SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1051 (MISSES' PANTS)

42 more reviews
Viewed 835 times 
Reviewed by:SavageCoco
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About SavageCocostar
CA
Member since: 1/3/12
Reviews written: 35
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 18 people
patterns reviewed: 33
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/15/12 5:42 PM
Last Updated:8/16/12 9:58 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 1 people   
See other patterns in this category: Pants    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Renren said...
I know sometimes on puckering seams it has helped to lengthen the stitch. Also, I'm pretty guilty of sewing beyond a needle's useful life and once I put a new needle in, the stitch quality improves dramatically. Maybe some of the pros will have better ideas. Your Hong Kong finihed seams are a thing of beauty.
8/15/12 5:36 PM
Jrhee said...
I also love this pattern, and I think this is a fine first effort! I love the piping detail and the side zipper.
8/15/12 10:03 PM
Scheri said...
Such a pretty pattern and a great first effort.
8/16/12 3:08 AM
Jill Giard said...
I've had trouble with puckering on polyester fabrics, too. Here is something that has worked for me- lengthen the stitch length a bit, stitch SLOWLY while holding the fabric taut with one hand in front and one behind the needle as it feeds through the machine. And as always - a fresh needle :)
8/16/12 8:18 AM
marthamyers said...
Your pants look great and nice work on all the details. I would recommend 100% cotton thread to avoid the puckering. Even though the fabric is a poly, I think that cotton thread works best. This is a Louis Cutting tip that has worked great for my pants.
8/16/12 8:31 AM
sewing for fun said...
They look very nice! Great detail work for lots of special and fine techniques. For puckering prevention, I seldom find the needle as culprit when I have a fresh needle (universal or Microtex should be fine on your fabric) For whatever it's worth, I suggest: 1) Pressing: Did you steam press the seam flat first after sewing, then open it and press again? That is almost always the cause when I have seam puckering. I am now a committed "press every single seam flat, then open" person, because it makes such a difference to finished garment. Otherwise I would 1) Increase stitch length a little bit and/or 2) Lighten up the tension a little. With due respect to other experienced sewers, I personally will never use cotton thread on pants, I have seen too many cotton thread breaks in pants resulting in embarrassing seam splits. The polyester fabric fibers can actually cut the cotton threads... Perhaps Martha and others have not had this happen to them :( ... and for that I am glad!
8/16/12 9:18 AM
Kayabunga said...
Super job on your pants! Some thoughts ... in regards to the seams puckering, I think the tension is part of the problem AND/OR quite possibly your new machine may be out of time. I had this very problem with my brand new Pfaff a few years ago. When I took it back to the dealer to be "looked at" I really got "the business" from the tech's (actually, they made me so mad I told them to hand it back I didn't want him to touch it any further) so after he cooled his jets a little and stopped treating me like an imbecile, he discovered that the machine was "out of time". After the adjustment it sewed beautifully, no puckering no matter what state the needle was in and with a wide variety of thread. Just my way of saying ... don't assume it's something you are doing and yes, even brand new machines can be the ones causing the problem. Kudos to you and no running with scissors, it's hard to sew with one eye. :)
8/16/12 2:12 PM
Renren said...
Regarding the photos in the gallery. You will note that when you hover over a photo in the gallery, sometimes it will say "Click to Read Review" and other times it will say "Click to Magnify" (something like this). Okay, to get the Magnify option, in your review you want to make sure that the url for the photo in the first box where you enter a url for the photo--you want to make sure that is a .jpg file. If it ends in anything but .jpg, you get the click to read review treatment. (Actually, I think there is one other format besides jpg that will let you magnify the photo. HTH and maybe one of the brainiacs will be along to answer more satisfactorily.) You sure did get lots of good advice on the puckering question--I was glad to read all the posts.
8/16/12 3:07 PM
SavageCoco said...
Thank you everyone! I LOVE PR for this reason alone. I've no one to "discuss" sewing with and this site is just Fab. I'm going to re-address the puckering seams/hems problem and will re-post with results. Thank you all again.
8/16/12 6:00 PM
Levone said...
Great looking pants! I prefer a similiar style as well.
8/22/12 10:29 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns

Register

Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Burda 7790

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
SewBaby Wonder Jacket Pattern

SewBaby Wonder Jacket Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Chicago Jacket

Sewing Workshop Chicago Jacket

Buy Now