SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8784 (dress)

15 more reviews
Viewed 546 times 
Reviewed by:Karen Carr
photo

 
 
About Karen Carrstar
UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 8/8/11
Reviews written: 73
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 12 people
patterns reviewed: 73
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/29/12 5:53 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $22.50 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $22.50 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
BillieJean said...
So sorry this didn't work for you. The skirt looks lovely though.
8/29/12 6:29 AM
mollyshark said...
Do you have a serger? If so, a rolled hem on a serger is a spectacular way to do this kind of hem. You'll get addicted. And yes, a lining is difficult on a knit like this since it will never stretch the same as the fabric. You have lots of fabric here. I'll bet it is plenty to reuse for something else!
8/29/12 6:40 AM
marec said...
So sorry this didn't work for you. I notice that this pattern calls for lightweight broadcloth, jersey or linen. I think a woven would work well in this style. Like Molly said, you have lots of fabric you can recycle! :-)
8/29/12 11:07 AM
Ms. McCall said...
It's a shame that it didn't work out as a dress, but that skirt looks fantastic in the photo - I love the bright red, it looks great on you!
8/29/12 11:54 AM
duckbucket said...
Bummer. I have this pattern and was really looking forward to making it up. Thanks for the review.
8/29/12 2:27 PM
shelshel said...
I also had an unpleasant experience with this pattern. Of the twenty or so dresses I have made, it's my only "wadder" so far. I love the color and fabric I used, and the lining looks gorgeous, but somehow it doesn't work. I'm still trying to modify it because there is some potential, just not the way the pattern is designed. Thank you for your thorough review. You will no doubt save people a lot of aggravation.
8/31/12 2:47 PM
autumnnn said...
I think lining with self fabric would have been the way to go with jersey.
4/10/13 11:15 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

BurdaStyle Downloadable 122a

photo
by: Westy85

Review
Sew Liberated Clara Dress Pattern

Sew Liberated Clara Dress Pattern

Buy Now
Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Pareau Style Wrap Dress

Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Pareau Style Wrap Dress

Buy Now