SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Pamela's Patterns> The Perfect Tank Top (The Perfect Tank Top)

1 more reviews
Viewed 352 times 
Reviewed by:Renren
photo

 
 
About Renrenstarstarstarstar
Member since: 7/20/05
Reviews written: 228
Favored by: 40 people
patterns reviewed: 219
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/17/12 8:00 PM
Last Updated:8/17/12 8:27 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 5 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
sewing for fun said...
I, too, to play with my Pamelas tank for fit and found it too gapey at the front. After trial and error, I used the front facing for the next size down and also stabilized the front top edge seam to keep it from stretching and gaping. I had also planned the raised/curved neckline... but not tried yet. I found they run large, too, and had to go down a size from the stated measurements.
8/17/12 11:15 PM
cocosloft said...
You are so brave to sew a tank top! I appreciate your tips and that you are getting the kinks out of this pattern...so I can do one too. Love that you are using a recycled tshirt!
8/18/12 8:25 AM
AndreaSews said...
Thank you for the great review. I have yet to try this pattern, but it's on 'my list'. I am wondering if this was sewn in a knit with a more springy recovery than a cotton tee-shirt fabric, perhaps you would like the fit a little better? Like you, I am not crazy about darting a knit.
8/18/12 8:44 AM
Shae C said...
I have three of Pamela's patterns(including this one) and love them. I consider myself an advanced beginner. They do run large, especially compared to sizing in most other patterns. I wear a 16 RTW and have found with her tops I have to cut a medium grading to a large for the waist and hip.
8/18/12 9:12 AM
Michele Lommasson said...
Thanks for a fabulous review. I guess this pattern is as good a jumping off point as any. I don't think many tank top patterns ever really fit anyone perfectly right off the bat. You were wise to recycle for your first attempt. Love the little skirt!
8/18/12 1:20 PM
marec said...
Fab review renren. I appreciate the work that went into this little tank and hope you continue to fine tune the fit.
8/18/12 4:11 PM
Julia C said...
Very helpful review. I make a 42 upper bust/44 tummy in Ottobre Woman tees. That size range corresponds pretty closely to a small upper bodice/med body in Pamela's Perfect tee for me.
8/18/12 8:42 PM
cerulean said...
Great review, Ren! It's always good to hear about your efforts when fitting patterns like this! It could be a great top if it worked out better.
8/24/12 11:23 PM
Margaret said...
Looks like it would be a cute top, if the fit can be worked out. Some Kwik Sews use gathering/easing into the side seams instead of darts, and I wonder if that would help on this pattern, if it seems to need more shaping there to stop the gapping (though it doesn't sound like it needs more width....)
8/29/12 5:02 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Butterick 5682

photo
by: thestitche...

Review

Pattern

You Sew Girl Beach Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl Beach Bag Pattern

Buy Now
Favorite Things Prairie Girl Pattern

Favorite Things Prairie Girl Pattern

Buy Now