SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 3187 (Men Jackets)

3 more reviews
Viewed 1434 times 
Reviewed by:Cornelia
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Corneliastar
OH USA
Member since: 2/21/04
Reviews written: 10
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 8
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/7/05 9:51 AM
Last Updated:1/7/05 9:51 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 6 people   
See other patterns in this category: Mens - Jackets    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Mary Stiefer said...
Wow - great looking jacket. Love the fact that you altered it to fit the need. Hmmm - I never heard of pit zips. Did you come up with that? What a great idea for a biker in that, of course, they do sweat a lot when working hard.
1/7/05 10:46 AM
Cornelia said...
I didn't know about any of this either. I knew my younger son had a lot of zippers in his outerwear, but that's all. Pit zips are really easy, just an in seam zipper running from mid tricept to midriff. Thumb loops, elastic attached to the cuff to fit over the thumbs make them easy to unzip without dismounting.
1/7/05 10:58 AM
Lorna C. Newman said...
Wonderful jacket and very pro looking ... MEC eat your heart out! I bet he loves biking in this!
1/7/05 4:37 PM
edube said...
Wow, what an impressive project! Great job.
1/7/05 11:24 PM
Karla Kizer said...
Cornelia, you did a great job. And thank you for the visual aid on the pit zip; I had no idea that such a thing was either necessary or available, but now I'm thinking about the relevance to middle-age hot flashes....could work! And about your wish that KS would come out with a techy pattern with assorted pockets: great idea. Really great. If you go to the KS website, you can write to them with the idea. I like to think that my request for a men's flat-front pants pattern was the inspiration for the one they came out with a few catalogs later. They listen!
1/8/05 6:35 AM
Cornelia said...
You all make me feel good. Karla, I think I will contact KS. The black jacket lives not far from their headquarters. And yes, the hot flash solution should work. One advantage, it's a "gear" thing not an "old lady" thing. You can also use a mesh underlay to stabilize horizontal chest vents. My understanding is that the shock cord in the hem is there so the hem can be loosened for ventilation.
1/8/05 7:57 AM
mag said...
What lucky sons! I like what you did with the pattern. Exceptional jackets.
1/8/05 9:23 AM
Hilary said...
You did a fantastic job on both jackets-very impressive!! thanks for such a great review :o)
10/4/09 8:07 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Kwik Sew 3343

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
8 1/2 inch LEFTY Dressmaking Shears

8 1/2 inch LEFTY Dressmaking Shears

Buy Now
Perfect Pouches

Perfect Pouches

Buy Now