SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1158 (Misses' Dress)

2 more reviews
Viewed 411 times 
Reviewed by:thesewinglab
photo

 
 
About thesewinglabstar
AZ USA
Member since: 6/8/12
Reviews written: 21
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 5 people
patterns reviewed: 18
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/22/12 2:20 PM
Last Updated:8/22/12 2:23 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
miausiau said...
As a rule I avoid under bust pleating...it is never flattering for me. I was looking at that pattern yesterday as Vogue is on sale in a few places, but I spotted trouble in that one area...thanks for showing us all the other problem areas!
8/23/12 1:10 PM
pdiddly said...
what a shame you dont like it - good luck with the re-vamp
8/23/12 3:33 AM
arianamaniacs said...
That's too bad, I have this on my list too. Thanks for the helpful review! I don't think it looks like a prison dress though, I love grey
8/23/12 2:36 AM
SavageCoco said...
Carry a flashlight and wear it as "Evenink Vear" while doing a bed check at the asylum.
8/23/12 0:58 AM
PattyE said...
Hmmm, sorry this one did not work out for you. I admire your 'forging ahead' attitude to make something else out of it. I look forward to seeing that review.
8/22/12 9:46 PM
zoe said...
Don't you hate when that happens! The pattern cover photo makes the dress look so cute: but you are so right about those armholes and the breast pleats. I recently had a pattern with similar odd pleats at the breast area with a similar, unflattering to me, effect. There was nothing I could do with them. Those darn UFOs.
8/22/12 9:29 PM
margk said...
Great review, Thanks! What a pity it didn't work after all the effort.
8/22/12 9:01 PM
Elona said...
Funny review on your blog! That comment about the non-lift effect those little under-bust pleats have is something the designers should take into account (after they wipe up the coffee they spat onto the screen upon reading your assessment).
8/22/12 6:52 PM
ArtAttack said...
Sorry about your disaster but at least you could recover the skirt for another project. Thanks for the heads up!
8/22/12 4:56 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Class Details

Online Class
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Class Details

Fusible Interfacing DVD

Fusible Interfacing DVD

More Info
Sew Chic Pretty Petticoat Pattern (ln1208)

Sew Chic Pretty Petticoat Pattern (ln1208)

More Info