Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
StyleArc: Sandra Narrow Leg Jean (Sandra Narrow Leg Jean) thumbsup - Type:Pants    printable version
Viewed 900 times 9 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 25 people   
Reviewed by:Dilliander
photo
Friend of PR
About Dillianderstarstarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 11/28/08
Reviews written: 89
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 80 people
patterns reviewed: 86
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/19/12 3:01 AM
Last Updated:8/19/12 3:18 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
37 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
ArtAttack said...
Super cute jeans and great fit!
8/19/12 3:35 AM
dragon10 said...
They are fantastic. The fit is great and your topstitching is impressive.
8/19/12 3:43 AM
lyndle said...
Lovely! Love your pockets too. Great idea to use a buttonhole service. My buttonholes suck, so i should chek that idea out. These are very cute jeans!
8/19/12 4:14 AM
khurl said...
Really nice jeans! Good fit, too. How did your machine do with the upholstery thread - any trouble?
8/19/12 6:16 AM
Sharonspils said...
Fantastic jeans and love the back pocket design.
8/19/12 6:30 AM
Sigrid. said...
Very good jeans, cute topstitching for the back pocket.
8/19/12 7:06 AM
Longblades said...
VEry nice. Like that they are non-stretch denim. Hard to find these days, here anyway. Good job reversing the pattern on the pockets. Do you have an embroidery machine to do that? Or are you really good at free motion?
8/19/12 9:19 AM
RadarRadiance said...
Great fit on these, beautiful workmanship and top stitching.
8/19/12 9:38 AM
mrsbewley said...
Fabulous jeans! You've convinced me to order this pattern!
8/19/12 9:43 AM
LynnRowe said...
Seriously??! You made those? Ok, I'll add this pattern to my next SA order. Those are fantastic, well done!!!
8/19/12 12:00 PM
lcdrbetty said...
WOW! These jeans are fab! Fit is great & topstitching awesome...
8/19/12 1:01 PM
mhoutz said...
What a great pair of jeans! That pattern's on my wish list...
8/19/12 1:15 PM
Knitz said...
Glad to see these reviewed -- nice fit, good looking jeans!
8/19/12 2:23 PM
starryfish said...
That settles it, I'm going to to put up with paying the postage and order these jeans. They've got just the fit I'm looking for. Yours look great.
8/19/12 2:33 PM
Skye said...
Great looking jeans - envious of the lovely fit
8/19/12 4:52 PM
Schnauzer said...
These jeans are fabulous! Such beautiful work. Time for promotion to advanced level!
8/19/12 5:49 PM
Dilliander said...
Thanks for the lovely comments. Khurl I didn't have any difficulties using the upholstery thread (with regular thread in the bobbin) and find it is a better choice than topstitching thread (which is thicker than upholstery thread). However it is important to use a suitable needle with sharp point & large hole. I used a Bernina 130N 100/16. Some machines also require you to adjust the tension. This was a discussion topic in the jeans sew-along a few years ago (when I started making jeans) and the thread is still archived under Message Board Sew-alongs. Hope you can get it to work as topstitching is so much fun when it goes well... and so frustrating when it doesn't!
8/19/12 6:13 PM
Dilliander said...
Thanks Longbloades, I drew the pocket design freehand on paper then used Burda dressmakers carbon tracing paper to transfer the pocket design to the denim, reversing it for the opposite pocket. I don't own an embroidery machine (although I have seen some nice pockets made this way) and not being a quilter have never used the free motion foot. I just choose designs that can be stitched with a standard straight stitch and regular foot. The heavier stitching is simply a tripple stitch.
8/19/12 6:22 PM
clotheshorse said...
Great job, very nice fit!
8/19/12 8:36 PM
Amanda.Claire said...
Beautiful jeans! I just got back from a jeans fitting class with J. Stern. I love your details.
8/19/12 9:36 PM
Vellela said...
Amazing jeans...I wouldnt normally consider making my own jeans but seeing yours has inspired me!
8/20/12 0:16 AM
ChristmasHills said...
I love your jeans. Just beautiful. And you look so long legged and elegant in them.
8/20/12 2:08 AM
velosewer said...
Great jeans Sandra. The back pockets are always the favourite step in making jeans and your are really cool.
8/20/12 6:03 AM
VivianZ said...
Great fitting jeans. I have never heard of a buttonhole service. Great idea.
8/20/12 7:17 AM
mClones said...
What a great job. They look fantastic. Do you have a link to a flat butt adjustment?
8/20/12 7:17 AM
Woolygal said...
You have these "right on".
8/20/12 7:28 AM
JEF said...
Wow, these are just perfect on you.
8/20/12 8:41 AM
becca a said...
Very cute jeans. They fit you perfectly. I like your pocket stitching.
8/20/12 9:12 AM
Michele Lommasson said...
Such great looking pair of jeans. Your attention to detail is wonderful.
8/20/12 10:51 AM
Michele Lommasson said...
Such great looking pair of jeans. Your attention to detail is wonderful.
8/20/12 10:51 AM
Michele Lommasson said...
Such great looking pair of jeans. Your attention to detail is wonderful.
8/20/12 10:51 AM
Michele Lommasson said...
Such great looking pair of jeans. Your attention to detail is wonderful.
8/20/12 10:53 AM
Lynmarie said...
These jeans look amazing on you, what fantastic workmanship ....love the pockets. Thanks for your review.
8/21/12 8:31 AM
sewing addict said...
Your jeans look great and the fit and workmanship are just perfect. I have just put that pattern on my order list.
8/21/12 1:39 PM
Dilliander said...
Thanks mClones, Ann Rowley has a great Flikr photo tutorial on flat seat adjustment, you can see the photos at www.flickr.com/photos/7370831@N07/424123159/in/set-72157600004811376/ I've used this very successfully in the past. The other method I use is to pinch out the excess from seam to seam with a deeper pleat at CB tapering to side seam or extending around to front. This method works best where the pants are too long in the trunk as well as too curvy in the seat. Hope that helps :)
8/21/12 6:58 PM
brissie71 said...
Oh, Wow! These are fantastic! Definitely better than RTW.
8/22/12 11:36 PM
MNBarb said...
I missed this review. You have a perfect fitting pair of jeans. I don't see the need for the flat seat adjustment. I can't imagine what would make these look better on you. I'm so envious. You can have them in every color!
9/12/12 7:07 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Simplicity 2852
photo
Review by graysquirr... on 5/4/09
Read Review

You Sew Girl Kids Beret Pattern
You Sew Girl Kids Beret Pattern

Details
Price: $15.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sew Liberated Woodlands Shirt
Sew Liberated Woodlands Shirt

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kimono Tee
Kimono Tee

Details
Price: $9.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Salme Peplum Skirt Digital Pattern
Salme Peplum Skirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Magazine 12-2009-112
photo
Review by Catherine ... on 2/3/10
Read Review

New Look 6072 Pattern ( Size 10-12-14-16-18-20-22 )
New Look 6072 Pattern ( Size 10-12-14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1497 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )
Simplicity 1497 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us