SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8766 (MIsses Dress)

34 more reviews
Viewed 641 times 
Reviewed by:mrsnodders
photo

 
 
About mrsnoddersstar
TX
Member since: 5/22/12
Reviews written: 8
Sewing skills:Beginner
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 8
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2013
Posted on:7/30/12 11:02 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $27.50 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $27.50 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
zoe said...
Your dress looks beautiful. I think quilting cotton can be perfect for some clothing. It used to be called calico or poplin, and was just one of many choices of cottons in varying degrees of quality ( and as you know, 'quilting' cotton also varies greatly in quality). Only recently has it become a separate category in a separate section of the fabric store and called 'quilting cotton'. Quilts used to be made from all fabrics, because they were made from scraps; someone has just created a market. A good quality cotton, regardless of the section of the store it came from, is always a great choice for certain styles. I love cotton for sewing, and for wearing;( in fact, I usually dislike synthetics, and rarely choose them myself).
7/30/12 11:15 AM
Kristine Kay said...
Such a fun dress, and so great on you! Nice job!
7/30/12 12:09 PM
ArtAttack said...
This is seriously adorable! Welcome to the world or quilting cotton for garments! I use it a lot when I want a non-stretch and a good assortment of cute prints...this is SO cute!
7/30/12 4:22 PM
born2bead said...
Love it! I looked at that striped version too and figured it would be really hard to find the fabric. I agree with you about using quilting fabric. I love the patterns and designs that I have made several things out of it from jackets to skirts. Great job!
7/30/12 6:23 PM
facesunderwater said...
stunning! love the quilting cottons comments.
7/30/12 6:42 PM
SavageCoco said...
I concur with ArtAttack - VERY seriously adorable!
7/31/12 0:04 AM
cmcarr said...
Cute dress. I often use quilting fabric for my clothing because I like 100% cotton. I like fabric that breathes. I don't care for synthetics.
7/31/12 0:43 AM
ghijsmom said...
Your dress is darling! I use quilting cotton for my husband's shirts. I have some earmarked for a dress for myself. I love your lining idea.
7/31/12 3:35 AM
KathleenS said...
Great dress, I love what you did with the stripes!
7/31/12 6:54 AM
yummymummy38 said...
what really makes this dress pop is the use of stripes, especially the horizontal ones on the bodice
7/31/12 9:07 AM
JEF said...
Wonderful dress and absolutely fantastic use of stripes. Go quilting cotton!
7/31/12 9:33 AM
slmstyle said...
Very cute dress! I usually steer clear of the quilting departments at the fabric store, unless I am planning to make a quilt or home dec project, but I really like this and the stripes are great (I'll be super comfy and easy to sew too!). Nice job being innovative and creative in your design.
8/20/12 7:49 PM
caper81 said...
I seriously *adore* your dress! Very inspiring :) I actually got some quilting cotton over this past weekend seeing yours and another reviewer's dress. I'm so excited to make this pattern! :)
5/21/13 11:49 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

McCall's 5974

photo
by: velosewer

Review
Christine Jonson Keyhole Top & Pants for Wovens

Christine Jonson Keyhole Top & Pants for Wovens

Buy Now
SewBaby Animal Mittens Pattern

SewBaby Animal Mittens Pattern

Buy Now
Japanese Pattern Books Akiko Mano

photo
by: MariannaSe...

Review