SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5567 (Misses' Jacket)

1 more reviews
Viewed 458 times 
Reviewed by:GoodbyeValntino
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About GoodbyeValntinostarstarstarstar
SC USA
Member since: 9/18/11
Reviews written: 112
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 135 people
patterns reviewed: 108
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/22/12 11:43 AM
Last Updated:8/22/12 1:43 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Jstarr4250 said...
I so understand your frustration, as I had a parallel experience myself this week. Sometimes the pattern drawings are just not to scale and the end result does not turn out as depicted no matter how much you try and tweak it. That's one of the things I love about this website...photos of finished projects on real people. Now when I see that a pattern is reviewed by many people and gets lots of positive comments, I realize that it's for a good reason...it's a great pattern to begin with! Instead of feeling like I'm being a copycat, I'll sew the pattern with confidence and personalize it with my fabric selection.
8/22/12 1:52 PM
GoodbyeValntino said...
I agree! This pattern had only one review which was a vest so I thought I'd try it since the pattern was in my stash. I've said I'm not buying anymore patterns that are illustrated rather than photographed on a model and I am sticking to it!
8/22/12 2:03 PM
CissieW said...
Nothing looks "terrible" on you! But I understand your dissatisfaction. Live and learn -- and on to the next project! I have also taken that pledge not to buy a pattern unless a real, live person is modeling it!
8/22/12 2:12 PM
JTink said...
Well, I for one think this looks great on you. The color is wonderful and the fit is lovely.
8/22/12 3:03 PM
GoodbyeValntino said...
JTink, I appreciate this comment! I do love the color as well!
8/22/12 3:10 PM
SewWil said...
I feel your pain! We've all been there. The color looks great on you. You have an amazing track record for your nearly one year of sewing so please don't let this discourage you. Glad you learned something from this project.
8/22/12 4:23 PM
ArtAttack said...
Live and learn...or make that sew and learn! I do like the color...:)
8/22/12 4:58 PM
zoe said...
Great colour ; you are right that it could use more shape; but I have to agree with Cissie; nothing looks terrible on you.
8/22/12 9:33 PM
SavageCoco said...
Been there. Time for cocktails. No jacket required.
8/23/12 1:27 AM
Fran G said...
Your blog review for this jacket is hysterical!! Your husband made very tactful comments and I LOVE the little "joke" comment between you and your husband! SavageCoco's comment was perfect!!!!!! On to your next project!
8/23/12 8:04 AM
materialgirl1950 said...
Thanks for the photo. Your comments to your husband is so funny. I have this pattern and I had no doubts about how it will turn out. I think I'll pass on this one.
8/23/12 12:00 PM
norie creates said...
I love your husband's comment...your body deserves better. I wish my husband could be this tactful! Too bad it didn't work out but you did choose a wonderful color : )
8/26/12 10:45 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

McCall's 6320

photo
by: Serene802

Review
SewBaby More Blankie Buddies pattern Pattern

SewBaby More Blankie Buddies pattern Pattern

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Fitted Jacket

Christine Jonson Fitted Jacket

Buy Now
Vogue Patterns 8597

photo
by: Gatorbunny

Review