Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 9771 (Misses Blouse) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 1074 times 26 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 5 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
Reviewed by:GoodbyeValntino
photo
Friend of PR
About GoodbyeValntinostarstarstarstar
SC USA
Member since: 9/18/11
Reviews written: 111
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 127 people
patterns reviewed: 107
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/30/12 8:55 AM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $12.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $12.95     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
CypGrl said...
Appreciate your candor and comment about seeing a finished garment.
7/30/12 9:22 AM
ArtAttack said...
Beautiful top but, as you say, nothing like the rendering on the pattern. Thanks for the heads up...was thinking of this one when they go on sale.
7/30/12 10:05 AM
Peggyscloset said...
This is a very pretty top, but I agree that the draped neck is significantly different from the pattern drawing.
7/30/12 10:28 AM
zoe said...
I think this looks beautiful (even though the drape is somewhat different than the pattern drawing); not 'boring' or 'too sensible' at all as you say. It looks classic, with simple, clean lines; and I love the dot silk fabric. But then everything you've shown us always looks so good on you. I'm picturing it with a skirt and low gold sandals.
7/30/12 10:54 AM
CissieW said...
I had the same thought when I made this top. The drape in the illustration and the actual drape were quite different. I agree -- always buy patterns that actually show the garment on a person!
7/30/12 11:46 AM
frame said...
Different types of fabric will drape differently. Yours looks much more like the line drawing and in my opinion better than the fashion rendering.
7/30/12 12:19 PM
Elona said...
The top is beautiful and looks beautiful on you. As to its lack of resemblance to the illustration on the pattern envelope, I've just been through the 20 (!) other reviews here at pr, and some of the tops look *exactly* like that drawing and others do not. I'd be willing to bet that the primary factor in the outcome is the drapiness of the fabric chosen. But that's true of any garment, bias or straight grain. On the whole, this appears to be an unusually fine and well-liked pattern, in spite of Vogue's decision to use a drawing on the envelope instead of a photo.
7/30/12 1:41 PM
velosewer said...
Butterick 4132 might be more suitable for you. Your version is lovely. The Butterick version has a lower neckline without being showy.
7/30/12 5:07 PM
SewWil said...
Thanks for reviewing this pattern I was wondering about that drate on the pattern. Your top is pretty and looks very nice on you.
7/30/12 6:48 PM
SavageCoco said...
Oh, this is really pretty on you. Beautiful fit. Camel and white is so chic in the summer. Yeah, the draped neck is different from the pattern drawing. But everything you make is so gorgeous. Enjoy it!
7/31/12 0:02 AM
DRoos said...
Agree ! lovely top but not really like the illustration. Is it me or is this becoming a common problem with the Big 4. I've had a few similar disappointments in recent times.
7/31/12 4:30 AM
VivianZ said...
I very much like this top. I am sorry you were disappointed by the neckline, but it is a lovely top. Seeing the drape on this is good. I find most of them way too low, which doesn't show on 6' tall models.
7/31/12 9:56 AM
AndreaSews said...
I agree that all the sewn versions I have seen here on PR have a much different neckline than the illustration on the pattern. Disappointing, but a good lesson to check reviews! Thanks for your honest review, Sarah.
10/5/13 1:56 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Patrones Magazine Jan 2003 #57 Princess Dress
photo
Review by lyra on 10/26/08
Read Review

Pattern Runway Coffee Date Dress Digital Pattern
Pattern Runway Coffee Date Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $11.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Bucket Hat Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Bucket Hat Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $4.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2006
photo
Review by Pippi Long... on 4/14/12
Read Review

Sewn Square One Small Change Pattern
Sewn Square One Small Change Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

9 inch Bent Handle Scissors
9 inch Bent Handle Scissors

Details
Price: $24.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6466 Pattern ( Size 10-12-14-16-18 )
McCalls 6466 Pattern ( Size 10-12-14-16-18 )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2416 Pattern ( Size 10-12-14-16-18 )
Simplicity 2416 Pattern ( Size 10-12-14-16-18 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us