Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
No Pattern Used: My Twin Dress Form (My Twin Dress Form) - Type:Crafts    printable version
Viewed 1314 times
Review rated Very Helpful by 7 people   
Reviewed by:sewnotwork
photo
About sewnotworkstar
CO USA
Member since: 7/19/11
Reviews written: 27
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 4 people
patterns reviewed: 24
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/7/12 2:51 PM
Last Updated:10/7/12 3:08 PM
Pattern Size:Petite 


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
33 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Elona said...
Good for you! You will find your double a great help in fitting yourself.
8/15/12 2:42 AM
Loualibar said...
Thankyou for the link. I made one using brown paper tape but it wasn't a big success but this is worth looking at.
8/15/12 7:21 AM
zoe said...
Wow. I've had instructions for this for some time, but haven't ventured to do it yet. What a great form you will have as a sewing aide.
8/15/12 11:37 AM
blue mooney said...
Thank you for reviewing this process! Looking forward to the rest.
8/16/12 7:42 AM
dimiko said...
Wow, I've been debating whether to buy a dress form or try to make one. I'll have to look into this, thanks for the post!
8/16/12 11:37 AM
miausiau said...
Somewhere I read a review of this process and the gal involved passed out while wearing the plaster.
8/16/12 2:23 PM
sewnotwork said...
Yes I remember. Definitely not for people who have a tendency toward claustrophia or anxiety. Felt very confining at the end. Test your scissors on extra plaster. Ours could cut through six layers. The cast was cut partway up while the upper chest and neck were still setting up. So that helped.
8/16/12 3:09 PM
SavageCoco said...
Good luck! Little too House of Wax for me!
8/16/12 5:39 PM
lynne1nor said...
This is quite exciting! Glad to see your new dress form is going to be perfect for you. What a helpful hubby you have!
8/17/12 4:21 PM
Morisot said...
How did it work out?
8/22/12 7:34 PM
sewnotwork said...
I'm still working on it. Almost done. More pictures to come!
8/22/12 7:51 PM
PattyE said...
Interesting...do you cover it with something to make it pinnable?
8/23/12 6:33 PM
sewnotwork said...
It is pinnable and will be covered with rib knit. Go to mytwindressforms.com and it will show exactly what it looks like.
8/23/12 7:03 PM
Athene said...
Congratulations on making such a great dress form for yourself.
8/25/12 0:06 AM
Morisot said...
That looks great! Congratulations.
8/25/12 10:53 AM
miausiau said...
Lucky you on that IV pole, that will make a great clothes hanger if it doesn't work for the form (it should).
8/28/12 9:46 PM
Loualibar said...
Thankyou for posting the process and your helpful hints. It's been very intersting.
8/30/12 5:04 PM
Mary Gillette said...
Thanks so much for posting! That was a fascinating read and the video was interesting too.
9/2/12 7:32 AM
Susi said...
this looks great and thank you for reviewing it here. I have the instructions at home for about a year now. I was waiting until I lost those extra few pounds and kept on adjusting my commercial dressform. I can't make it any smaller now and it's already too big so I eventually have to make one of these!
9/5/12 1:06 PM
sewnotwork said...
@Susi good for you! Nice thing about this form is if you lose more weight you can trim it down too. My mom saw it and said why didn't you make the bust higher? I just said it is what I am. Oh well, can't make me a perky 40 something that I'm not.
9/5/12 9:21 PM
Elona said...
You did a beautiful job and your description of the process is the best I've ever seen. The thing I like best about this type of dressform is that it works for non-standard figures, reproducing shapes that an OTC dressform cannot, like unusual shoulder width or slope, and very slim hips like yours (lucky you!).
10/7/12 3:17 PM
sewnotwork said...
Thanks for all the encouragement! You all are the reason I wanted to improve my skills by having an actual dress form to work on!
10/7/12 3:34 PM
Clareew said...
Wow, that is amazing. I have bookmarked this for when I do mine - if I do half as well, I will be very pleased.
10/7/12 4:18 PM
gneebee said...
This is wonderful! I'm inspired, but it still seems intimidating to me. I need a dress form and may give it a try.
10/8/12 8:31 AM
prostheticsgirl said...
I'm a resident prosthetist and this is nearly identical to the process we use when making custom molded body jackets and custom thoracolumbar orthosis. For a release agent I would recommend spray silicone. It's much faster and easier to get good coverage with the texture of the plaster. Also water temperature affects how fast your plaster sets off and there are different "speeds" of plaster available. Cold water makes for more working time; using warm or hot water further speeds the process. You may want to start with cool water and then switch to warm toward the end so the plaster starts reacting at about the same time. Also do not wait until it's full set to remove as it becomes quite stiff. Make sure you wear gloves for the entire process. Instead of stitching the mold back together (after cutting to remove from the body), we typically just use a staple gun to tack it in several places. Then apply more plaster bandages for a more accurate and faster closure of the cut sections, plus you won't have stitches to remove later. Polyurethane foam should be mixed in a well ventilated environment as the addition of any water releases cyanide gas (but greatly increases the volume of foam expansion). Wear old clothes during the foam process because it does not wash out (look at my lab coats and you'll understand). I like the half-round Surforms for smoothing the contours and wrap electrical tape around the ends. It's also a good idea to wear leather gloves (I use ladie's gardening gloves) when working with the surforms and foam because I've bloodied my fingers quite a few times without them!
10/8/12 12:07 PM
sewnotwork said...
Thanks for all the tips! What type of silicone spray? Is there are particular brand that is best?
10/9/12 9:06 AM
prostheticsgirl said...
We usually use food grade aersol silicone spray, mostly just due to the quantity we're spraying and to minimize any dangers of exposure for those not wearing respirators
10/9/12 10:19 AM
dimiko said...
Thank you so much for the step by step illustrations. I have been thinking of ordering one of these and your post helped a lot.
10/9/12 3:18 PM
Judy Kski said...
What an amazing undertaking this was. Thanks for explaining and photographing the entire process. It was very interesting to read about.
10/9/12 10:51 PM
dreamdesigner said...
WOW!!!! Thanks so much for all the info! Where did you buy the plaster bandages?
11/23/12 7:36 PM
sewnotwork said...
Purchased bandages from eBay supplier. Sorry don't remember who. I also got some from a surgery center that I work in. They tear off extra when they are making a splint, so I kept the discards. Took months. Still have left overs.
11/24/12 6:40 PM
rossi_c said...
The website is no longer available and I am looking for a kit or used copy of the book and video.
8/25/13 3:49 PM
sewnotwork said...
A commenter on my blog said that she was able to contact someone using this email address info@mytwindressforms.com so give it a try. Good luck!
8/27/13 8:42 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

Butterick 5215
photo
Review by lnwmelon on 8/11/10
Read Review

Oliver S Fairy Tale Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )
Oliver   S Fairy Tale Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Little Gentelman Suit Jacket Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Little Gentelman Suit Jacket Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 3786 Misses Tops
photo
Review by cairncrew on 2/25/11
Read Review

J Stern Designs Women's Tee Pattern
J Stern Designs Women's Tee Pattern

Details
Price: $16.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Bath Puppet Pals Pattern
SewBaby Bath Puppet Pals Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6578 Pattern
New Look 6578 Pattern

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6920 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
McCalls 6920 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us