Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Pamela's Patterns: The Perfect Tank Top (The Perfect Tank Top) - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 336 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 5 people   
Reviewed by:Renren
photo
About Renrenstarstarstarstar
Member since: 7/20/05
Reviews written: 228
Favored by: 38 people
patterns reviewed: 219
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/17/12 8:00 PM
Last Updated:8/17/12 8:27 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
sewing for fun said...
I, too, to play with my Pamelas tank for fit and found it too gapey at the front. After trial and error, I used the front facing for the next size down and also stabilized the front top edge seam to keep it from stretching and gaping. I had also planned the raised/curved neckline... but not tried yet. I found they run large, too, and had to go down a size from the stated measurements.
8/17/12 11:15 PM
cocosloft said...
You are so brave to sew a tank top! I appreciate your tips and that you are getting the kinks out of this pattern...so I can do one too. Love that you are using a recycled tshirt!
8/18/12 8:25 AM
AndreaSews said...
Thank you for the great review. I have yet to try this pattern, but it's on 'my list'. I am wondering if this was sewn in a knit with a more springy recovery than a cotton tee-shirt fabric, perhaps you would like the fit a little better? Like you, I am not crazy about darting a knit.
8/18/12 8:44 AM
Shae C said...
I have three of Pamela's patterns(including this one) and love them. I consider myself an advanced beginner. They do run large, especially compared to sizing in most other patterns. I wear a 16 RTW and have found with her tops I have to cut a medium grading to a large for the waist and hip.
8/18/12 9:12 AM
Michele Lommasson said...
Thanks for a fabulous review. I guess this pattern is as good a jumping off point as any. I don't think many tank top patterns ever really fit anyone perfectly right off the bat. You were wise to recycle for your first attempt. Love the little skirt!
8/18/12 1:20 PM
marec said...
Fab review renren. I appreciate the work that went into this little tank and hope you continue to fine tune the fit.
8/18/12 4:11 PM
Julia C said...
Very helpful review. I make a 42 upper bust/44 tummy in Ottobre Woman tees. That size range corresponds pretty closely to a small upper bodice/med body in Pamela's Perfect tee for me.
8/18/12 8:42 PM
cerulean said...
Great review, Ren! It's always good to hear about your efforts when fitting patterns like this! It could be a great top if it worked out better.
8/24/12 11:23 PM
Margaret said...
Looks like it would be a cute top, if the fit can be worked out. Some Kwik Sews use gathering/easing into the side seams instead of darts, and I wonder if that would help on this pattern, if it seems to need more shaping there to stop the gapping (though it doesn't sound like it needs more width....)
8/29/12 5:02 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Vogue Patterns 8751 Misses' Pants
photo
Review by sewmytime on 9/22/11
Read Review

MariaDenmark Audrey Dress Digital Pattern ( Sized For C-Cup Bust )
MariaDenmark Audrey Dress Digital Pattern ( Sized For C-Cup Bust )

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Bubble Dress Digital Pattern( Size 2T-5 )
Oliver + S Bubble Dress Digital Pattern( Size 2T-5 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Loes Hinse Designs 1003
photo
Review by Nancywin on 9/23/12
Read Review

Favorite Things A Wallet Purse Pattern
Favorite Things A Wallet Purse Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things Uptown Coat Pattern
Favorite Things Uptown Coat Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 4009 Pattern
Kwik Sew 4009 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 4406 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )
Butterick 4406 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us