SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 4074 (Misses Top)

2 more reviews
Viewed 1100 times 
Reviewed by:Tailypo
photo

 
 
About Tailypostarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/6/03
Reviews written: 82
Favored by: 68 people
patterns reviewed: 64
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/11/05 6:30 PM
Last Updated:1/12/05 2:08 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 1 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Jollyholly said...
You said you intended to modify this pattern for a full bust, and I am wondering how you would go about doing that. I just bought this pattern (I'm going to cut a size 16) and also need to adjust for my "nursing form", but because of the gathers under the breast I am confused on how to do the adjustments. This will be my second try making something for myself. I bought my first pattern (Simplicity 4823) based on my bust size and cut a size 18 and it turned out huge everywhere else! My high bust is 38 and bust is 41. Any help GREATLY appreciated!!!
9/12/05 11:22 AM
Marie-Claude said...
I've just bought this pattern and I was curious about what others thought of it. Thanks for the great review, it's sooooo funny, even though... I know it's not ;-) I've been there too and yes, eventually we get past it... Good luck!
6/29/05 5:45 AM
MariaDenmark said...
I know how you feel. Been there.. got past that... eventually :-)
The insert sleeve is not my favorite thing in the world, either. First time I tried it was with a Butterick pattern, too, and it didn't really get right. I've tried it since in other patterns. You should be able to find a website that shows you how to do it.. Oops I just saw someone gave you some links. (edited) But what you do is, on the sleeve cap (the "high" part of the sleeve" you sew two rows of long basting stitches with loose tension. Then you pull the bobbin thread in both ends so the sleeve gathers in "wrinkels". You then play with the amount of pull until you can get the sleeve to fit the armhole... Or you could try to rip up the side seams and set the sleeve in flat... From the drawings it looks like it could be done... Great and funny review. Hope you work it out!
1/12/05 3:40 PM
KathleenS said...
Great review! I sympathise with you about the set-in sleeves - that is my sewing weakness. It certainly doesn't sound or look like the pattern is Very Easy.
1/12/05 3:01 PM
Aarvic said...
I'm having fitting issues, which is why I sew mainly for dd (who'll be 7 tomorrow!). A couple of years ago I made a dress that was sleeveless, had a self-lined bodice and an overskirt which I made from an embroidered netting. While pressing I managed to melt the netting at the zipper. It was just a little so I redid that area and took a little more of the netting at the seam. UGH.
1/12/05 2:36 PM
Irene Q said...
This is bringing back so many memories! Believe me, we've all been through this. On a V-neck yes, you're supposed to snip the seam allowance just to the seamline so that it turns correctly. But when in doubt, don't cut! Better to have a little wrinkle than a rip. Or better yet, post a note and let us help you. As for the shrinking, melting fabric - I think I do that every time I iron a synthetic. Next time, try 100% cotton and you'll be amazed at how much easier it handles. Good luck!!!!
1/12/05 9:24 AM
SewingSusan said...
We've all been there. I enjoy your reviews so because I can relate! Keep at it, I'll bet there's a cute blouse coming yet.
1/12/05 7:01 AM
Nancy Anne said...
I absolutely love your reviews- they are so animated! If I were there with you I could've helped you with the parts you were struggling with. It sounds like, per your sleeve being smaller than the hole to put it in, maybe something shifted when you cut the pattern, because the sleeve should've been bigger. I could go on, and won't, but trust me, it won't always be this hard.
1/12/05 6:49 AM
MaryLynn in Long Beach said...
Oh, you poor baby. It's so hard to learn some of this stuff when patterns lack help. Ease this time means to put in some gathers so the bigger sleeve fits into the armhole. Yes, the sleeve was larger. Go here for a discussion of the traditional way to ease in a sleeve http://www.cahe.nmsu.edu/pubs/_c/C-211.html then go here for a tip on how to do the ease stitching more easily http://sewing.patternreview.com/cgi-bin/review/readreview.pl?readreview=1&ID=111
1/11/05 7:51 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Understanding Wool Fabrics
Understanding Wool Fabrics

Register

Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Simplicity 3786

photo
by: Pinkytoo

Review
Sew Liberated Reading Pillow

Sew Liberated Reading Pillow

Buy Now
J Stern Designs Misses Jeans Pattern

J Stern Designs Misses Jeans Pattern

Buy Now