Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 5890 thumbsup - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 673 times 29 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
Reviewed by:brissie71
photo
About brissie71star
Member since: 11/6/07
Reviews written: 23
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 16 people
patterns reviewed: 23
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/3/12 2:39 AM


See other patterns in this category: Suits / Separates    
Available for sale on PR: $13.56 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $13.56  List Price: $16.95   Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
QuiltSewSewSue said...
Great idea to use the fabric selvedge for the front edges. Shame the pattern wasn't a good one. Thanks for the review!
8/3/12 3:13 AM
Vonnevo said...
Kelley, this cardi is very nice !! I was surprised to read you aren't in love with it. I really like the edge trim and being a fan of turned up sleeves, I like the total overall look. Perhaps a week or two in the magic closet will revive the love :) I am expecting this pattern to arrive any day to make the same cardi.
8/3/12 3:13 AM
BeaJay said...
Shame you are not thrilled with the process and end result as it is lovely on you. I particularly love the way you have used the selvedge - gives it a real interesting look.
8/3/12 3:42 AM
Sharonspils said...
Sorry you aren't in love with this cardi and can see why by your review however it really looks good on you and another who likes your use of the selvedges.
8/3/12 4:40 AM
margk said...
Kelley, this does look nice! Maybe it will grow on you? Thanks for the review.
8/3/12 5:37 AM
Dilliander said...
My first thought on seeing your photo was that this is lovely! Reading your review I see why you are disappointed but its not that noticeable from the photo and the overall look in the Missoniesque knit is great, especially the way you used the selvage as a feature. So another vote for nice!!
8/3/12 6:07 PM
brrmm said...
Kelly, I really like this one on you, it looks great. Perfect for Brisbane right now. Great idea using the selvedge. Too bad you're not loving it, but it does look really good on.......great work.
8/3/12 7:31 PM
brrmm said...
Kelly, I really like this one on you, it looks great. Perfect for Brisbane right now. Great idea using the selvedge. Too bad you're not loving it, but it does look really good on.......great work.
8/3/12 7:32 PM
mssewcrazy said...
That looks so pretty on you. It's a shame you aren't feeling the love-maybe put it in the magic closet for a bit as someone else suggested on here.
8/4/12 5:12 AM
Michele Lommasson said...
It is good looking. Maybe you are just too close to the process of making it. I think you will like it when you try it on in a month or so. . .
8/4/12 3:54 PM
lyndle said...
I think you've done a great rescue job on this. I've pretty much given up on mccalls - they seem to allow a lot of ease in the 16 plus sizes and like you, i add to the hip only to take it out again. I thought this looked fine but i do relate to your frustration! Thank you for taking the time to review it and save the rest of us angst!
8/4/12 9:17 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

Simplicity 2455
photo
Review by SeamsFabul... on 8/30/10
Read Review

Butterick 6016 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Butterick 6016 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1220 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22 )
Vogue 1220 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5895
photo
Review by mimi g. on 5/30/13
Read Review

Oliver + S Hide and Seek Tunic (5-12) Digital Pattern
Oliver + S Hide and Seek Tunic (5-12) Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo 3 Button Boots Digital Pattern ( Size 0-18 months )
Peek-A Boo 3 Button Boots Digital Pattern ( Size 0-18 months )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Beach Bag Pattern
You Sew Girl Beach Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $22.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things A Billfold Pattern
Favorite Things A Billfold Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us