SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> New Look> 6429 (Misses' surplice dress)

56 more reviews
Viewed 3244 times 
Reviewed by:MickeyFan
photo

 
 
About MickeyFanstarstar
GA USA
Member since: 6/7/04
Reviews written: 60
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 41 people
patterns reviewed: 60
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/21/05 7:14 AM
Last Updated:1/4/05 9:54 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 7 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
28 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Lorna C. Newman said...
Lovely and detailed review and I love the dress! Great print!
1/4/05 9:44 AM
jacalhoun said...
I LOVE your dress! I wish I could wear wrap tops, but they just don't flatter me at all.
1/4/05 9:54 AM
Levone said...
Great looking dress! I love the fabric.
1/4/05 10:09 AM
Debbie Cook said...
GREAT dress! Love the fabric, the style, everything!
1/4/05 10:36 AM
SewTabby said...
Such a beautiful dress! This pattern sure is turning out some amazing results...might have to add to the wishlist. Excellent job!
1/4/05 10:49 AM
PegL said...
Gorgeous dress! Love the fabric! Makes me wish I could wear wrap things but alas....tis not to be.
1/4/05 10:52 AM
LoriB said...
Very nice dress and review! I think I've looked at this pattern but worried about the accuracy of the fit. Based on my experience with New Look, I'm not surprised that you found it a bit large.
1/4/05 10:57 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
This is beautiful - I love the fabric. Nice job.
1/4/05 11:00 AM
Mandolin82 said...
I have this pattern - thanks for the detailed review.
1/4/05 11:04 AM
PhyllisC said...
Very interesting that you used slinky! You might want to keep this folded in a drawer when you're not wearing it - storing this lovely dress on hanger will encourage slinky's tendency to "grow" over time.
1/4/05 12:10 PM
Modiste Madness said...
Such an attractive dress. It look really good.
1/4/05 12:33 PM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Very pretty dress. You named all of the reasons I'm not a big slinky fan, but your dress turned out great! -Ann
1/4/05 1:23 PM
joan said...
Your dress is lovely. Thanks, for the very helpful review. I also have this pattern that I want to sew for spring/summer. I think I will choose one of the lighter weight knits after reading about your battle with slinky.
1/4/05 2:08 PM
Tailypo said...
Yowza! That is the kind of dress that keeps me plugging away at my 'Quick and Easy' patterns -- maybe some day I'll be able to sew something like THAT!
1/4/05 2:12 PM
AnneM said...
Very nice dress. Slinky is wonderful to feel & wear. Georgene says to let slinky sit on the cutting table overnight (or so) before cutting.
1/4/05 3:04 PM
Gigi Louis said...
Wow, what a beautiful dress!
1/4/05 3:15 PM
BjP said...
Gorgeous dress - but I am most impressed with that waistline! Yikes, I'm so jealous I can't stand it!
1/4/05 4:47 PM
sewkal said...
I have this pattern, now I'm inspired to give it a try- great job!
1/4/05 4:50 PM
KarenP said...
Beautiful dress!! This one's going on my wish list.
1/4/05 5:24 PM
PixieCat said...
What a beautiful dress! You did such a nice job.
1/5/05 4:51 AM
Eli said...
Oh, I love it.... New Look has some really cute dress patterns indeed! Great work by the way.... May sound ifnorant but what is FFC?
1/5/05 7:38 AM
Nancy Anne said...
Beautiful job! Wrap dresses make me look like a bowling pin, so I envy that you can wear them well!
1/5/05 8:17 AM
Tiner W said...
Wow! I love it! I've been wanting a new dress... .
1/5/05 9:04 AM
Elemenopeo said...
Very stylish and beautiful.
1/5/05 4:47 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Lovely dress. Hard to believe it is slinky. Very pretty.
1/5/05 6:50 PM
Deady said...
You did a beautiful job on this dress. I love the collar. Just bought the pattern and fabric, so hope it works. My material is polyester (90%) with spandex. Thks. for the review.
3/1/05 11:27 PM
Allisonsews said...
Thanks for the great review! Since my belly has a natural pooch I should be fine.
4/5/05 9:23 AM
Heatherrique said...
Gorgeous dress! So DVF!!!!!!!
6/29/06 1:39 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Lily Pocket Purse

Lily Pocket Purse

Buy Now
Paradiso Designs Anna Handbag Pattern

Paradiso Designs Anna Handbag Pattern

Buy Now