SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8784 (dress)

16 more reviews
Viewed 546 times 
Reviewed by:Karen Carr
photo

 
 
About Karen Carrstar
UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 8/8/11
Reviews written: 73
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 12 people
patterns reviewed: 73
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/29/12 5:53 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $22.50 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $22.50 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
autumnnn said...
I think lining with self fabric would have been the way to go with jersey.
4/10/13 11:15 PM
shelshel said...
I also had an unpleasant experience with this pattern. Of the twenty or so dresses I have made, it's my only "wadder" so far. I love the color and fabric I used, and the lining looks gorgeous, but somehow it doesn't work. I'm still trying to modify it because there is some potential, just not the way the pattern is designed. Thank you for your thorough review. You will no doubt save people a lot of aggravation.
8/31/12 2:47 PM
duckbucket said...
Bummer. I have this pattern and was really looking forward to making it up. Thanks for the review.
8/29/12 2:27 PM
Ms. McCall said...
It's a shame that it didn't work out as a dress, but that skirt looks fantastic in the photo - I love the bright red, it looks great on you!
8/29/12 11:54 AM
marec said...
So sorry this didn't work for you. I notice that this pattern calls for lightweight broadcloth, jersey or linen. I think a woven would work well in this style. Like Molly said, you have lots of fabric you can recycle! :-)
8/29/12 11:07 AM
mollyshark said...
Do you have a serger? If so, a rolled hem on a serger is a spectacular way to do this kind of hem. You'll get addicted. And yes, a lining is difficult on a knit like this since it will never stretch the same as the fabric. You have lots of fabric here. I'll bet it is plenty to reuse for something else!
8/29/12 6:40 AM
BillieJean said...
So sorry this didn't work for you. The skirt looks lovely though.
8/29/12 6:29 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Class Details

Online Class
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Class Details

Vogue Patterns 8280

photo
by: LOST_kitty...

Review
McCall's 6331

photo
by: mskellytay...

Review
Favorite Things Mama Mia Pattern

Favorite Things Mama Mia Pattern

More Info
Petite Plus 202 Pattern

Petite Plus 202 Pattern

More Info