SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Bernina
Bernina

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1158 (Misses' Dress)

2 more reviews
Viewed 417 times 
Reviewed by:thesewinglab
photo

 
 
About thesewinglabstar
AZ USA
Member since: 6/8/12
Reviews: 21 (patterns: 18)
Skill level:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 6 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/22/12 2:20 PM
Last Updated:8/22/12 2:23 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
miausiau said... (8/23/12 1:10 PM) Reply
As a rule I avoid under bust pleating...it is never flattering for me. I was looking at that pattern yesterday as Vogue is on sale in a few places, but I spotted trouble in that one area...thanks for showing us all the other problem areas!
pdiddly said... (8/23/12 3:33 AM) Reply
what a shame you dont like it - good luck with the re-vamp
arianamaniacs said... (8/23/12 2:36 AM) Reply
That's too bad, I have this on my list too. Thanks for the helpful review! I don't think it looks like a prison dress though, I love grey
SavageCoco said... (8/23/12 0:58 AM) Reply
Carry a flashlight and wear it as "Evenink Vear" while doing a bed check at the asylum.
PattyE said... (8/22/12 9:46 PM) Reply
Hmmm, sorry this one did not work out for you. I admire your 'forging ahead' attitude to make something else out of it. I look forward to seeing that review.
zoe said... (8/22/12 9:29 PM) Reply
Don't you hate when that happens! The pattern cover photo makes the dress look so cute: but you are so right about those armholes and the breast pleats. I recently had a pattern with similar odd pleats at the breast area with a similar, unflattering to me, effect. There was nothing I could do with them. Those darn UFOs.
margk said... (8/22/12 9:01 PM) Reply
Great review, Thanks! What a pity it didn't work after all the effort.
Elona said... (8/22/12 6:52 PM) Reply
Funny review on your blog! That comment about the non-lift effect those little under-bust pleats have is something the designers should take into account (after they wipe up the coffee they spat onto the screen upon reading your assessment).
ArtAttack said... (8/22/12 4:56 PM) Reply
Sorry about your disaster but at least you could recover the skirt for another project. Thanks for the heads up!
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Class Details

Online Class
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Class Details

Kwik Sew 3683

photo
by: mauve clou...

Review
You Sew Girl 100mm Shell Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 100mm Shell Purse Pattern

Pattern Details
You Sew Girl Kids Beret Pattern

You Sew Girl Kids Beret Pattern

Pattern Details