Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 1051 (MISSES' PANTS) thumbsup - Type:Pants    printable version
Viewed 829 times 42 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 1 people   
Reviewed by:SavageCoco
photo
Friend of PR
About SavageCocostar
CA
Member since: 1/3/12
Reviews written: 32
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 14 people
patterns reviewed: 30
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/15/12 5:42 PM
Last Updated:8/16/12 9:58 PM


See other patterns in this category: Pants    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Renren said...
I know sometimes on puckering seams it has helped to lengthen the stitch. Also, I'm pretty guilty of sewing beyond a needle's useful life and once I put a new needle in, the stitch quality improves dramatically. Maybe some of the pros will have better ideas. Your Hong Kong finihed seams are a thing of beauty.
8/15/12 5:36 PM
Jrhee said...
I also love this pattern, and I think this is a fine first effort! I love the piping detail and the side zipper.
8/15/12 10:03 PM
Scheri said...
Such a pretty pattern and a great first effort.
8/16/12 3:08 AM
Jill Giard said...
I've had trouble with puckering on polyester fabrics, too. Here is something that has worked for me- lengthen the stitch length a bit, stitch SLOWLY while holding the fabric taut with one hand in front and one behind the needle as it feeds through the machine. And as always - a fresh needle :)
8/16/12 8:18 AM
marthamyers said...
Your pants look great and nice work on all the details. I would recommend 100% cotton thread to avoid the puckering. Even though the fabric is a poly, I think that cotton thread works best. This is a Louis Cutting tip that has worked great for my pants.
8/16/12 8:31 AM
sewing for fun said...
They look very nice! Great detail work for lots of special and fine techniques. For puckering prevention, I seldom find the needle as culprit when I have a fresh needle (universal or Microtex should be fine on your fabric) For whatever it's worth, I suggest: 1) Pressing: Did you steam press the seam flat first after sewing, then open it and press again? That is almost always the cause when I have seam puckering. I am now a committed "press every single seam flat, then open" person, because it makes such a difference to finished garment. Otherwise I would 1) Increase stitch length a little bit and/or 2) Lighten up the tension a little. With due respect to other experienced sewers, I personally will never use cotton thread on pants, I have seen too many cotton thread breaks in pants resulting in embarrassing seam splits. The polyester fabric fibers can actually cut the cotton threads... Perhaps Martha and others have not had this happen to them :( ... and for that I am glad!
8/16/12 9:18 AM
Kayabunga said...
Super job on your pants! Some thoughts ... in regards to the seams puckering, I think the tension is part of the problem AND/OR quite possibly your new machine may be out of time. I had this very problem with my brand new Pfaff a few years ago. When I took it back to the dealer to be "looked at" I really got "the business" from the tech's (actually, they made me so mad I told them to hand it back I didn't want him to touch it any further) so after he cooled his jets a little and stopped treating me like an imbecile, he discovered that the machine was "out of time". After the adjustment it sewed beautifully, no puckering no matter what state the needle was in and with a wide variety of thread. Just my way of saying ... don't assume it's something you are doing and yes, even brand new machines can be the ones causing the problem. Kudos to you and no running with scissors, it's hard to sew with one eye. :)
8/16/12 2:12 PM
Renren said...
Regarding the photos in the gallery. You will note that when you hover over a photo in the gallery, sometimes it will say "Click to Read Review" and other times it will say "Click to Magnify" (something like this). Okay, to get the Magnify option, in your review you want to make sure that the url for the photo in the first box where you enter a url for the photo--you want to make sure that is a .jpg file. If it ends in anything but .jpg, you get the click to read review treatment. (Actually, I think there is one other format besides jpg that will let you magnify the photo. HTH and maybe one of the brainiacs will be along to answer more satisfactorily.) You sure did get lots of good advice on the puckering question--I was glad to read all the posts.
8/16/12 3:07 PM
SavageCoco said...
Thank you everyone! I LOVE PR for this reason alone. I've no one to "discuss" sewing with and this site is just Fab. I'm going to re-address the puckering seams/hems problem and will re-post with results. Thank you all again.
8/16/12 6:00 PM
Levone said...
Great looking pants! I prefer a similiar style as well.
8/22/12 10:29 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

Cake patterns 0144
photo
Review by thecurious... on 8/5/13
Read Review

McCalls 6062 Pattern ( Size 2-3-4-5 )
McCalls 6062 Pattern ( Size 2-3-4-5 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1651 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )
Simplicity 1651 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Self Drafted Pattern 70883-1002
photo
Review by jannw on 2/10/10
Read Review

Lily Bird Studio Overall / Romper/ Jumpsuit Digital Pattern
Lily Bird Studio Overall / Romper/ Jumpsuit Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.90
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Rose T Shirt Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Rose T Shirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop L2 Bag Pattern
Sewing Workshop L2 Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl 90mm Barrel Purse Pattern
You Sew Girl 90mm Barrel Purse Pattern

Details
Price: $25.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us