Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Park Bench patterns: 14 (AUDUBON PARK) - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 1553 times 2 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 14 people   
Reviewed by:Shona
photo
Friend of PR
About Shonastar
BC CANADA
Member since: 11/9/02
Reviews written: 37
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 35
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/7/05 4:17 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
bunz said...
Shona, I tried ONE park bench pattern and was so frustrated that I gave up on that brand. congrats for sticking with it and persevering. The fabric is stunning, but I agree, it could use some taking in.
1/7/05 6:34 PM
Modiste Madness said...
It looks great so at least you were rewarded for your perseverence and problem solving.
1/7/05 7:04 PM
sahmtodaniel said...
Wow - thanks for your very thorough review. I have eyed these patterns for a while, because of the distinctive look, but reading your review makes me very tentative. I would definately only jump in with my eyes wide open! Good for you, for persevering, to get a wearable shirt/jacket out of it. Nice fabric choice too.
1/7/05 7:05 PM
Georgene said...
All your difficulties add up to a 'why bother?' for me. Every review of this line I have read mentions the difficulties and frustrations. Your stick-to-it attitude deserves several gold stars. Its a shame that the pattern does not measure up to your wonderful vision for your fabric.
1/7/05 8:55 PM
JDpenelope said...
Thanks for the Heads Up, in case I were ever to consider this brand. Now I know better.
1/7/05 10:33 PM
BillieJean said...
This review kinda tells me what I need to know about Park Bench patterns.
1/8/05 6:38 AM
Mommo said...
Thank you for your review--I really appreciate knowing "What not to try".
1/8/05 9:49 AM
AnneM said...
Great review. Wonderful fabric, which combined with your hard work makes a nice outfit. I've ruled out this particular pattern line for me based on previous reviews, and this just confirms that. Not right for me!
1/8/05 9:59 AM
JoleneF said...
I have considered this brand after seeing the designer at a Martha Pullen convention, but I just had a gut feeling after hearing her talk about the pattern sizing that I would struggle with them. You and all the others who have reviewed them have reaffirmed that for me. It looks nice and I am glad you were able to finish.
1/8/05 6:14 PM
patsijean said...
As I do not have this pattern, I cannot help you, but I have had great results with Sentinel Peak Park and Woodstock. Here is the link to sizing information. http://www.parkbenchpatterns.com/sizeinfo.php The sizing is based on a size 14, 5'4" woman. One needs to always check flat pattern measurements, laying a simple pattern underneath in order to check. The pattern description says that Audubon Park has a large pleat in back so perhaps you can make the pleat as large as you need to make it. That may be why the pleat seems to small. It may be one of those sizing features she describes. I would prefer the neckline pleat to be a dart. As do you, I have issues with the "one size may fit all" concept. Perhaps the small, medium and large concept would be better so that fitting would be easier. Even a loose fitting garment should fit.
7/22/09 11:39 AM
patsijean said...
One more thing. Wear this top with black pants rather than a matching skirt. Perhaps with the skirt there is too much volume.
7/22/09 12:32 PM
patsijean said...

7/22/09 12:35 PM
patsijean said...

7/22/09 12:36 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Online Sewing Classes
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Other p56
photo
Review by LuceLu on 12/20/07
Read Review

Petite Plus 151 Pattern
Petite Plus 151 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sew Chic Phantom Jacket and Pant Pattern (ln1106)
Sew Chic Phantom Jacket and Pant Pattern (ln1106)

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Hopscotch Skirt, Knit Top & Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )
Oliver + S Hopscotch Skirt, Knit Top & Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Patterns Body Shaper Digital Pattern
Christine Jonson Patterns Body Shaper Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 4647
photo
Review by Sweetiekin... on 2/1/09
Read Review

Burda 9446 Pattern
Burda 9446 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5235 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14 )
Butterick 5235 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $2.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us