SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> LaFred> 111 (Olympia Coat)

100 more reviews
Viewed 1701 times 
Reviewed by:MickeyFan
photo

 
 
About MickeyFanstarstar
GA USA
Member since: 6/7/04
Reviews: 60 (patterns: 60)
Skill level:Advanced
Favored by: 43 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/21/05 6:56 AM
Last Updated:1/6/05 8:14 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 18 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

O! Jolly! Shop


Sweater Knit Fabrics
Web site

<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
bakertoo said... (12/26/08 9:53 PM) Reply
Thank you for the info. I am just starting this pattern, and I am, amazingly enough(!) using the same type of fabrics, for both the shell, and lining. I have never sewn with either one, so it was really helpful to read your clues. I'm nervous, but not as scared now! Thanks again.
Danvillegirl said... (1/9/05 2:45 PM) Reply
Wow, looks great. Great review.
Ginevra said... (1/7/05 7:37 PM) Reply
I am from Wisconsin and am not scoffing at your assessment of wet,rainy, cold weather. Your coat seems to fit the bill perfectly. I love the design and your review was perfectly detailed!
PixieCat said... (1/7/05 4:31 PM) Reply
Love your coat! Such a beautiful job!
Deb Bee said... (1/7/05 2:37 PM) Reply
Your coat is beautiful!! Loved your detailed review of the pattern. I would love to try a nice wool coat for myself someday - this is inspiring!
MickeyFan said... (1/7/05 1:39 PM) Reply
Thank you everyone for the nice feedback. Lisa, I found the flannel back satin at fabric.com. It was not exactly the really thick weight I had in mind, but it is nice fabric. I thought it worked well in this project.
xela said... (1/7/05 9:40 AM) Reply
The coat look fabulous on you. Excellent review wonderful job. Thanks
Lisa Laree said... (1/7/05 9:27 AM) Reply
Very nice job on both the coat and the review! Where did you find the flannel-backed satin?
Lori V said... (1/6/05 10:46 PM) Reply
Great review and beautiful coat.
drsue said... (1/6/05 9:38 PM) Reply
Very nice! I've always wanted to try underarm gussets but haven't yet gotten around to trying.
Oziroo said... (1/6/05 4:53 PM) Reply
Thanks for such an informative and encouraging review. Your coat looks super.
AnneM said... (1/6/05 4:36 PM) Reply
Great review. Your coat looks so much better than the pattern sketch. I just wish it has a hood.
Doris Stewart said... (1/6/05 12:38 PM) Reply
Great looking coat and wonderful review. Thank you :-)
jlg said... (1/6/05 11:52 AM) Reply
Great looking coat and very helpful review.
PegL said... (1/6/05 11:42 AM) Reply
Absolutely gorgeous coat! You did an awesome job! Very informative review too! Thanks!
Liana said... (1/6/05 10:24 AM) Reply
It looks really good, and sounds like a nice pattern. Good review too!
PVA said... (1/6/05 10:05 AM) Reply
Thanks for this very informative review! The coat is a very classic style & would be wonderful during our NW winters here in Oregon! I took a class with her once & really learned alot about tailoring techniques. She's a wonderful combination of designer & sewist. I'll have to take a look at that pattern. Thanks again!
Leslie Pettie said... (1/6/05 9:18 AM) Reply
Wow, what a great coat. Thank you for the blow-by-blow, it was very informative. I do like her designs; so even though I am a beginner I want to order this pattern (Slapping hand vigorously!!!).
noreend said... (1/6/05 9:05 AM) Reply
Your coat looks fabulous!
mClones said... (1/6/05 8:35 AM) Reply
Fabulous, cozy looking coat. On a rainy/sleety day like it is here in NY today, I would love to snuggle up in that. Your review piqued my interest in LaFred patterns, which I have never tried so far. Thanks for all the construction details too.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Class Details

Online Class
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Class Details

Simplicity 2339

photo
by: Danmar

Review
Favorite Things Little Nightie Night Pattern

Favorite Things Little Nightie Night Pattern

Pattern Details
Sew Liberated Mariposa Tee Pattern

Sew Liberated Mariposa Tee Pattern

Pattern Details
Self Drafted Pattern Craftsy A-line

photo
by: Clareew

Review