SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Loes Hinse Designs> 5203 (Cowl Top)

40 more reviews
Viewed 1436 times 
Reviewed by:Darla in PA
photo

 
 
About Darla in PAstar
PA USA
Member since: 4/10/02
Reviews written: 66
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 4 people
patterns reviewed: 44
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/3/05 8:23 AM
Last Updated:1/3/05 8:28 AM




Buy Pattern
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Mini said...
LOL I never even noticed the 5 thread instructions. I used a 3 thread seam for this pattern and it worked fine. About the hems: I followed the advice in one of my Stretch and Sew books. If the hem (or any other seam) on a knit garment doesn't have to stretch, you don't have to use a stretch stitch! For this top with its loose-fitting bottom hem, I used a straight stitch with no problems. For the wrist hem, which is a bit tight, I practiced on a swatch using the different decorative stitches on my machine until I found one that looked good and had the right stretch factor. If you have a multi-step AKA 3-step zigzag, give that a try too. It seems to work on everything.
2/27/05 10:45 AM
Gloria Allender said...
I've made several LH garments and my serger doesn't have a 5-thread option. Thanks for the side view. This was an "ah ha" moment about DD tops. I think the top looks like one of those "cozy, feel good, comfortable" tops you can wear anytime.
1/4/05 6:11 AM
Irene said...
All the LH patterns I've purchased say that they were designed to be sewn with a 5-thread serger, but this is not so. Loes wrote an article in Threads about sewing the Retro Jacket, and she clearly used a 5-thread serger only for the long seams. I used the Threads article, rather than the Retro directions, to sew the jacket. I asked Loes about this when I stopped at her store in December, and she said that she would consider changing the directions. This seems to be a standard blurb that hasn't been edited. I made the Sweater Set with a 5-thread stitch, and the armholes and necklines are so tight that they can't be worn. I now use 3-thread serging for armholes, necklines, and hems.
1/3/05 9:02 PM
CarolynGM said...
I made this top several times before I lost the pattern. It took some tweaking of the fit as you are finding out, but it was worth it. I think that Elona is on to something with going down a size and doing an FBA. All the same, your top looks good as it is. I'm not sure you would want fleece any more fitted.
1/3/05 5:49 PM
Debbie Cook said...
Darla, I like the top and the color. It is a loose fit on you, but not so loose as to look bad in any way. Good job!
1/3/05 1:21 PM
Cadienne said...
Have you tried Steam-A-Seam-2? It stretches with the knit and does not wash out. (Although you can yank the hem out if you pull hard enough.) I like this a lot if I don't want the sportier cover hem.
1/3/05 12:18 PM
Elona said...
It's a pretty top as is, but I agree with your feeling that it's a tad big. In one of her seminars, Loes said people always choose one size too large, and I bet you'd get good results going down a size, making a full bust adjustment, and a swayback adjustment, too (it looks as though you have some extra back length). When you get it fine tuned, you will loooove this top!
1/3/05 11:41 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Class Details

Online Class
More Knits
More Knits

Class Details

McCall's 2401

photo
by: carolinasc...

Review

Pattern

Favorite Things Little Lounge Around Pattern

Favorite Things Little Lounge Around Pattern

More Info
Favorite Things Ballet Slippers Pattern

Favorite Things Ballet Slippers Pattern

More Info