SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Loes Hinse Designs> 5203 (Cowl Top)

40 more reviews
Viewed 1435 times 
Reviewed by:Darla in PA
photo

 
 
About Darla in PAstar
PA USA
Member since: 4/10/02
Reviews written: 66
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 4 people
patterns reviewed: 44
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/3/05 8:23 AM
Last Updated:1/3/05 8:28 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Elona said...
It's a pretty top as is, but I agree with your feeling that it's a tad big. In one of her seminars, Loes said people always choose one size too large, and I bet you'd get good results going down a size, making a full bust adjustment, and a swayback adjustment, too (it looks as though you have some extra back length). When you get it fine tuned, you will loooove this top!
1/3/05 11:41 AM
Cadienne said...
Have you tried Steam-A-Seam-2? It stretches with the knit and does not wash out. (Although you can yank the hem out if you pull hard enough.) I like this a lot if I don't want the sportier cover hem.
1/3/05 12:18 PM
Debbie Cook said...
Darla, I like the top and the color. It is a loose fit on you, but not so loose as to look bad in any way. Good job!
1/3/05 1:21 PM
CarolynGM said...
I made this top several times before I lost the pattern. It took some tweaking of the fit as you are finding out, but it was worth it. I think that Elona is on to something with going down a size and doing an FBA. All the same, your top looks good as it is. I'm not sure you would want fleece any more fitted.
1/3/05 5:49 PM
Irene said...
All the LH patterns I've purchased say that they were designed to be sewn with a 5-thread serger, but this is not so. Loes wrote an article in Threads about sewing the Retro Jacket, and she clearly used a 5-thread serger only for the long seams. I used the Threads article, rather than the Retro directions, to sew the jacket. I asked Loes about this when I stopped at her store in December, and she said that she would consider changing the directions. This seems to be a standard blurb that hasn't been edited. I made the Sweater Set with a 5-thread stitch, and the armholes and necklines are so tight that they can't be worn. I now use 3-thread serging for armholes, necklines, and hems.
1/3/05 9:02 PM
Gloria Allender said...
I've made several LH garments and my serger doesn't have a 5-thread option. Thanks for the side view. This was an "ah ha" moment about DD tops. I think the top looks like one of those "cozy, feel good, comfortable" tops you can wear anytime.
1/4/05 6:11 AM
Mini said...
LOL I never even noticed the 5 thread instructions. I used a 3 thread seam for this pattern and it worked fine. About the hems: I followed the advice in one of my Stretch and Sew books. If the hem (or any other seam) on a knit garment doesn't have to stretch, you don't have to use a stretch stitch! For this top with its loose-fitting bottom hem, I used a straight stitch with no problems. For the wrist hem, which is a bit tight, I practiced on a swatch using the different decorative stitches on my machine until I found one that looked good and had the right stretch factor. If you have a multi-step AKA 3-step zigzag, give that a try too. It seems to work on everything.
2/27/05 10:45 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Understanding Wool Fabrics
Understanding Wool Fabrics

Register

StyleArc Jessica Dress

photo
by: thewall

Review
Vogue Patterns 8837

photo
by: chenille

Review
Sewing Workshop Hong Kong Vest Pattern

Sewing Workshop Hong Kong Vest Pattern

Buy Now
Sew Liberated Paloma Top, Tunic & Dress Pattern

Sew Liberated Paloma Top, Tunic & Dress Pattern

Buy Now