Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
New Look: 6429 (Misses' surplice dress) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 3240 times 56 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 7 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
Reviewed by:MickeyFan
photo
About MickeyFanstarstar
GA USA
Member since: 6/7/04
Reviews written: 60
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 41 people
patterns reviewed: 60
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/21/05 7:14 AM
Last Updated:1/4/05 9:54 AM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
28 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Lorna C. Newman said...
Lovely and detailed review and I love the dress! Great print!
1/4/05 9:44 AM
jacalhoun said...
I LOVE your dress! I wish I could wear wrap tops, but they just don't flatter me at all.
1/4/05 9:54 AM
Levone said...
Great looking dress! I love the fabric.
1/4/05 10:09 AM
Debbie Cook said...
GREAT dress! Love the fabric, the style, everything!
1/4/05 10:36 AM
SewTabby said...
Such a beautiful dress! This pattern sure is turning out some amazing results...might have to add to the wishlist. Excellent job!
1/4/05 10:49 AM
PegL said...
Gorgeous dress! Love the fabric! Makes me wish I could wear wrap things but alas....tis not to be.
1/4/05 10:52 AM
LoriB said...
Very nice dress and review! I think I've looked at this pattern but worried about the accuracy of the fit. Based on my experience with New Look, I'm not surprised that you found it a bit large.
1/4/05 10:57 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
This is beautiful - I love the fabric. Nice job.
1/4/05 11:00 AM
Mandolin82 said...
I have this pattern - thanks for the detailed review.
1/4/05 11:04 AM
PhyllisC said...
Very interesting that you used slinky! You might want to keep this folded in a drawer when you're not wearing it - storing this lovely dress on hanger will encourage slinky's tendency to "grow" over time.
1/4/05 12:10 PM
Modiste Madness said...
Such an attractive dress. It look really good.
1/4/05 12:33 PM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Very pretty dress. You named all of the reasons I'm not a big slinky fan, but your dress turned out great! -Ann
1/4/05 1:23 PM
joan said...
Your dress is lovely. Thanks, for the very helpful review. I also have this pattern that I want to sew for spring/summer. I think I will choose one of the lighter weight knits after reading about your battle with slinky.
1/4/05 2:08 PM
Tailypo said...
Yowza! That is the kind of dress that keeps me plugging away at my 'Quick and Easy' patterns -- maybe some day I'll be able to sew something like THAT!
1/4/05 2:12 PM
AnneM said...
Very nice dress. Slinky is wonderful to feel & wear. Georgene says to let slinky sit on the cutting table overnight (or so) before cutting.
1/4/05 3:04 PM
Gigi Louis said...
Wow, what a beautiful dress!
1/4/05 3:15 PM
BjP said...
Gorgeous dress - but I am most impressed with that waistline! Yikes, I'm so jealous I can't stand it!
1/4/05 4:47 PM
sewkal said...
I have this pattern, now I'm inspired to give it a try- great job!
1/4/05 4:50 PM
KarenP said...
Beautiful dress!! This one's going on my wish list.
1/4/05 5:24 PM
PixieCat said...
What a beautiful dress! You did such a nice job.
1/5/05 4:51 AM
Eli said...
Oh, I love it.... New Look has some really cute dress patterns indeed! Great work by the way.... May sound ifnorant but what is FFC?
1/5/05 7:38 AM
Nancy Anne said...
Beautiful job! Wrap dresses make me look like a bowling pin, so I envy that you can wear them well!
1/5/05 8:17 AM
Tiner W said...
Wow! I love it! I've been wanting a new dress... .
1/5/05 9:04 AM
Elemenopeo said...
Very stylish and beautiful.
1/5/05 4:47 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Lovely dress. Hard to believe it is slinky. Very pretty.
1/5/05 6:50 PM
Deady said...
You did a beautiful job on this dress. I love the collar. Just bought the pattern and fabric, so hope it works. My material is polyester (90%) with spandex. Thks. for the review.
3/1/05 11:27 PM
Allisonsews said...
Thanks for the great review! Since my belly has a natural pooch I should be fine.
4/5/05 9:23 AM
Heatherrique said...
Gorgeous dress! So DVF!!!!!!!
6/29/06 1:39 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Vogue Patterns 1056
photo
Review by 3kids1036 on 8/7/08
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Harper Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Harper Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simple Things Little Kickers Digital Pattern (001)
Simple Things Little Kickers Digital Pattern (001)

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

No Pattern Used No Pattern Used Rag Jacket
photo
Review by Gail S on 11/15/04
Read Review

SewBaby Travel High Chair Pattern
SewBaby Travel High Chair Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Beginner Sewing Lab 104 - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford
Beginner Sewing Lab 104  - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Details
Price: $14.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8817 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
Vogue 8817 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6781 Pattern
New Look 6781 Pattern

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us