SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Pamela's Patterns> The Perfect Tank Top (The Perfect Tank Top)

1 more reviews
Viewed 355 times 
Reviewed by:Renren
photo

 
 
About Renrenstarstarstarstar
Member since: 7/20/05
Reviews written: 228
Favored by: 40 people
patterns reviewed: 219
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/17/12 8:00 PM
Last Updated:8/17/12 8:27 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 5 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
sewing for fun said...
I, too, to play with my Pamelas tank for fit and found it too gapey at the front. After trial and error, I used the front facing for the next size down and also stabilized the front top edge seam to keep it from stretching and gaping. I had also planned the raised/curved neckline... but not tried yet. I found they run large, too, and had to go down a size from the stated measurements.
8/17/12 11:15 PM
cocosloft said...
You are so brave to sew a tank top! I appreciate your tips and that you are getting the kinks out of this pattern...so I can do one too. Love that you are using a recycled tshirt!
8/18/12 8:25 AM
AndreaSews said...
Thank you for the great review. I have yet to try this pattern, but it's on 'my list'. I am wondering if this was sewn in a knit with a more springy recovery than a cotton tee-shirt fabric, perhaps you would like the fit a little better? Like you, I am not crazy about darting a knit.
8/18/12 8:44 AM
Shae C said...
I have three of Pamela's patterns(including this one) and love them. I consider myself an advanced beginner. They do run large, especially compared to sizing in most other patterns. I wear a 16 RTW and have found with her tops I have to cut a medium grading to a large for the waist and hip.
8/18/12 9:12 AM
Michele Lommasson said...
Thanks for a fabulous review. I guess this pattern is as good a jumping off point as any. I don't think many tank top patterns ever really fit anyone perfectly right off the bat. You were wise to recycle for your first attempt. Love the little skirt!
8/18/12 1:20 PM
marec said...
Fab review renren. I appreciate the work that went into this little tank and hope you continue to fine tune the fit.
8/18/12 4:11 PM
Julia C said...
Very helpful review. I make a 42 upper bust/44 tummy in Ottobre Woman tees. That size range corresponds pretty closely to a small upper bodice/med body in Pamela's Perfect tee for me.
8/18/12 8:42 PM
cerulean said...
Great review, Ren! It's always good to hear about your efforts when fitting patterns like this! It could be a great top if it worked out better.
8/24/12 11:23 PM
Margaret said...
Looks like it would be a cute top, if the fit can be worked out. Some Kwik Sews use gathering/easing into the side seams instead of darts, and I wonder if that would help on this pattern, if it seems to need more shaping there to stop the gapping (though it doesn't sound like it needs more width....)
8/29/12 5:02 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Vogue Patterns 8667

photo
by: Pamaro

Review
Islander Sewing Systems Renaissance Cape Pattern Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Renaissance Cape Pattern Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby Easy Pieces Pants Pattern

SewBaby Easy Pieces Pants Pattern

Buy Now
Butterick 5679

photo
by: stitchywit...

Review