Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 2029 (Bias skirt) thumbsup - Type:Skirts    printable version
Viewed 2251 times 7 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
Reviewed by:KathleenS
photo
Friend of PR
About KathleenSstarstar
NA AUSTRALIA
Member since: 11/18/02
Reviews written: 74
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 25 people
patterns reviewed: 68
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/3/05 1:41 AM
Last Updated:1/18/06 1:49 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
22 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Mel.J said...
Nice pattern matching! That's going to be a very pretty suit, and so in vogue. I think the line of the skirt is very flattering, & accentuates those legs :)
1/3/05 2:12 AM
jlg said...
What a beautiful skirt.
1/3/05 4:55 AM
Lisette said...
Beautiful skirt, great tip on matching the pattern.
1/3/05 7:59 AM
Levone said...
Very nice skirt. Looking forward to seeing a review of the jacket you're going to make.
1/3/05 8:46 AM
GoSewGirl said...
Great job! You made such a beautiful skirt, and I love that you matched up the pattern at the seams. (One of my pet peeves about RTW is expensive garments that aren't even matched up!) Anyway, can't wait to see the jacket - which pattern are you using?
1/3/05 8:48 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Beautiful skirt, very nice work
1/3/05 9:00 AM
Oziroo said...
Nice skirt, nice fabric!
1/3/05 4:38 PM
KathleenS said...
Thanks everyone, glad you like it! GoSewGirl - wait and see on the jacket pattern :) it really shouldn't be long! I notice looking at the photo that the skirt is shorter than I felt it was, but note that the length will vary depending on how much your fabric stretches on the bias. I had to cut quite a lot off the lining to get it to the right length even though it started out shorter than the main skirt.
1/4/05 2:19 AM
Deepika said...
How perfect is that skirt!!! Love it. And soo much better than RTW. You did a gorgeous job on the seam finish as well. Thanks for reviewing this.
1/4/05 7:19 AM
KimP said...
Great skirt. I've used this pattern extensively and I love it. I've made the straight grain skirt in cotton, rayon and wool; I've made the bias skirt in wool and attached it to a bodice and it became a dress. Really wonderful for me.
1/5/05 8:34 AM
KathleenS said...
Thanks for the extra feedback on this pattern Kim! I think one like this particularly needs reviews as the pattern drawing isn't that enticing and there's no photo.
1/7/05 2:16 AM
JDpenelope said...
Beautiful work. Your attention to detail shows. So glad to see this review, because I'm considering making the longer version (my fabric is wide enough, I just checked!) in drapey, lightweight wool for a trip. Am considering doing exactly what you did for the waist and lining. I think it may be more comfortable without a waistband--was that your reason, too?
1/23/05 10:25 AM
KathleenS said...
Penelope, no, I'm afraid I'm influenced by the current no waistband fashion. Also, I was copying a RTW skirt that I tried on and really liked on me (except for the fit and the price), so I imitated it as far as possible.
1/25/05 1:59 AM
KitnRose said...
I really love the lines on this skirt - so simple yet so chic! The fabric's a perfect match. I have some boucle aging in my stash that I've wanted to make a skirt of but have been too afraid of the fabric - thanks for the tip about the HK seams. Must try that. Thanks for pointing this great little pattern out!
1/28/05 10:44 AM
JDpenelope said...
Ok, I'm looking at your beautiful skirt again, after very disappointing results with the ever-popular Brussels Skirt. I can see that you have a youthful figure, with a nice bum (as the British girls on What Not to Wear would say). My question: Why didn't you want darts? One would think your curves would need them--although your photo proves they don't. Is there enough hip curve to make up for the lack of darts? My figure is... well, formerly voluptuous, with a slight tummy and bum that's turning flat. Waist 28, hips 38. Any comments you have about darts and your figure or figures in general would be gratefully received. :-)
2/6/05 9:23 AM
Tonia Van Dyk said...
Gorgeous suit, Kathleen! Very fresh and pretty. I looked at the pattern info you provided and was shocked to find out I have this one in my stash from way back when! I own a few boucles to make this into - thanks for reminding me of this pattern!
3/30/05 6:48 AM
KathleenS said...
Yes, the pattern pic isn't exciting but this is a great pattern.
4/1/05 9:47 PM
G_l_e_n_d_a said...
Beautiful skirt - I think you could wear it to any dressy occasion and look terrific.
1/18/06 9:50 AM
Schnauzer said...
A very nice skirt Kathleen and it looks lovely on you!
1/18/06 2:46 PM
KimP said...
Another winner from this pattern, Kathleen! Beautiful color, too. I made up the straight grain skirt out of wool this weekend - cut out on Friday night and sewed it up Saturday afternoon and I'm wearing it today. I lined it with a silk lining I cut out of a Vogue skirt I made a few years ago which I don't wear anymore. I plan on a bias skirt next week using a wool-silk blend. My feeling is, when you find a pattern that works for you, make it repeatedly and no one, especially those that don't sew, won't know!
1/23/06 9:37 AM
KathleenS said...
Hi KimP, you and I are a small but enthusiastic promotion team for this pattern, aren't we! I love it; it's just so reliable.
1/27/06 5:24 AM
Soliel said...
Thanks for reviewing this pattern. I have it and haven't been very excited about it until I saw your skirt! It's an awesome skirt. Also, you and I are the same size...12 in the waist, and between a 12 and 14 for the hip. It looks great on you!
3/23/07 11:34 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Simplicity 3686
photo
Review by born2bead on 4/2/08
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Pyper Ruffle Cardi Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Pyper Ruffle Cardi Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Blank Tank Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Blank Tank Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Other TS007
photo
Review by RadarRadia... on 12/15/09
Read Review

Petite Plus V202 VHS
Petite Plus V202 VHS

Details
Price: $40.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Large Tote and Satchel Pattern
You Sew Girl Large Tote and Satchel Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5924 Pattern ( Size 18-20-22-24-26 )
Butterick 5924 Pattern ( Size 18-20-22-24-26 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5733 Pattern ( Size One Size )
Butterick 5733 Pattern ( Size One Size )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us