SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5455 (Misses' Dress)

20 more reviews
Viewed 867 times 
Reviewed by:prostheticsgirl
photo

 
 
About prostheticsgirlstar
OH USA
Member since: 3/6/12
Reviews written: 16
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 8 people
patterns reviewed: 16
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/21/12 10:12 PM
Last Updated:8/24/12 10:41 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 6 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
25 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
mitaliK said...
Love the use of fabrics....and I am especially glad that you saw the potential in a sari and made a dress out of it...Loved it
5/7/13 7:54 PM
cweetgal said...
It fits so lovely ..
2/27/13 9:39 AM
Mc Donna said...
awesome dress, awesome review. So glad it all worked out; sometimes the pain is worth it!
1/20/13 12:23 PM
ak21 said...
ridiculously gorgeous :-)
12/28/12 8:50 AM
Tina303 said...
I love Saris, too! I have a dress in my unfinished basket made from one, and another one in the wings. I love them and they're a great source of printed silk.
9/18/12 8:16 PM
zoe said...
Wow! It turned out so beautiful, and so beautifully constructed. You look gorgeous in it. That fabric is exquisite of course. It looks so perfectly fitted. Yup; you and me; we LOVE those sari silks!
9/1/12 3:32 PM
prostheticsgirl said...
Thank you so much everyone! Missyyz, please don't judge the older comments, they were in response to my request for opinions on the first few pictures. I had started assembling it and wasn't happy with the proportions or overall look. I was asking for ideas on how to recover the project. Those opinions were greatly appreciated and led me to narrow the green contrast hem (plus use a smaller print for that portion) and add the contrast cording. I think it made all the difference and prevented a total wadder. Thanks ladies for helping get me through this project to the final results!
8/26/12 10:29 AM
norie creates said...
This is beautiful and looks great on you! Great tip on working with sari's.
8/26/12 9:54 AM
LizJaneB said...
Lovely, beautiful fabric!
8/26/12 9:07 AM
velosewer said...
You've done a lovely job with this style and fabric. The neckline is beautiful and sits nicely.
8/26/12 3:18 AM
missyyz said...
Wow... It's totally lovely on you. I don't understand the comments about the proportions, because it looks amazing - but if I had your legs, haha.. I'd go shorter just because I could.
8/25/12 11:45 PM
birdmcfarland said...
This is gorgeous. Great fabric, execution and so inventive. Looks fabulous on you.
8/25/12 6:16 PM
sunnysewer said...
gorgeous use of the fabrics and great color and fit on you.
8/25/12 11:16 AM
jlg said...
I think that this is absolutely gorgeous.
8/25/12 5:59 AM
SewWil said...
Beautiful dress! Glad to see you got over the "pain" of sewing this dress and can enjoy wearing it.
8/25/12 2:23 AM
Christas said...
The final result is so lovely! Beautiful dress... so wonderful and unique, and it fits you perfectly.
8/24/12 10:45 PM
Immelu said...
This is a great candidate to put in the closet for awhile. I find that if something's not quite working, I can take it out of site, and the solution will come to me. It's better than proceeding with a compromise and then never really being happy with it!
7/22/12 11:48 AM
prostheticsgirl said...
Prttynpnk, I agree that it looks heavier. How could it look so pretty on the sari and be so lacking when executed? In my imagination it was beautiful... I'm starting to wonder if my only option is to add a pink band and maybe add a few narrow pleats to make it seem intentional? I don't love that idea but am not sure I have any better ones at this time
7/22/12 8:43 AM
prttynpnk said...
The contrast doesn't feel right- like it's heavier in color and feeling to my eye. I'd try to recut a pink skirt if possible. Not the most exciting route, I know, but.....
7/22/12 7:06 AM
BillieJean said...
I love the two fabrics together and I agree that the bottom fabric should be a little narrower and maybe add a narrow belt out of the same fabric. This type of trim is so "in" right now.
7/22/12 6:20 AM
Immelu said...
I think it's a little jarring. Would you be able to find a ribbon, or something like that to sew over the seam that would kind of tie the two areas together?
7/22/12 0:00 AM
cobble said...
I think the darker color would be lovely in the midriff band with the skirt solid pink or with a narrow dark band at the hem
7/21/12 11:49 PM
prostheticsgirl said...
MarianS, I think you're right; the proportions seem a bit off. I think more narrow would help. The drape is only about 30 inches long, so I can't make bias binding and the contrast hem, but I could possibly fudge and make it on the straight grain
7/21/12 11:13 PM
MarianS said...
The selvage looks interesting. Could you make a narrow sash for around the waist out of the selvage or the contrasting fabric?
7/21/12 10:45 PM
MarianS said...
I really like the contrasting fabrics. I think it looks a bit long, and the contrasting band should be narrower. I also think some of the contrast around the neckline would be nice. Even a bias binding from the contrast or a small ruffle.
7/21/12 10:42 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Class Details

Online Class
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Class Details

Kwik Sew 3377

photo
by: valerie se...

Review

Pattern

Ottobre Woman Magazine 02-2010-01

photo
by: Sandi S

Review
Sewing Workshop San Francisco Coat Pattern

Sewing Workshop San Francisco Coat Pattern

More Info
Pants Sewing DVD

Pants Sewing DVD

More Info