Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
HotPatterns: 1138 (Metropolitan Verano Dress/Top) - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 443 times
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
Reviewed by:Speech girl
photo
Friend of PR
About Speech girlstarstar
GA USA
Member since: 5/11/03
Reviews written: 107
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 7 people
patterns reviewed: 103
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/3/12 3:50 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
JudyMac said...
thanks for your detailed review. I think the dress would look cute with strappy black sandals (it looks as tho there is black in the print)
8/3/12 5:20 PM
Calama said...
I like the print! And the final product too. Black would work as shoes, I think.
8/3/12 5:43 PM
michellep74 said...
Cute dress! Black or metallic shoes should work with that print.
8/3/12 6:00 PM
miausiau said...
Hmmm, the bodice does look much longer than in the drawing. I am attracted to the print and the concept, but all that fabric at the waist could overwhelm a petite figure. Thanks for the heads up!
8/3/12 6:11 PM
PattyE said...
Sorry it did not come out the way you wanted...I really like your fabric though.
8/3/12 9:35 PM
Riesie said...
It's a lovely dress. Could you add a waist stay to keep the dress' waist at the right level?
8/4/12 9:47 AM
Q Valley Mary said...
If I wanted to forget that I was wearing blue, I'd go for a pair of red shoes. You could feel good in them, and they'd add a nice contrast color to the outfit. I do wear blue a lot, however, and I really like your print. Just step out proud in it.
8/4/12 12:00 PM
Speech girl said...
maiausaiu: my knit was thin, and the twist didn't create a lot of bulk, the excess ease is what would be overwhelming I think! Q Valley Mary: red shoes I do have as that is one of my favorite colors to wear. I think I forgot to say in my review that there is elastic attached at the waist except in the very front.
8/5/12 3:14 PM
Nancy K said...
I wish I'd read your review before I made mine! I am a DD cup and didn't need to make any adjustments other than to raise the neckline a bit as well. It fell too low on my waist as well and if anything you'd think it would hike up with my larger bust. I do like your print. I didn't think to take in the side seams, but maybe I will and see if I like it better
8/20/12 9:39 AM
DementedFairy said...
I've made this one up as a top and as a dress, and had similar issues. The body is loooong [and I normally find things make up too short in the body], and the sizing is very generous indeed. On the 2nd run I cut out a whole size smaller than I would expect, it's much better. I had trouble with getting the waist seams to match up the first time too, I think the pieces may have stretched in handling...
11/13/12 11:09 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Burda 7828 Dress, top
photo
Review by textilis on 3/22/09
Read Review

Vogue 1239 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20 )
Vogue 1239 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20 )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 4424 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )
McCalls 4424 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )

Details
Price: $11.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 510C Tunic
photo
Review by Ghainskom on 1/25/10
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Sea Breeze Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -6 years )
Peek-A Boo Sea Breeze Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -6 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Salme Pussy Bow Blouse Digital Pattern
Salme Pussy Bow Blouse Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

HANDBAG CONSTRUCTION - A CD Book By Kenneth King
HANDBAG CONSTRUCTION - A CD Book By Kenneth King

Details
Price: $24.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Islander Sewing Systems Men's City Western Shirt Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Men's City Western Shirt Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us