Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: 5455 (Misses' Dress) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 839 times 19 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 6 people   
Reviewed by:prostheticsgirl
photo
About prostheticsgirlstar
OH USA
Member since: 3/6/12
Reviews written: 16
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 8 people
patterns reviewed: 16
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/21/12 10:12 PM
Last Updated:8/24/12 10:41 PM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
25 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
MarianS said...
I really like the contrasting fabrics. I think it looks a bit long, and the contrasting band should be narrower. I also think some of the contrast around the neckline would be nice. Even a bias binding from the contrast or a small ruffle.
7/21/12 10:42 PM
MarianS said...
The selvage looks interesting. Could you make a narrow sash for around the waist out of the selvage or the contrasting fabric?
7/21/12 10:45 PM
prostheticsgirl said...
MarianS, I think you're right; the proportions seem a bit off. I think more narrow would help. The drape is only about 30 inches long, so I can't make bias binding and the contrast hem, but I could possibly fudge and make it on the straight grain
7/21/12 11:13 PM
cobble said...
I think the darker color would be lovely in the midriff band with the skirt solid pink or with a narrow dark band at the hem
7/21/12 11:49 PM
Immelu said...
I think it's a little jarring. Would you be able to find a ribbon, or something like that to sew over the seam that would kind of tie the two areas together?
7/22/12 0:00 AM
BillieJean said...
I love the two fabrics together and I agree that the bottom fabric should be a little narrower and maybe add a narrow belt out of the same fabric. This type of trim is so "in" right now.
7/22/12 6:20 AM
prttynpnk said...
The contrast doesn't feel right- like it's heavier in color and feeling to my eye. I'd try to recut a pink skirt if possible. Not the most exciting route, I know, but.....
7/22/12 7:06 AM
prostheticsgirl said...
Prttynpnk, I agree that it looks heavier. How could it look so pretty on the sari and be so lacking when executed? In my imagination it was beautiful... I'm starting to wonder if my only option is to add a pink band and maybe add a few narrow pleats to make it seem intentional? I don't love that idea but am not sure I have any better ones at this time
7/22/12 8:43 AM
Immelu said...
This is a great candidate to put in the closet for awhile. I find that if something's not quite working, I can take it out of site, and the solution will come to me. It's better than proceeding with a compromise and then never really being happy with it!
7/22/12 11:48 AM
Christas said...
The final result is so lovely! Beautiful dress... so wonderful and unique, and it fits you perfectly.
8/24/12 10:45 PM
SewWil said...
Beautiful dress! Glad to see you got over the "pain" of sewing this dress and can enjoy wearing it.
8/25/12 2:23 AM
jlg said...
I think that this is absolutely gorgeous.
8/25/12 5:59 AM
sunnysewer said...
gorgeous use of the fabrics and great color and fit on you.
8/25/12 11:16 AM
birdmcfarland said...
This is gorgeous. Great fabric, execution and so inventive. Looks fabulous on you.
8/25/12 6:16 PM
missyyz said...
Wow... It's totally lovely on you. I don't understand the comments about the proportions, because it looks amazing - but if I had your legs, haha.. I'd go shorter just because I could.
8/25/12 11:45 PM
velosewer said...
You've done a lovely job with this style and fabric. The neckline is beautiful and sits nicely.
8/26/12 3:18 AM
LizJaneB said...
Lovely, beautiful fabric!
8/26/12 9:07 AM
norie creates said...
This is beautiful and looks great on you! Great tip on working with sari's.
8/26/12 9:54 AM
prostheticsgirl said...
Thank you so much everyone! Missyyz, please don't judge the older comments, they were in response to my request for opinions on the first few pictures. I had started assembling it and wasn't happy with the proportions or overall look. I was asking for ideas on how to recover the project. Those opinions were greatly appreciated and led me to narrow the green contrast hem (plus use a smaller print for that portion) and add the contrast cording. I think it made all the difference and prevented a total wadder. Thanks ladies for helping get me through this project to the final results!
8/26/12 10:29 AM
zoe said...
Wow! It turned out so beautiful, and so beautifully constructed. You look gorgeous in it. That fabric is exquisite of course. It looks so perfectly fitted. Yup; you and me; we LOVE those sari silks!
9/1/12 3:32 PM
Tina303 said...
I love Saris, too! I have a dress in my unfinished basket made from one, and another one in the wings. I love them and they're a great source of printed silk.
9/18/12 8:16 PM
ak21 said...
ridiculously gorgeous :-)
12/28/12 8:50 AM
Mc Donna said...
awesome dress, awesome review. So glad it all worked out; sometimes the pain is worth it!
1/20/13 12:23 PM
cweetgal said...
It fits so lovely ..
2/27/13 9:39 AM
mitaliK said...
Love the use of fabrics....and I am especially glad that you saw the potential in a sari and made a dress out of it...Loved it
5/7/13 7:54 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Vogue Patterns 7610
photo
Review by velosewer on 4/11/09
Read Review

SewBaby Blankie Buddies Pattern
SewBaby Blankie Buddies Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

JSM-Pant 1
JSM-Pant 1

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Bluegingerdoll The Peggy Skirt Digital Pattern
Bluegingerdoll The Peggy Skirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Playtime Dress, Tunic + Leggings Digital Pattern (5-12)
Oliver + S Playtime Dress, Tunic + Leggings Digital Pattern (5-12)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

HotPatterns 1107
photo
Review by Sue Anfang on 2/19/11
Read Review

Burda 7378 Pattern
Burda 7378 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5850 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
Butterick 5850 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us