SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 3098 (Misses' skirts)

11 more reviews
Viewed 1634 times 
Reviewed by:Oziroo
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Oziroostar
NA AUSTRALIA
Member since: 9/7/03
Reviews written: 32
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 6 people
patterns reviewed: 32
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/7/05 7:16 AM
Last Updated:1/7/05 7:21 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 2 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    Suits / Separates    Skirts    
Available for sale on PR: $10.99 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $10.99 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
jlg said...
Nice looking skirt. I keep meaning to try this pattern. I have no hints for wrinkling fabric beyond underlining which I would think would help some, but who wants to underline a linen? The point is coolness. I'm curious to see what others would say.
1/7/05 8:21 AM
cindyann said...
So glad you reviewed this skirt. I was looking at this pattern yesterday. The drawing does seem to indicate that it is wider at the bottom than the finished skirts is. That's great as that was why I hesitated to get the pattern. Since the pockets do not gape, my thoughts would be that it's just the nature of linen.
1/7/05 9:01 AM
Gigi Louis said...
One of my favorite skirt patterns! Yours turned out great. I think it's probably difficult to avoid the pocket rippling with stretch wovens. You might try making a pocket stay that goes from one side seam to the other, one piece across the tummy. But, again, with a stretch woven you might find that it will pull from the back if you do that. I always omit the pockets since I like to wear my tops out anyway.
1/7/05 9:54 AM
PVA said...
Thanks for the review -- your skirt looks like you achieved a great fit! I think when we work with linen or a linen blend we just have to let linen be linen. So we let the wrinkles happen unless we decide not to do any sitting at all! (LOL) As was pointed out, what's the point of using linen if you then have to underline?!? I am going to try this pattern in denim, one of my favorite fabrics, & just let denim be denim. (8^D)
1/7/05 10:49 AM
Katharine in BXL said...
Oziroo, I always look forward to your reviews. You turn out such quality stuff, and this is no exception. The linen blend is perfect for summer, an comfy with a Lycra blend. Good color choice too--light denim blue is so versatile. We must be tuned in now because I just finished my knee-length version this week... but my photo editor is on the blink, so review is pending.
1/7/05 1:20 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
I really like your sharp looking skirt. It is a great color and is very flattering on you. Thanks for the review. Linen is supposed to be wrinkled. Wrinkles are almost always airbrushed out of photos.
1/7/05 6:16 PM
Oziroo said...
Thanks for the helpful comments everyone. Maybe I will try the pocket stay when I do this style of pocket with a non stretch fabric. You make a very good point, Gigi, about omitting the pockets - I am quite certainly going to be wearing tops over the skirt and am not going to put anything in the pockets! I think I wanted to do them mainly out of curiosity.
1/8/05 4:38 AM
Sew it seams said...
Your skirt is so cute. I bought this pattern quite a while ago, but have yet to try it. I'm going to pull it out today. Thanks for the warning on the pockets. I like the detail of the topstitched pockets, so maybe a "faux pocket" with the same detail would work. I ahve many customers who have me stitch their pockets closed on RTW for just the same reason.
2/10/05 11:39 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Vogue Patterns 8323

photo
by: CMae

Review
Simplicity 1945

photo
by: Lynnelle

Review
SewBaby Hug-Me Bibs Pattern

SewBaby Hug-Me Bibs Pattern

Buy Now
Petite Plus 603 Pattern

Petite Plus 603 Pattern

Buy Now