SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 2029 (Bias skirt)

8 more reviews
Viewed 2255 times 
Reviewed by:KathleenS
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About KathleenSstarstar
NA AUSTRALIA
Member since: 11/18/02
Reviews written: 75
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 25 people
patterns reviewed: 69
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/3/05 1:41 AM
Last Updated:1/18/06 1:49 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
22 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Mel.J said...
Nice pattern matching! That's going to be a very pretty suit, and so in vogue. I think the line of the skirt is very flattering, & accentuates those legs :)
1/3/05 2:12 AM
jlg said...
What a beautiful skirt.
1/3/05 4:55 AM
Lisette said...
Beautiful skirt, great tip on matching the pattern.
1/3/05 7:59 AM
Levone said...
Very nice skirt. Looking forward to seeing a review of the jacket you're going to make.
1/3/05 8:46 AM
GoSewGirl said...
Great job! You made such a beautiful skirt, and I love that you matched up the pattern at the seams. (One of my pet peeves about RTW is expensive garments that aren't even matched up!) Anyway, can't wait to see the jacket - which pattern are you using?
1/3/05 8:48 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Beautiful skirt, very nice work
1/3/05 9:00 AM
Oziroo said...
Nice skirt, nice fabric!
1/3/05 4:38 PM
KathleenS said...
Thanks everyone, glad you like it! GoSewGirl - wait and see on the jacket pattern :) it really shouldn't be long! I notice looking at the photo that the skirt is shorter than I felt it was, but note that the length will vary depending on how much your fabric stretches on the bias. I had to cut quite a lot off the lining to get it to the right length even though it started out shorter than the main skirt.
1/4/05 2:19 AM
Deepika said...
How perfect is that skirt!!! Love it. And soo much better than RTW. You did a gorgeous job on the seam finish as well. Thanks for reviewing this.
1/4/05 7:19 AM
KimP said...
Great skirt. I've used this pattern extensively and I love it. I've made the straight grain skirt in cotton, rayon and wool; I've made the bias skirt in wool and attached it to a bodice and it became a dress. Really wonderful for me.
1/5/05 8:34 AM
KathleenS said...
Thanks for the extra feedback on this pattern Kim! I think one like this particularly needs reviews as the pattern drawing isn't that enticing and there's no photo.
1/7/05 2:16 AM
JDpenelope said...
Beautiful work. Your attention to detail shows. So glad to see this review, because I'm considering making the longer version (my fabric is wide enough, I just checked!) in drapey, lightweight wool for a trip. Am considering doing exactly what you did for the waist and lining. I think it may be more comfortable without a waistband--was that your reason, too?
1/23/05 10:25 AM
KathleenS said...
Penelope, no, I'm afraid I'm influenced by the current no waistband fashion. Also, I was copying a RTW skirt that I tried on and really liked on me (except for the fit and the price), so I imitated it as far as possible.
1/25/05 1:59 AM
KitnRose said...
I really love the lines on this skirt - so simple yet so chic! The fabric's a perfect match. I have some boucle aging in my stash that I've wanted to make a skirt of but have been too afraid of the fabric - thanks for the tip about the HK seams. Must try that. Thanks for pointing this great little pattern out!
1/28/05 10:44 AM
JDpenelope said...
Ok, I'm looking at your beautiful skirt again, after very disappointing results with the ever-popular Brussels Skirt. I can see that you have a youthful figure, with a nice bum (as the British girls on What Not to Wear would say). My question: Why didn't you want darts? One would think your curves would need them--although your photo proves they don't. Is there enough hip curve to make up for the lack of darts? My figure is... well, formerly voluptuous, with a slight tummy and bum that's turning flat. Waist 28, hips 38. Any comments you have about darts and your figure or figures in general would be gratefully received. :-)
2/6/05 9:23 AM
Tonia Van Dyk said...
Gorgeous suit, Kathleen! Very fresh and pretty. I looked at the pattern info you provided and was shocked to find out I have this one in my stash from way back when! I own a few boucles to make this into - thanks for reminding me of this pattern!
3/30/05 6:48 AM
KathleenS said...
Yes, the pattern pic isn't exciting but this is a great pattern.
4/1/05 9:47 PM
G_l_e_n_d_a said...
Beautiful skirt - I think you could wear it to any dressy occasion and look terrific.
1/18/06 9:50 AM
Schnauzer said...
A very nice skirt Kathleen and it looks lovely on you!
1/18/06 2:46 PM
KimP said...
Another winner from this pattern, Kathleen! Beautiful color, too. I made up the straight grain skirt out of wool this weekend - cut out on Friday night and sewed it up Saturday afternoon and I'm wearing it today. I lined it with a silk lining I cut out of a Vogue skirt I made a few years ago which I don't wear anymore. I plan on a bias skirt next week using a wool-silk blend. My feeling is, when you find a pattern that works for you, make it repeatedly and no one, especially those that don't sew, won't know!
1/23/06 9:37 AM
KathleenS said...
Hi KimP, you and I are a small but enthusiastic promotion team for this pattern, aren't we! I love it; it's just so reliable.
1/27/06 5:24 AM
Soliel said...
Thanks for reviewing this pattern. I have it and haven't been very excited about it until I saw your skirt! It's an awesome skirt. Also, you and I are the same size...12 in the waist, and between a 12 and 14 for the hip. It looks great on you!
3/23/07 11:34 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Ottobre Design Magazine 03-2011-18

photo
by: VeroSewsSt...

Review
You Sew Girl 150mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 150mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

Buy Now
THE SKIRTS - A CD Book By Kenneth King

THE SKIRTS - A CD Book By Kenneth King

Buy Now
Butterick 5782

photo
by: Sewlful

Review