SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1247 (Misses' Top and Skirt)

97 more reviews
Viewed 489 times 
Reviewed by:cleverkitty
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About cleverkittystarstarstar
OH USA
Member since: 8/22/07
Reviews written: 96
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 40 people
patterns reviewed: 96
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2011
Posted on:7/25/12 3:52 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 2 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    Skirts    
Available for sale on PR: $30.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $30.00 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Elona said...
No belt! The top actually looks great with the alterations you made and the way you finished it. It is supposed to have an oversized look, and that's what you have. That said, the pattern does suggest thin, drapey fabrics like crepe de chine or charmeuse, and probably you would be happy with materials like these (as are many of the pr members who have used this pattern) the next time you make it--and you should make it again, because it IS cute on you.
7/25/12 7:17 PM
Elcue said...
I think it looks adorable on you! Did you read Coco's review and see how she changed the pleats and darts?
7/25/12 7:41 PM
ArtAttack said...
I agree with Elona...no belt. And it is supposed to be sacky...I think your fabric choice might have a little too much body. Somthing softer might skim your body more and be more pleasing to you, but, having said all this...I think it's cute on you! No belt.
7/25/12 10:22 PM
SewWil said...
My vote is for no belt. I think your top looks very nice on you.
7/25/12 11:33 PM
hme75 said...
I agree with the above. I think your top looks great with your changes. I do like it with the belt, but I like it better without. I am just finishing this top with an even stiffer fabric than yours (I decided to try something different). I think my extra boxy look *may* be ok with some skinny pants? We'll see. But yours, yours is good!
7/25/12 11:43 PM
cocosloft said...
my vote is no belt! and I love your fabric, so pretty. I had forgotten about the understitching and I agree with you - I did not even do it!
7/26/12 5:54 AM
stsimon said...
oh, my, I like the belt a lot! It give the shape a bit more pizazz.
7/26/12 8:11 AM
Christas said...
Really cute top! It's not supposed to be fitted, and the look you've gotten is very nice. My vote is for no belt.
7/26/12 10:09 AM
carolynw said...
I think this is a great looking top and is exactly what Vogue intended it to be - loose and sacky as someone else said. I have made it (sorry really behind on reviews) and loved it and am like you - not big in the bust area. I really love the way this looks on you and I would say no belt.
7/26/12 1:25 PM
BeaJay said...
Love the top - looks good on you. Wouldn't do the belt though - covers the lovely details in the seaming.
7/26/12 6:30 PM
MNBarb said...
We have a 3 person agreement here that 1)The top looks 100% better with the sleeves hemmed (see photp of DD in the sewing room) and 2)Unbelted, because the belt runs right through the stitching detail. At first I also thought, "sacky" but when I look again I think it works. A drapey fabric might work better but, if you're like me, that won't be the best look for you either. Some of us just look better in garments that are more fitted. Wash and wear this a few times to see if the fabric softens up a little. If it makes you feel any better I've made this same mistake with sheer, crisp fabric. You did a nice job with the details.
7/27/12 8:18 AM
Hilary said...
I think it turned out really cute-and I agree, no belt! :o)
8/8/12 8:48 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

McCall's 6208

photo
by: Clareew

Review
Christine Jonson Travel Trio One

Christine Jonson Travel Trio One

Buy Now
SewBaby Clutter Catchers Pattern

SewBaby Clutter Catchers Pattern

Buy Now