SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> StyleArc> Sandra Narrow Leg Jean (Sandra Narrow Leg Jean)

10 more reviews
Viewed 957 times 
Reviewed by:Dilliander
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Dillianderstarstarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 11/28/08
Reviews written: 98
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 90 people
patterns reviewed: 95
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/19/12 3:01 AM
Last Updated:8/19/12 3:18 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 25 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
37 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
MNBarb said...
I missed this review. You have a perfect fitting pair of jeans. I don't see the need for the flat seat adjustment. I can't imagine what would make these look better on you. I'm so envious. You can have them in every color!
9/12/12 7:07 PM
brissie71 said...
Oh, Wow! These are fantastic! Definitely better than RTW.
8/22/12 11:36 PM
Dilliander said...
Thanks mClones, Ann Rowley has a great Flikr photo tutorial on flat seat adjustment, you can see the photos at www.flickr.com/photos/7370831@N07/424123159/in/set-72157600004811376/ I've used this very successfully in the past. The other method I use is to pinch out the excess from seam to seam with a deeper pleat at CB tapering to side seam or extending around to front. This method works best where the pants are too long in the trunk as well as too curvy in the seat. Hope that helps :)
8/21/12 6:58 PM
sewing addict said...
Your jeans look great and the fit and workmanship are just perfect. I have just put that pattern on my order list.
8/21/12 1:39 PM
Lynmarie said...
These jeans look amazing on you, what fantastic workmanship ....love the pockets. Thanks for your review.
8/21/12 8:31 AM
Michele Lommasson said...
Such great looking pair of jeans. Your attention to detail is wonderful.
8/20/12 10:53 AM
Michele Lommasson said...
Such great looking pair of jeans. Your attention to detail is wonderful.
8/20/12 10:51 AM
Michele Lommasson said...
Such great looking pair of jeans. Your attention to detail is wonderful.
8/20/12 10:51 AM
Michele Lommasson said...
Such great looking pair of jeans. Your attention to detail is wonderful.
8/20/12 10:51 AM
becca a said...
Very cute jeans. They fit you perfectly. I like your pocket stitching.
8/20/12 9:12 AM
JEF said...
Wow, these are just perfect on you.
8/20/12 8:41 AM
Woolygal said...
You have these "right on".
8/20/12 7:28 AM
mClones said...
What a great job. They look fantastic. Do you have a link to a flat butt adjustment?
8/20/12 7:17 AM
VivianZ said...
Great fitting jeans. I have never heard of a buttonhole service. Great idea.
8/20/12 7:17 AM
velosewer said...
Great jeans Sandra. The back pockets are always the favourite step in making jeans and your are really cool.
8/20/12 6:03 AM
ChristmasHills said...
I love your jeans. Just beautiful. And you look so long legged and elegant in them.
8/20/12 2:08 AM
Vellela said...
Amazing jeans...I wouldnt normally consider making my own jeans but seeing yours has inspired me!
8/20/12 0:16 AM
Amanda.Claire said...
Beautiful jeans! I just got back from a jeans fitting class with J. Stern. I love your details.
8/19/12 9:36 PM
clotheshorse said...
Great job, very nice fit!
8/19/12 8:36 PM
Dilliander said...
Thanks Longbloades, I drew the pocket design freehand on paper then used Burda dressmakers carbon tracing paper to transfer the pocket design to the denim, reversing it for the opposite pocket. I don't own an embroidery machine (although I have seen some nice pockets made this way) and not being a quilter have never used the free motion foot. I just choose designs that can be stitched with a standard straight stitch and regular foot. The heavier stitching is simply a tripple stitch.
8/19/12 6:22 PM
Dilliander said...
Thanks for the lovely comments. Khurl I didn't have any difficulties using the upholstery thread (with regular thread in the bobbin) and find it is a better choice than topstitching thread (which is thicker than upholstery thread). However it is important to use a suitable needle with sharp point & large hole. I used a Bernina 130N 100/16. Some machines also require you to adjust the tension. This was a discussion topic in the jeans sew-along a few years ago (when I started making jeans) and the thread is still archived under Message Board Sew-alongs. Hope you can get it to work as topstitching is so much fun when it goes well... and so frustrating when it doesn't!
8/19/12 6:13 PM
Schnauzer said...
These jeans are fabulous! Such beautiful work. Time for promotion to advanced level!
8/19/12 5:49 PM
Skye said...
Great looking jeans - envious of the lovely fit
8/19/12 4:52 PM
starryfish said...
That settles it, I'm going to to put up with paying the postage and order these jeans. They've got just the fit I'm looking for. Yours look great.
8/19/12 2:33 PM
Knitz said...
Glad to see these reviewed -- nice fit, good looking jeans!
8/19/12 2:23 PM
mhoutz said...
What a great pair of jeans! That pattern's on my wish list...
8/19/12 1:15 PM
lcdrbetty said...
WOW! These jeans are fab! Fit is great & topstitching awesome...
8/19/12 1:01 PM
LynnRowe said...
Seriously??! You made those? Ok, I'll add this pattern to my next SA order. Those are fantastic, well done!!!
8/19/12 12:00 PM
mrsbewley said...
Fabulous jeans! You've convinced me to order this pattern!
8/19/12 9:43 AM
RadarRadiance said...
Great fit on these, beautiful workmanship and top stitching.
8/19/12 9:38 AM
Longblades said...
VEry nice. Like that they are non-stretch denim. Hard to find these days, here anyway. Good job reversing the pattern on the pockets. Do you have an embroidery machine to do that? Or are you really good at free motion?
8/19/12 9:19 AM
Sigrid. said...
Very good jeans, cute topstitching for the back pocket.
8/19/12 7:06 AM
Sharonspils said...
Fantastic jeans and love the back pocket design.
8/19/12 6:30 AM
khurl said...
Really nice jeans! Good fit, too. How did your machine do with the upholstery thread - any trouble?
8/19/12 6:16 AM
lyndle said...
Lovely! Love your pockets too. Great idea to use a buttonhole service. My buttonholes suck, so i should chek that idea out. These are very cute jeans!
8/19/12 4:14 AM
dragon10 said...
They are fantastic. The fit is great and your topstitching is impressive.
8/19/12 3:43 AM
ArtAttack said...
Super cute jeans and great fit!
8/19/12 3:35 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Fishsticks Designs Undercover Boxer Briefs

photo
by: galadriel4...

Review
Victory Hazel Paper Pattern

Victory Hazel Paper Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Deja Vu Wrap Pattern

Sewing Workshop Deja Vu Wrap Pattern

Buy Now