SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> LaFred> 111 (Olympia Coat)

100 more reviews
Viewed 1700 times 
Reviewed by:MickeyFan
photo

 
 
About MickeyFanstarstar
GA USA
Member since: 6/7/04
Reviews written: 60
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 41 people
patterns reviewed: 60
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/21/05 6:56 AM
Last Updated:1/6/05 8:14 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 18 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
mClones said...
Fabulous, cozy looking coat. On a rainy/sleety day like it is here in NY today, I would love to snuggle up in that. Your review piqued my interest in LaFred patterns, which I have never tried so far. Thanks for all the construction details too.
1/6/05 8:35 AM
noreend said...
Your coat looks fabulous!
1/6/05 9:05 AM
Leslie Pettie said...
Wow, what a great coat. Thank you for the blow-by-blow, it was very informative. I do like her designs; so even though I am a beginner I want to order this pattern (Slapping hand vigorously!!!).
1/6/05 9:18 AM
PVA said...
Thanks for this very informative review! The coat is a very classic style & would be wonderful during our NW winters here in Oregon! I took a class with her once & really learned alot about tailoring techniques. She's a wonderful combination of designer & sewist. I'll have to take a look at that pattern. Thanks again!
1/6/05 10:05 AM
Liana said...
It looks really good, and sounds like a nice pattern. Good review too!
1/6/05 10:24 AM
PegL said...
Absolutely gorgeous coat! You did an awesome job! Very informative review too! Thanks!
1/6/05 11:42 AM
jlg said...
Great looking coat and very helpful review.
1/6/05 11:52 AM
Doris Stewart said...
Great looking coat and wonderful review. Thank you :-)
1/6/05 12:38 PM
AnneM said...
Great review. Your coat looks so much better than the pattern sketch. I just wish it has a hood.
1/6/05 4:36 PM
Oziroo said...
Thanks for such an informative and encouraging review. Your coat looks super.
1/6/05 4:53 PM
drsue said...
Very nice! I've always wanted to try underarm gussets but haven't yet gotten around to trying.
1/6/05 9:38 PM
Lori V said...
Great review and beautiful coat.
1/6/05 10:46 PM
Lisa Laree said...
Very nice job on both the coat and the review! Where did you find the flannel-backed satin?
1/7/05 9:27 AM
xela said...
The coat look fabulous on you. Excellent review wonderful job. Thanks
1/7/05 9:40 AM
MickeyFan said...
Thank you everyone for the nice feedback. Lisa, I found the flannel back satin at fabric.com. It was not exactly the really thick weight I had in mind, but it is nice fabric. I thought it worked well in this project.
1/7/05 1:39 PM
Deb Bee said...
Your coat is beautiful!! Loved your detailed review of the pattern. I would love to try a nice wool coat for myself someday - this is inspiring!
1/7/05 2:37 PM
PixieCat said...
Love your coat! Such a beautiful job!
1/7/05 4:31 PM
Ginevra said...
I am from Wisconsin and am not scoffing at your assessment of wet,rainy, cold weather. Your coat seems to fit the bill perfectly. I love the design and your review was perfectly detailed!
1/7/05 7:37 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Wow, looks great. Great review.
1/9/05 2:45 PM
bakertoo said...
Thank you for the info. I am just starting this pattern, and I am, amazingly enough(!) using the same type of fabrics, for both the shell, and lining. I have never sewn with either one, so it was really helpful to read your clues. I'm nervous, but not as scared now! Thanks again.
12/26/08 9:53 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

McCall's 8353

photo
by: JeannieWat...

Review
Fit For Art Eureka! Pants that Fit Pattern

Fit For Art Eureka! Pants that Fit Pattern

Buy Now
Jamie Christina Honey Girl Dress and Top Pattern (JC304HG)

Jamie Christina Honey Girl Dress and Top Pattern (JC304HG)

Buy Now