SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Bernina
Bernina

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1247 (Misses' Top and Skirt)

118 more reviews
Viewed 476 times 
Reviewed by:miausiau
photo

 
 
About miausiaustarstar
Member since: 4/13/11
Reviews: 107 (patterns: 90)
Skill level:Advanced
Favored by: 12 people
more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2011
Posted on:8/18/12 2:51 PM
Last Updated:8/18/12 4:51 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    Skirts    
Available for sale on PR: $30.00 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $30.00 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
a life in stitches said... (8/20/12 9:23 AM) Reply
I like the cuffs. The cut edge of the sleeve pieces is an odd angle in relation to the straight grain, and I don't think other options (hem/cuff extension/cuff cut on straight grain) would work well. Using cotton lawn - easier to handle than your fabric! - the bias cuff, with a holding stitch at underarm sits well.
kias2 said... (8/19/12 11:30 AM) Reply
Having just finished this top myself, I agree about the bias on the sleeve. I don't really understand why the pattern included this. Apart from that I think it is a great design and actually looks harder to make than it is. Yours is (as well as all the other reviewers) proof of this.
cleverkitty said... (8/19/12 9:28 AM) Reply
Your right it looks great with jeans, I hear you in regards to this pattern. Making it myself it's good/not good, you just need to run the show... In the end I was optimistic.
cocosloft said... (8/19/12 7:55 AM) Reply
Great review!
lamstu said... (8/18/12 11:52 PM) Reply
I am pondering this top myself, and every viewpoint informs. As you say, it's an expensive toile, but good way to test a new pattern.
sewtime said... (8/18/12 10:24 PM) Reply
I just finished this top (did not post it) like yours more! Very cute.
renren said... (8/18/12 7:04 PM) Reply
I like the way you sew and I like the way you write about sewing. You move through both worlds (sewing and writing) with a precision and exactitude that makes me believe you are an expert. This review of the 1247 is another fine example.
Elona said... (8/18/12 4:40 PM) Reply
Luxe but relaxed and indeed smashing with your jeans. Very pretty!
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
All About Buttons and Buttonholes
All About Buttons and Buttonholes

Class Details

Online Class
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Class Details

Simplicity 2584

photo
by: Jstarr4250

Review
McCall's 5138

photo
by: maubranben

Review
Favorite Things An Everyday Bag Pattern

Favorite Things An Everyday Bag Pattern

Pattern Details
Victoria Jones Collection Pattern 205

Victoria Jones Collection Pattern 205

Pattern Details