Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 8747 (Misses' /Misses' Petite Shirt) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 567 times 36 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 4 people   
Reviewed by:touran
photo
About touranstarstarstar
CO USA
Member since: 9/22/03
Reviews written: 109
Favored by: 43 people
patterns reviewed: 105
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2012
Posted on:7/19/12 6:23 PM
Last Updated:7/19/12 9:04 PM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $27.50 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $27.50     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Calama said...
It is a shame it did not work out for you, as the blouse looks beautiful and perfect. You obviously did an awesome job with this.
7/19/12 6:49 PM
SavageCoco said...
It's A Cryin' Shame because you did really, really beautiful work.
7/19/12 7:07 PM
frame said...
I think it looks really nice. Too bad you are not happy with it, but that's how it is sometimes. :) You still made a beautiful blouse.
7/19/12 9:08 PM
Sherril Miller said...
Touran, you crack me up! Mad Boobs, mad boobs! I totally understand what you are saying. It will be a nice Goodwill give-away that someone will find perfectly suited for them. I've been avoiding the pattern, even though I have it, because of how high the stand-up collar is. I have no neck, while you my dear have a lovely neck.
7/19/12 9:11 PM
olybinewski said...
I really think this looks super cute on you! I think from your assessment maybe you were expecting different design lines? The 3/4 sleeves definitely look like regular sleeves on you, but don't seem odd. I like the ruching on the boobs... I have this pattern for when I'm a more proficient sewer and I want to make it up with the mandarin collar like you did. Maybe the gingham pattern throws you off? I don't know. Anyhoodle, I just think that If I didn't know you hated it, I would assume you loved it. Because I totally do. This piece shows off your lovely sewing skills, so there's always that!
7/19/12 9:37 PM
wendyrb said...
Hmmmm, maybe you've got mad boobs because their not so accommodating gathers are squoooshed in too small a space? You probably won't be eager to spread the shirring out a bit more. I'm guessing moving up the placket 1" above the bust & 1" below would give breathing room. And, it may work better for the hand of your fabric. This mIght be in the zone for fit and lead to happy boobs!
7/20/12 7:39 AM
arianamaniacs said...
What? I love this blouse on you! I don't see a squinchy face, I see lovely accented boobs and 3/4 lengths arms on a blouse. Both look great.
7/20/12 9:26 AM
Timmithea said...
That's cute!
7/20/12 10:53 AM
touran said...
Thank you for the kind comments and feedback!! It's a really nice blouse, it's just not my favorite. It'll probably grow on me. (love you PR'ers!)
7/21/12 3:55 PM
Izzie said...
Too bad it didn't work for you since your sewing looks so crisp and precise...love the contrasting bias. Have to say I love your mini TARDIS, both my kindle and ipod are TARDIS's (TARDI?) lol
7/29/12 8:52 AM
SueT said...
Thanks for your review, I was considering the pattern and would likely have the same issue with the D-cup gathers and so you saved me the effort. I'll just make a different shirt with no gathering at front.
1/2/13 11:08 AM
nali said...
I think this blouse looks reall lovely on you. I don't find your self-criticism valid, so do reconsider!
7/2/13 11:46 AM
SJ Kurtz said...
The more I look at your photo, the charming model, the excellent cutting and sewing, the more I think this is a self-defeating design. The collar is going to come down as the bias does what it wants to do, which is fold and relax. Thanks for taking one for the team here. In your honor, I am going to use the word 'squinch' as often as possible.
9/17/13 1:02 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Simplicity 1736 Misses Hats
photo
Review by JuneHawk on 1/30/14
Read Review

Lolita Patterns Spearmint Paper Pattern

Details
Price: $22.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Tahoe Pants Pattern
Sewing Workshop Tahoe Pants Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Angela Wolf The Fringe Skirt Digital Pattern (Print at Copyshop)
Angela Wolf The Fringe Skirt Digital Pattern (Print at Copyshop)

Details
Price: $12.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Jump Rope Dress Digital Pattern( Size 4-8)
Oliver + S Jump Rope Dress Digital Pattern( Size 4-8)

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jalie 2908
photo
Review by britsnoteb... on 3/25/10
Read Review

McCalls 6783 Pattern ( Size 2-3-4-5 )
McCalls 6783 Pattern ( Size 2-3-4-5 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1554 Pattern ( Size S )
Simplicity 1554 Pattern ( Size S )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us