Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 4257 (dress w/2 skirts & det. collar) - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 464 times
Review rated Very Helpful by 2 people   
Reviewed by:Cation Designs
photo
About Cation Designs
CA USA
Member since: 4/13/11
Reviews written: 47
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 19 people
patterns reviewed: 47
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/6/12 11:52 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
olybinewski said...
I laughed really hard reading your blog decription. I'm sorry this was such a pain to sew but here's to hoping you get to wear it onstage someday, with an admiring audience a minimum of six feet away!
8/7/12 0:49 AM
NancyAnn2 said...
I am quite certain I made this pattern up in the 1950's! Your blogs are glorious, and you are so creative. I recognized the San Francisco terrain. Lovely dresss, too.
8/7/12 3:10 AM
OlindaM said...
Your blog is so amusing, I would have been so fed up if it were me, so you are really motivating. Despite your reservations I think you have a pretty and v. well well fitting special dress! Well done.
8/7/12 5:10 AM
becca a said...
In the pictures the dress is lovely! I'm sorry the fabric made you suffer so. I think this dress deserves to be sewn in a natural fiber--which would be your reward for suffering through the melting, shredding, off-grain suffering this version put you through.
8/7/12 9:28 AM
grey ann said...
I applaud your creativity. And I like the way you placed the 'algae' across the bodice. It looks so cute in the photo.
8/7/12 10:07 AM
zoe said...
Fun blog! Very cute in the photos, though it does sound like your fabric made you suffer.
8/7/12 10:35 AM
sewin said...
So enjoyed your blog descriptions and your 6 foot dress. I've actually made things that would only pass a 20 foot test. Anyway, I love the colors and fit of this dress. Glad I can't see the imperfections. Nice job.
8/7/12 11:41 AM
miausiau said...
Completely fabulous!!
8/7/12 1:13 PM
Michele Lommasson said...
Your blog is lovely, and quite funny. Of course, I am going to say that the dress looks wonderful in the pics. Great style shots, by the way. Maybe one day the dress will not be quite so hideous to you. You never know.
8/7/12 4:52 PM
pdiddly said...
looks lovely
8/8/12 3:08 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Vogue Patterns 8750 Misses' Skirt
photo
Review by Danvillegi... on 10/3/11
Read Review

DRESS LINES - A CD Book by Kenneth King
DRESS LINES - A CD Book by Kenneth King

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Animal Wrappers Pattern
SewBaby Animal Wrappers Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Liesl + Co. Late lunch tunic Digital Pattern
Liesl + Co. Late lunch tunic Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jamie Christina Pretty Ditty Apron Digital Pattern
Jamie Christina Pretty Ditty Apron Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jalie 2794 Sweetheart Top
photo
Review by kathigarn on 9/27/09
Read Review

Vogue 1355 Pattern ( Size )
Vogue 1355 Pattern ( Size  )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 6970 Pattern
Burda 6970 Pattern

Details
Price: $12.92
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us