Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 8766 (MIsses Dress) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 634 times 33 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
Reviewed by:mrsnodders
photo
About mrsnoddersstar
TX
Member since: 5/22/12
Reviews written: 8
Sewing skills:Beginner
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 8
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2013
Posted on:7/30/12 11:02 AM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $27.50 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $27.50     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
zoe said...
Your dress looks beautiful. I think quilting cotton can be perfect for some clothing. It used to be called calico or poplin, and was just one of many choices of cottons in varying degrees of quality ( and as you know, 'quilting' cotton also varies greatly in quality). Only recently has it become a separate category in a separate section of the fabric store and called 'quilting cotton'. Quilts used to be made from all fabrics, because they were made from scraps; someone has just created a market. A good quality cotton, regardless of the section of the store it came from, is always a great choice for certain styles. I love cotton for sewing, and for wearing;( in fact, I usually dislike synthetics, and rarely choose them myself).
7/30/12 11:15 AM
Kristine Kay said...
Such a fun dress, and so great on you! Nice job!
7/30/12 12:09 PM
ArtAttack said...
This is seriously adorable! Welcome to the world or quilting cotton for garments! I use it a lot when I want a non-stretch and a good assortment of cute prints...this is SO cute!
7/30/12 4:22 PM
born2bead said...
Love it! I looked at that striped version too and figured it would be really hard to find the fabric. I agree with you about using quilting fabric. I love the patterns and designs that I have made several things out of it from jackets to skirts. Great job!
7/30/12 6:23 PM
facesunderwater said...
stunning! love the quilting cottons comments.
7/30/12 6:42 PM
SavageCoco said...
I concur with ArtAttack - VERY seriously adorable!
7/31/12 0:04 AM
cmcarr said...
Cute dress. I often use quilting fabric for my clothing because I like 100% cotton. I like fabric that breathes. I don't care for synthetics.
7/31/12 0:43 AM
ghijsmom said...
Your dress is darling! I use quilting cotton for my husband's shirts. I have some earmarked for a dress for myself. I love your lining idea.
7/31/12 3:35 AM
KathleenS said...
Great dress, I love what you did with the stripes!
7/31/12 6:54 AM
yummymummy38 said...
what really makes this dress pop is the use of stripes, especially the horizontal ones on the bodice
7/31/12 9:07 AM
JEF said...
Wonderful dress and absolutely fantastic use of stripes. Go quilting cotton!
7/31/12 9:33 AM
slmstyle said...
Very cute dress! I usually steer clear of the quilting departments at the fabric store, unless I am planning to make a quilt or home dec project, but I really like this and the stripes are great (I'll be super comfy and easy to sew too!). Nice job being innovative and creative in your design.
8/20/12 7:49 PM
caper81 said...
I seriously *adore* your dress! Very inspiring :) I actually got some quilting cotton over this past weekend seeing yours and another reviewer's dress. I'm so excited to make this pattern! :)
5/21/13 11:49 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Butterick 4386
photo
Review by HelenM01 on 6/19/13
Read Review

Butterick 5710 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Butterick 5710 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7102 Pattern
Burda 7102 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 6440 Misses' Pants
photo
Review by JustineSew... on 1/29/13
Read Review

Megan Nielsen Ruched Maternity Shirt Digital Pattern
Megan Nielsen Ruched Maternity Shirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Close Case Files Bombshell Swimsuit Digital Pattern (Print at a copy shop)
Close Case Files Bombshell Swimsuit Digital Pattern (Print at a copy shop)

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Fitted Jacket
Christine Jonson Fitted Jacket

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Ultrasuede Jacket DVD
Ultrasuede Jacket DVD

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us