Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 8784 (dress) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 517 times 11 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
Reviewed by:Karen Carr
photo
About Karen Carrstar
UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 8/8/11
Reviews written: 61
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 8 people
patterns reviewed: 61
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/29/12 5:53 AM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $22.50 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $22.50     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
BillieJean said...
So sorry this didn't work for you. The skirt looks lovely though.
8/29/12 6:29 AM
mollyshark said...
Do you have a serger? If so, a rolled hem on a serger is a spectacular way to do this kind of hem. You'll get addicted. And yes, a lining is difficult on a knit like this since it will never stretch the same as the fabric. You have lots of fabric here. I'll bet it is plenty to reuse for something else!
8/29/12 6:40 AM
marec said...
So sorry this didn't work for you. I notice that this pattern calls for lightweight broadcloth, jersey or linen. I think a woven would work well in this style. Like Molly said, you have lots of fabric you can recycle! :-)
8/29/12 11:07 AM
Ms. McCall said...
It's a shame that it didn't work out as a dress, but that skirt looks fantastic in the photo - I love the bright red, it looks great on you!
8/29/12 11:54 AM
duckbucket said...
Bummer. I have this pattern and was really looking forward to making it up. Thanks for the review.
8/29/12 2:27 PM
shelshel said...
I also had an unpleasant experience with this pattern. Of the twenty or so dresses I have made, it's my only "wadder" so far. I love the color and fabric I used, and the lining looks gorgeous, but somehow it doesn't work. I'm still trying to modify it because there is some potential, just not the way the pattern is designed. Thank you for your thorough review. You will no doubt save people a lot of aggravation.
8/31/12 2:47 PM
autumnnn said...
I think lining with self fabric would have been the way to go with jersey.
4/10/13 11:15 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Burda 7808 Dress
photo
Review by dove29 on 10/18/11
Read Review

SewBaby Easy Pieces Jumper Pattern
SewBaby Easy Pieces Jumper Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop West End Top & Pants
Sewing Workshop West End Top & Pants

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Angela Osborn Marion Skirt Digital Pattern (SS11-12-201)
Angela Osborn Marion Skirt Digital Pattern (SS11-12-201)

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Lily Bird Studio Lily's Dress Digital Pattern
Lily Bird Studio Lily's Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.90
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6655
photo
Review by JennyAnne on 7/5/09
Read Review

Simplicity 1715 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Simplicity 1715 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8980 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Vogue 8980 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $22.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us