SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Wild Ginger> Curves 3 (Bra)

4 more reviews
Viewed 2337 times 
Reviewed by:Debbie Cook
photo

 
 
About Debbie Cookstarstarstarstar
Member since: 4/11/02
Reviews written: 193
Favored by: 389 people
patterns reviewed: 180
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/3/05 4:32 AM
Last Updated:1/3/05 4:36 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 24 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
22 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
els said...
Hi Debbie you should earn a masters for making a made to measure bra, your bra turned out beautiful. Great fabric you used too. Thanks for the useful review of how you conquered this achievement.
1/3/05 5:41 AM
Janet R said...
Very inspiring. It's interesting to see how each version got better.
1/3/05 6:18 AM
Danvillegirl said...
I echo els's comments. I like the Curves program for several t-shirts and polo shirts but have yet to try a bra. Perhaps I should send you my measurements and you make me one. Very nice bra, it truly looks top quality!
1/3/05 6:27 AM
Georgene said...
Um, labor of love? Excellent review, thanks for all the photo documention. PS What program are you using to draw the red lines on your photos? That's a great tool.
1/3/05 6:41 AM
Sew it seams said...
Wonderful review, Debbie. The photos of you in your bras and the step by step progress is extrememly helpful to me. I know writing a review like this one takes a lot of time, but it sure is helpful.
1/3/05 8:30 AM
cindyann said...
Very helpful review, Debbie! Your latest version is wonderful. The fabrics and lace from Booby Trap coordinate wonderfully. What a great gift. I may have to get one for myself.
1/3/05 8:42 AM
kathi s said...
In the past year, I have bought 5 bras, none of which fit worth a darn or are really uncomfortable! I am beginning to be a believer! Wonderful job, I am soo impressed!
1/3/05 8:44 AM
Lorna C. Newman said...
I am going to join the bra sewing crowd! THat is a beautiful bra, Debbie! I am going to send my best bra to Lee Anne to make a clone for me. I don't have the patience to do all the work you did! Great job!
1/3/05 9:15 AM
mamafitz said...
your bra looks fantastic!
1/3/05 9:16 AM
PVA said...
My gosh, Debbie, you're going to earn that 3rd star in no time at all! You write the best reviews & definitely have elevated your sewing skills to a whole new level! I feel certain you will never again feel the need to go buy a bra!
1/3/05 10:05 AM
Rennie Ashby said...
I agree with the others. It's great to see your progression and learning 'curve'. This is a very educational review.
1/3/05 10:38 AM
Debbie Cook said...
Thank you everyone, I really appreciate all of your great comments! els, too funny about the masters! Linda L, it takes a few trials with Curves, but it's really not too bad. You can do it! Georgene, I'm using Corel Photo-Paint and the lines are done manually with the line tool. Lorna, good luck! It gets easier after the first one. PVA, c'mon star #3! LOL!!
1/3/05 1:13 PM
sahmtodaniel said...
WOW! Thanks so much for posting so many details on both your bra reviews. I've been sewing a bra and then giving up due to the fit problems on and off for the last 9 months or so. I've made 6 "tester" cups and at least 3 complete bras and I'm always getting closer, but yet so far! (I wear something like a size 50 G to give you a point of reference.) Getting a really good fitting bra is a HUGE thing, and how much better is it if you can sew it yourself! I'm going to keep at it, thanks for your inspiration!
1/3/05 2:59 PM
Nancy Anne said...
Wow! I can't believe you made a bra! Or took a pic of yourself in it, for that matter! :)I have often wondered if it would be woth the time and money involved, since I can find a good bra for myself for under $20. Your review was really helpful. You did a beautiful job!
1/4/05 7:56 AM
MaryBeth said...
Debbie: I went through 6 slopers with Curves when it first came out and gave up! You're really helping me to feel that it's possible to get a good bra...if I ever get out from under the commercial sewing and get back to a really decent sewing existence I hope to memorize your reviews and have another stab at it. Bless you!! and thanks!-mb
1/4/05 9:51 AM
Debbie Cook said...
Nancy Anne, the older I get, the less modesty I hold onto. LOL! But how can you tell about a bra if it's empty, you know? :) MB, I'm learning a LOT about Curves bras lately, so when you're ready, give a shout. I wish this stuff was in the manual so I could avoid the trial/error, esp. the error, part of the process.
1/4/05 11:04 AM
sewsue said...
Thanks for an entertaining and informative review! I love all the bras and I can see the fit improve with each one. Thanks for the pics! I have never tackled a bra so so congratulations on your success!
1/4/05 3:36 PM
moushka said...
Debbie, thank you for taking the time to document your bra sewing adventures. I have Curves but have yet to install v.3. Your results are very, very inspiring. Now if I could only find another eight or ten hours in each day, lol.
3/5/05 12:48 PM
Vibek said...
Debbie, you are an inspiration. Love all your reviews and I see the third star is up. Certainly deserved. The bra is absolutely wonderful and looks like a great fit. And thanks a lot for modelling each of the bras.
3/8/05 11:47 PM
fuzzygalore said...
Mm.. Fit looks good. If you need more support, the problem might lie in the kit? Don't get me wrong, it's great to get all this nit-picky stuff in one place :-). But I find that RTW bras that fit me don't have a bit of cup stretch, and I'm smaller than you. I love the look of that jackard fabric, but after I'm done with it I look like I don't have a bra on at all, and feel only the underwire, neither of which is the point.. If you're in love with the stretch fabric, how about a very thin woven as underlining?
2/2/06 10:03 AM
chango said...
Thanks for your review. I have just started searching the internet for info on sewing bras. Thanks for the book and software recommendation and sharing your bra sewing experience, I wear a size 38 DD (I have long breast) and I always have problem buying bras that fit me well, and give the proper support, the cups are never large enough to fit me well or they are too big... I'm hoping that making my own will help me get the fit that I want, but I know it will take me some time to get there! (I have just started to sew and it took me quite a few tries before I could wear something I made!). Well thanks again...
3/18/09 1:08 PM
sewingmomtothree said...
Debbie, How did you figur out how to get more support? All my ready to wear bras look like the first bra. I want the support you got with the third one. Help!
3/23/09 6:18 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Other 0000

photo
by: flyingwind...

Review
Jamie Christina Palooza Apron Pattern (JC309PA)

Jamie Christina Palooza Apron Pattern (JC309PA)

Buy Now
Favorite Things Little Hip Skirts Pattern

Favorite Things Little Hip Skirts Pattern

Buy Now