SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8813 (Misses' Dress )

17 more reviews
Viewed 948 times 
Reviewed by:JillyBe
photo

 
 
About JillyBestarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 1/20/10
Reviews written: 85
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 57 people
patterns reviewed: 70
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/20/12 8:13 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 13 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $30.00 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $30.00 Pattern Details

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Renata said...
Your creative and artistic touches always take your dresses to a new level. This is another pattern in my list for next summer. Really quite stunning.
7/10/13 8:21 AM
a7yrstitch said...
Love your dress. The more I read on the Marcy Tilton site, the more I think that her patterns are only intended to be a guide or a suggestion on a design. Your modifications are super. I'll definitely be double checking your notes when laying my fabric out on the cutting table. Those pockets! The originals - a hazard to someone like me, I'm always catching things on kitchen cabinet knobs. Yours - beautiful and functional. Woo-hoo, thank you for a great review and for sharing your artistry.
8/30/12 1:14 PM
KarlaB said...
Wow! What a beautiful, creative, artistic job you have done on this dress! It is really cute, and looks so comfy, too!
7/22/12 10:58 PM
salsera7 said...
Wow. You did a great job on this pattern....truly above and beyond.
7/22/12 7:49 AM
marthamyers said...
Such a great version of this pattern. I simply have to move this pattern to the top of the queue. Thanks for the review and fun inspiration. I'll return to this and your blog when I make it. Great job!
7/21/12 10:38 PM
beth5646 said...
Oh Jilly---how glorious!! I love your version. Superb.
7/21/12 10:37 PM
JillyBe said...
Thank you everyone! I really am enjoying this dress now.....just need shoes....next quest = shoes.....
7/21/12 2:42 PM
sfshaza said...
Jillian, you made this work, and more! I played with silk screening a couple years ago and my results were nowhere as nice. And it really pulls the fabrics together. Wonderful!
7/21/12 11:39 AM
marec said...
Jilly, this is so adorable on you and I admire how you found creative solutions as you worked on this. The silk screening is especially nice, and the fit is wonderful. You look ready to island hop.
7/21/12 10:33 AM
Mary Gillette said...
You've taken a really cute pattern and made it wonderful! WOW!
7/21/12 9:53 AM
DorothyK said...
Jilly, your version of this dress is fabulous. I'm in awe of your silkscreening ability. Great job!
7/21/12 9:43 AM
imsewcrazy said...
EXTRAORDINARY!!!
7/21/12 8:40 AM
VivianZ said...
i love the results you ended with. Took a while, but desperate inspirations can sometimes be the best plan of action,
7/21/12 7:46 AM
GoodbyeValntino said...
I bet some Young Things might want this Li'l Ole Lady dress! How fun!
7/21/12 7:45 AM
piffle said...
*Gasp* Absolutely wonderful!
7/21/12 7:36 AM
dorothyn said...
Wow, despite the painful journey, the end result is fantastic! This looks like something you would find in Anthropologie for $300! Just marvelous.
7/21/12 5:05 AM
Camerio said...
Love the work you did with the fabric and it makes for a very beautiful dress
7/21/12 3:48 AM
Barbara V said...
Jilly, your dress is awesome. The combination of fabrics, ruffled hem, unique pocket treatment and silk screening put this dress into a "one of a kind" category and suits you wonderfully. I'm thinking you derived a great sense of pleasure as you worked through the creative processes! You look great in it!
7/20/12 10:37 PM
Elcue said...
Your changes made me like this dress.
7/20/12 9:57 PM
Amanda.Claire said...
Oh my!! Your dress is sooooo cute! I am always afraid that I am going to embellish and make things worse. Your embellishments, fabric choice...everything is spot on!
7/20/12 8:59 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Petite Plus 651 Pattern

Petite Plus 651 Pattern

Buy Now
Petite Plus D202 DVD

Petite Plus D202 DVD

Buy Now