SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5890 

29 more reviews
Review submitted in Pattern Stash 2012 Contest
Viewed 659 times 
Reviewed by:Sherril Miller
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Sherril Millerstarstarstarstar
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 139
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 186 people
patterns reviewed: 128
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/22/12 2:22 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
See other patterns in this category: Suits / Separates    
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 Pattern Details

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Baja Susana said...
Sherrill the color is gorgeous on you, but the pattern does you no justice. I know how frustrating it is to spend time and money on a sadder. But overall you do a nice job.
8/18/13 10:04 PM
brissie71 said...
I really wish I'd seen your review before I made up this pattern. I get most of the way through this one for the Pattern Stash contest, then had to push through finishing it. I hate it, too. I'm ticked that I wasted good fabric on it. For me, it's not the fit so much as the way the wrong side of the fabric is exposed and the shoddy way the edges are meant to be finished. There are a thousand other cardigan patterns out there that are worth the time, IMO.
8/1/12 5:19 PM
Courtney Ostaff said...
I think that's awesome! So pretty, and I think it looks good on you.
7/24/12 9:52 PM
carolynw said...
Sherril I join the many who say this looks lovely BUT if you are not comfortable with it because it doesn't hang right then nothing will save it - I know many times I have made a top that really looks quite nice but because I can see a bit of my tummy it has been ditched - we all have body bits and parts we just do not like to emphasise in any way. Beautiful fabric so try and re-use
7/24/12 11:06 AM
OP Gal said...
I think your cardi is very becoming. I love the color of the fabric. Put it away for a week and see if you don't like it better when you take it out again.
7/23/12 11:00 PM
Laurie Lou said...
Well, I was going to say I agree with you. I too made this jacket and it just seemed off to me and tried this and that to make it work. but then I clicked on your picture and like yours way more and think it looks really nice on you. I was going to suggest to take the sleeves off and use it as a vest and wear it more open ...just something you could do if you really can't live with it as a cardi.
7/23/12 3:33 PM
Riesie said...
I agree with the others that you should let it marinate before pitching, though even if you change your mind about the style, the sleeves might be a deal killer. But the color is fabu, dahling! More things in that color!
7/23/12 2:16 AM
JEF said...
Oh dear Sherril, I'm another one who saw the picture and thought - wow that is so pretty. I even thought to myself "McCalls? Am I going to have to buy a McCalls pattern?" If the arms are too tight, you're right, pitch it b/c you'll never wear it. BUT...for the style? It's a winner!
7/22/12 8:21 PM
blondieinparis said...
I think you look fabulous in this - the color, the style, the draping. I'm planning to make this too, and I sure hope mine looks as good as yours!
7/22/12 2:32 PM
mastdenman said...
I like it too. Maybe it needs a little time in the magic closet.
7/22/12 10:43 AM
RadarRadiance said...
The first thing I noticed is I liked it, love the color and the drape of your fabric. I would also let it sit and try it out again maybe with black pants and an ivory tank or something (color block style), I think it would really pop. I like it.
7/22/12 9:54 AM
JTink said...
This is lovely! It really doesn't accent the "girls" like you think it does. I've had this pattern for a long time and never used it. But after seeing your pretty cardi, I just might have to put it at the top of my "to do" pile :-)
7/22/12 8:57 AM
Mobycat said...
I agree 100% with BillieJean.
7/22/12 8:48 AM
BillieJean said...
When I first saw your picture I thought "How pretty!" I can't believe you don't like it, but sometimes that's how it is. Let it hang around for a while and try again. It especially looks pretty with what you're wearing it with.
7/22/12 6:10 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Burda 7866

photo
by: grays08

Review
Islander Sewing Systems Moebius Scarf Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Moebius Scarf Pattern

Buy Now
8 1/2 inch Dressmaking Shears

8 1/2 inch Dressmaking Shears

Buy Now