Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Kwik Sew: 3187 (Men Jackets) - Type:Mens    printable version
Viewed 1432 times 3 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 6 people   
Reviewed by:Cornelia
photo
Friend of PR
About Corneliastar
OH USA
Member since: 2/21/04
Reviews written: 10
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 8
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/7/05 9:51 AM
Last Updated:1/7/05 9:51 AM


See other patterns in this category: Mens - Jackets    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Mary Stiefer said...
Wow - great looking jacket. Love the fact that you altered it to fit the need. Hmmm - I never heard of pit zips. Did you come up with that? What a great idea for a biker in that, of course, they do sweat a lot when working hard.
1/7/05 10:46 AM
Cornelia said...
I didn't know about any of this either. I knew my younger son had a lot of zippers in his outerwear, but that's all. Pit zips are really easy, just an in seam zipper running from mid tricept to midriff. Thumb loops, elastic attached to the cuff to fit over the thumbs make them easy to unzip without dismounting.
1/7/05 10:58 AM
Lorna C. Newman said...
Wonderful jacket and very pro looking ... MEC eat your heart out! I bet he loves biking in this!
1/7/05 4:37 PM
edube said...
Wow, what an impressive project! Great job.
1/7/05 11:24 PM
Karla Kizer said...
Cornelia, you did a great job. And thank you for the visual aid on the pit zip; I had no idea that such a thing was either necessary or available, but now I'm thinking about the relevance to middle-age hot flashes....could work! And about your wish that KS would come out with a techy pattern with assorted pockets: great idea. Really great. If you go to the KS website, you can write to them with the idea. I like to think that my request for a men's flat-front pants pattern was the inspiration for the one they came out with a few catalogs later. They listen!
1/8/05 6:35 AM
Cornelia said...
You all make me feel good. Karla, I think I will contact KS. The black jacket lives not far from their headquarters. And yes, the hot flash solution should work. One advantage, it's a "gear" thing not an "old lady" thing. You can also use a mesh underlay to stabilize horizontal chest vents. My understanding is that the shock cord in the hem is there so the hem can be loosened for ventilation.
1/8/05 7:57 AM
mag said...
What lucky sons! I like what you did with the pattern. Exceptional jackets.
1/8/05 9:23 AM
Hilary said...
You did a fantastic job on both jackets-very impressive!! thanks for such a great review :o)
10/4/09 8:07 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Simplicity 5465
photo
Review by Sewlovelie... on 12/27/08
Read Review

Megan Nielsen Briar Sweater & T-shirt Digital Pattern
Megan Nielsen Briar Sweater & T-shirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Cake Patterns Red Velvet Dress Digital Pattern
Cake Patterns Red Velvet Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $14.06
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 5006
photo
Review by misscreati... on 10/18/10
Read Review

Sew Liberated Flora Tunic and Twirly Skirt
Sew Liberated Flora Tunic and Twirly Skirt

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl 200mm Glam Purse Pattern
You Sew Girl 200mm Glam Purse Pattern

Details
Price: $40.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3126 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3126 Pattern

Details
Price: $10.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3942 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3942 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us