SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Loes Hinse Designs> 5203 (Cowl Top)

40 more reviews
Viewed 1437 times 
Reviewed by:Darla in PA
photo

 
 
About Darla in PAstar
PA USA
Member since: 4/10/02
Reviews written: 66
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 4 people
patterns reviewed: 44
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/3/05 8:23 AM
Last Updated:1/3/05 8:28 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Mini said...
LOL I never even noticed the 5 thread instructions. I used a 3 thread seam for this pattern and it worked fine. About the hems: I followed the advice in one of my Stretch and Sew books. If the hem (or any other seam) on a knit garment doesn't have to stretch, you don't have to use a stretch stitch! For this top with its loose-fitting bottom hem, I used a straight stitch with no problems. For the wrist hem, which is a bit tight, I practiced on a swatch using the different decorative stitches on my machine until I found one that looked good and had the right stretch factor. If you have a multi-step AKA 3-step zigzag, give that a try too. It seems to work on everything.
2/27/05 10:45 AM
Gloria Allender said...
I've made several LH garments and my serger doesn't have a 5-thread option. Thanks for the side view. This was an "ah ha" moment about DD tops. I think the top looks like one of those "cozy, feel good, comfortable" tops you can wear anytime.
1/4/05 6:11 AM
Irene said...
All the LH patterns I've purchased say that they were designed to be sewn with a 5-thread serger, but this is not so. Loes wrote an article in Threads about sewing the Retro Jacket, and she clearly used a 5-thread serger only for the long seams. I used the Threads article, rather than the Retro directions, to sew the jacket. I asked Loes about this when I stopped at her store in December, and she said that she would consider changing the directions. This seems to be a standard blurb that hasn't been edited. I made the Sweater Set with a 5-thread stitch, and the armholes and necklines are so tight that they can't be worn. I now use 3-thread serging for armholes, necklines, and hems.
1/3/05 9:02 PM
CarolynGM said...
I made this top several times before I lost the pattern. It took some tweaking of the fit as you are finding out, but it was worth it. I think that Elona is on to something with going down a size and doing an FBA. All the same, your top looks good as it is. I'm not sure you would want fleece any more fitted.
1/3/05 5:49 PM
Debbie Cook said...
Darla, I like the top and the color. It is a loose fit on you, but not so loose as to look bad in any way. Good job!
1/3/05 1:21 PM
Cadienne said...
Have you tried Steam-A-Seam-2? It stretches with the knit and does not wash out. (Although you can yank the hem out if you pull hard enough.) I like this a lot if I don't want the sportier cover hem.
1/3/05 12:18 PM
Elona said...
It's a pretty top as is, but I agree with your feeling that it's a tad big. In one of her seminars, Loes said people always choose one size too large, and I bet you'd get good results going down a size, making a full bust adjustment, and a swayback adjustment, too (it looks as though you have some extra back length). When you get it fine tuned, you will loooove this top!
1/3/05 11:41 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Class Details

Online Class
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Class Details

BurdaStyle Downloadable 146

photo
by: MaidenJane

Review
You Sew Girl 150mm Poppet Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 150mm Poppet Purse Pattern

More Info
Sew Chic The Tia Dress Pattern (ln1312)

Sew Chic The Tia Dress Pattern (ln1312)

More Info
BurdaStyle Magazine 07-2009-123

photo
by: liliv

Review