But I will modify the review to reflect these points, and I thank you for the opportunity to bring them up. :-)
7/20/12 8:29 AM
wendyrb said...
Thanks for the thoughtful, thorough and kind review. It's helpful for beginners, or anyone, to know what's in store when they tackle a new pattern. Your work is beautiful! I want 1 of those slips! I have a suggestion for the pattern flipping. I would make the multiple pattern pieces. I make a rough cut of the original pattern leaving extra paper around. I lay up the # of additional paper layers needed. Then I staple through all layers in the outside margin, not on the interior portion of the pattern. Cut out the duplicate pieces and laying out to cut is so much easier. It may seem like more work, but believe me, seeing the layout all together is really efficient. I use the alpha numerical white paper. For the stretchy edge joins, what do you think about using one of the delicate stabilizing tapes from Emma Seabroke?
7/20/12 4:51 PM
Miss Fairchild said...
Brilliant idea, Wendy with cutting the extra pieces. I traced mine off, the inset and the facing, but it would have been nicer to cut just once instead of four times. I reversed the pieces as I would have had to do if I flipped them and made a note of it on the piece. As to the stabilizing tape, I've never used it and I would think there would be "show through", but I don't know. Staystitching would be easier, I think, because you have your machine there and you don't have to get up and hunt for something.
7/20/12 9:26 PM
ChristmasHills said...
Your versions are so pretty and delicate looking. Thanks for pointing out the problems with bias cut - I have been caught out before with the stretching which seems to happen no matter how careful I think I am being. I am going to try one of these because I am forewarned by you and your examples are too gorgeous by half.
12/23/12 1:00 AM
NJcowgirl said...
Thank you for this review. It will be very helpful as I tackle this pattern. Your comments about it are appreciated.
12/29/13 11:20 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Butterick 5177
photo
Review by trinicity on 4/14/08
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Charlotte Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Charlotte Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Megan Nielsen Virginia Leggings Digital Pattern
Megan Nielsen Virginia Leggings Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Megan Nielsen MN2101
photo
Review by ajhewing on 5/3/13
Read Review

Paradiso Designs Tiny Handbag Pattern
Paradiso Designs Tiny Handbag Pattern

Details
Price: $11.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

9 inch Bent Handle Scissors
9 inch Bent Handle Scissors

Details
Price: $24.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6640 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6 )
McCalls 6640 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6747 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )
McCalls 6747 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us