SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> No Pattern Used> My Twin Dress Form (My Twin Dress Form)

Viewed 1327 times 
Reviewed by:sewnotwork
photo

 
 
About sewnotworkstar
CO USA
Member since: 7/19/11
Reviews written: 28
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 4 people
patterns reviewed: 25
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/7/12 2:51 PM
Last Updated:10/7/12 3:08 PM
Pattern Size:Petite 


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 7 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
33 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Elona said...
Good for you! You will find your double a great help in fitting yourself.
8/15/12 2:42 AM
Loualibar said...
Thankyou for the link. I made one using brown paper tape but it wasn't a big success but this is worth looking at.
8/15/12 7:21 AM
zoe said...
Wow. I've had instructions for this for some time, but haven't ventured to do it yet. What a great form you will have as a sewing aide.
8/15/12 11:37 AM
blue mooney said...
Thank you for reviewing this process! Looking forward to the rest.
8/16/12 7:42 AM
dimiko said...
Wow, I've been debating whether to buy a dress form or try to make one. I'll have to look into this, thanks for the post!
8/16/12 11:37 AM
miausiau said...
Somewhere I read a review of this process and the gal involved passed out while wearing the plaster.
8/16/12 2:23 PM
sewnotwork said...
Yes I remember. Definitely not for people who have a tendency toward claustrophia or anxiety. Felt very confining at the end. Test your scissors on extra plaster. Ours could cut through six layers. The cast was cut partway up while the upper chest and neck were still setting up. So that helped.
8/16/12 3:09 PM
SavageCoco said...
Good luck! Little too House of Wax for me!
8/16/12 5:39 PM
lynne1nor said...
This is quite exciting! Glad to see your new dress form is going to be perfect for you. What a helpful hubby you have!
8/17/12 4:21 PM
Morisot said...
How did it work out?
8/22/12 7:34 PM
sewnotwork said...
I'm still working on it. Almost done. More pictures to come!
8/22/12 7:51 PM
PattyE said...
Interesting...do you cover it with something to make it pinnable?
8/23/12 6:33 PM
sewnotwork said...
It is pinnable and will be covered with rib knit. Go to mytwindressforms.com and it will show exactly what it looks like.
8/23/12 7:03 PM
Athene said...
Congratulations on making such a great dress form for yourself.
8/25/12 0:06 AM
Morisot said...
That looks great! Congratulations.
8/25/12 10:53 AM
miausiau said...
Lucky you on that IV pole, that will make a great clothes hanger if it doesn't work for the form (it should).
8/28/12 9:46 PM
Loualibar said...
Thankyou for posting the process and your helpful hints. It's been very intersting.
8/30/12 5:04 PM
Mary Gillette said...
Thanks so much for posting! That was a fascinating read and the video was interesting too.
9/2/12 7:32 AM
Susi said...
this looks great and thank you for reviewing it here. I have the instructions at home for about a year now. I was waiting until I lost those extra few pounds and kept on adjusting my commercial dressform. I can't make it any smaller now and it's already too big so I eventually have to make one of these!
9/5/12 1:06 PM
sewnotwork said...
@Susi good for you! Nice thing about this form is if you lose more weight you can trim it down too. My mom saw it and said why didn't you make the bust higher? I just said it is what I am. Oh well, can't make me a perky 40 something that I'm not.
9/5/12 9:21 PM
Elona said...
You did a beautiful job and your description of the process is the best I've ever seen. The thing I like best about this type of dressform is that it works for non-standard figures, reproducing shapes that an OTC dressform cannot, like unusual shoulder width or slope, and very slim hips like yours (lucky you!).
10/7/12 3:17 PM
sewnotwork said...
Thanks for all the encouragement! You all are the reason I wanted to improve my skills by having an actual dress form to work on!
10/7/12 3:34 PM
Clareew said...
Wow, that is amazing. I have bookmarked this for when I do mine - if I do half as well, I will be very pleased.
10/7/12 4:18 PM
gneebee said...
This is wonderful! I'm inspired, but it still seems intimidating to me. I need a dress form and may give it a try.
10/8/12 8:31 AM
prostheticsgirl said...
I'm a resident prosthetist and this is nearly identical to the process we use when making custom molded body jackets and custom thoracolumbar orthosis. For a release agent I would recommend spray silicone. It's much faster and easier to get good coverage with the texture of the plaster. Also water temperature affects how fast your plaster sets off and there are different "speeds" of plaster available. Cold water makes for more working time; using warm or hot water further speeds the process. You may want to start with cool water and then switch to warm toward the end so the plaster starts reacting at about the same time. Also do not wait until it's full set to remove as it becomes quite stiff. Make sure you wear gloves for the entire process. Instead of stitching the mold back together (after cutting to remove from the body), we typically just use a staple gun to tack it in several places. Then apply more plaster bandages for a more accurate and faster closure of the cut sections, plus you won't have stitches to remove later. Polyurethane foam should be mixed in a well ventilated environment as the addition of any water releases cyanide gas (but greatly increases the volume of foam expansion). Wear old clothes during the foam process because it does not wash out (look at my lab coats and you'll understand). I like the half-round Surforms for smoothing the contours and wrap electrical tape around the ends. It's also a good idea to wear leather gloves (I use ladie's gardening gloves) when working with the surforms and foam because I've bloodied my fingers quite a few times without them!
10/8/12 12:07 PM
sewnotwork said...
Thanks for all the tips! What type of silicone spray? Is there are particular brand that is best?
10/9/12 9:06 AM
prostheticsgirl said...
We usually use food grade aersol silicone spray, mostly just due to the quantity we're spraying and to minimize any dangers of exposure for those not wearing respirators
10/9/12 10:19 AM
dimiko said...
Thank you so much for the step by step illustrations. I have been thinking of ordering one of these and your post helped a lot.
10/9/12 3:18 PM
Judy Kski said...
What an amazing undertaking this was. Thanks for explaining and photographing the entire process. It was very interesting to read about.
10/9/12 10:51 PM
dreamdesigner said...
WOW!!!! Thanks so much for all the info! Where did you buy the plaster bandages?
11/23/12 7:36 PM
sewnotwork said...
Purchased bandages from eBay supplier. Sorry don't remember who. I also got some from a surgery center that I work in. They tear off extra when they are making a splint, so I kept the discards. Took months. Still have left overs.
11/24/12 6:40 PM
rossi_c said...
The website is no longer available and I am looking for a kit or used copy of the book and video.
8/25/13 3:49 PM
sewnotwork said...
A commenter on my blog said that she was able to contact someone using this email address info@mytwindressforms.com so give it a try. Good luck!
8/27/13 8:42 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Other 1 moroccan pouf

photo
by: loti

Review
Burda 8358

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
Christine Jonson Travel Trio Two

Christine Jonson Travel Trio Two

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Onde Jacket Pattern

Sewing Workshop Onde Jacket Pattern

Buy Now