SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5890 

29 more reviews
Viewed 703 times 
Reviewed by:brissie71
photo

 
 
About brissie71star
Member since: 11/6/07
Reviews written: 23
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 16 people
patterns reviewed: 23
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/3/12 2:39 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
See other patterns in this category: Suits / Separates    
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
QuiltSewSewSue said...
Great idea to use the fabric selvedge for the front edges. Shame the pattern wasn't a good one. Thanks for the review!
8/3/12 3:13 AM
Vonnevo said...
Kelley, this cardi is very nice !! I was surprised to read you aren't in love with it. I really like the edge trim and being a fan of turned up sleeves, I like the total overall look. Perhaps a week or two in the magic closet will revive the love :) I am expecting this pattern to arrive any day to make the same cardi.
8/3/12 3:13 AM
BeaJay said...
Shame you are not thrilled with the process and end result as it is lovely on you. I particularly love the way you have used the selvedge - gives it a real interesting look.
8/3/12 3:42 AM
Sharonspils said...
Sorry you aren't in love with this cardi and can see why by your review however it really looks good on you and another who likes your use of the selvedges.
8/3/12 4:40 AM
margk said...
Kelley, this does look nice! Maybe it will grow on you? Thanks for the review.
8/3/12 5:37 AM
Dilliander said...
My first thought on seeing your photo was that this is lovely! Reading your review I see why you are disappointed but its not that noticeable from the photo and the overall look in the Missoniesque knit is great, especially the way you used the selvage as a feature. So another vote for nice!!
8/3/12 6:07 PM
brrmm said...
Kelly, I really like this one on you, it looks great. Perfect for Brisbane right now. Great idea using the selvedge. Too bad you're not loving it, but it does look really good on.......great work.
8/3/12 7:31 PM
brrmm said...
Kelly, I really like this one on you, it looks great. Perfect for Brisbane right now. Great idea using the selvedge. Too bad you're not loving it, but it does look really good on.......great work.
8/3/12 7:32 PM
mssewcrazy said...
That looks so pretty on you. It's a shame you aren't feeling the love-maybe put it in the magic closet for a bit as someone else suggested on here.
8/4/12 5:12 AM
Michele Lommasson said...
It is good looking. Maybe you are just too close to the process of making it. I think you will like it when you try it on in a month or so. . .
8/4/12 3:54 PM
lyndle said...
I think you've done a great rescue job on this. I've pretty much given up on mccalls - they seem to allow a lot of ease in the 16 plus sizes and like you, i add to the hip only to take it out again. I thought this looked fine but i do relate to your frustration! Thank you for taking the time to review it and save the rest of us angst!
8/4/12 9:17 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

McCall's 6408

photo
by: ArtAttack

Review
Favorite Things Little Wrap Dress Pattern

Favorite Things Little Wrap Dress Pattern

Buy Now
Victory Chloe Paper Pattern

Victory Chloe Paper Pattern

Buy Now