Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: 4074 (Misses Top) - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 1099 times 2 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 1 people   
Reviewed by:Tailypo
photo
About Tailypostarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/6/03
Reviews written: 79
Favored by: 65 people
patterns reviewed: 61
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/11/05 6:30 PM
Last Updated:1/12/05 2:08 PM
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
MaryLynn in Long Beach said...
Oh, you poor baby. It's so hard to learn some of this stuff when patterns lack help. Ease this time means to put in some gathers so the bigger sleeve fits into the armhole. Yes, the sleeve was larger. Go here for a discussion of the traditional way to ease in a sleeve http://www.cahe.nmsu.edu/pubs/_c/C-211.html then go here for a tip on how to do the ease stitching more easily http://sewing.patternreview.com/cgi-bin/review/readreview.pl?readreview=1&ID=111
1/11/05 7:51 PM
Nancy Anne said...
I absolutely love your reviews- they are so animated! If I were there with you I could've helped you with the parts you were struggling with. It sounds like, per your sleeve being smaller than the hole to put it in, maybe something shifted when you cut the pattern, because the sleeve should've been bigger. I could go on, and won't, but trust me, it won't always be this hard.
1/12/05 6:49 AM
SewingSusan said...
We've all been there. I enjoy your reviews so because I can relate! Keep at it, I'll bet there's a cute blouse coming yet.
1/12/05 7:01 AM
Irene Q said...
This is bringing back so many memories! Believe me, we've all been through this. On a V-neck yes, you're supposed to snip the seam allowance just to the seamline so that it turns correctly. But when in doubt, don't cut! Better to have a little wrinkle than a rip. Or better yet, post a note and let us help you. As for the shrinking, melting fabric - I think I do that every time I iron a synthetic. Next time, try 100% cotton and you'll be amazed at how much easier it handles. Good luck!!!!
1/12/05 9:24 AM
Aarvic said...
I'm having fitting issues, which is why I sew mainly for dd (who'll be 7 tomorrow!). A couple of years ago I made a dress that was sleeveless, had a self-lined bodice and an overskirt which I made from an embroidered netting. While pressing I managed to melt the netting at the zipper. It was just a little so I redid that area and took a little more of the netting at the seam. UGH.
1/12/05 2:36 PM
KathleenS said...
Great review! I sympathise with you about the set-in sleeves - that is my sewing weakness. It certainly doesn't sound or look like the pattern is Very Easy.
1/12/05 3:01 PM
MariaDenmark said...
I know how you feel. Been there.. got past that... eventually :-)
The insert sleeve is not my favorite thing in the world, either. First time I tried it was with a Butterick pattern, too, and it didn't really get right. I've tried it since in other patterns. You should be able to find a website that shows you how to do it.. Oops I just saw someone gave you some links. (edited) But what you do is, on the sleeve cap (the "high" part of the sleeve" you sew two rows of long basting stitches with loose tension. Then you pull the bobbin thread in both ends so the sleeve gathers in "wrinkels". You then play with the amount of pull until you can get the sleeve to fit the armhole... Or you could try to rip up the side seams and set the sleeve in flat... From the drawings it looks like it could be done... Great and funny review. Hope you work it out!
1/12/05 3:40 PM
Marie-Claude said...
I've just bought this pattern and I was curious about what others thought of it. Thanks for the great review, it's sooooo funny, even though... I know it's not ;-) I've been there too and yes, eventually we get past it... Good luck!
6/29/05 5:45 AM
Jollyholly said...
You said you intended to modify this pattern for a full bust, and I am wondering how you would go about doing that. I just bought this pattern (I'm going to cut a size 16) and also need to adjust for my "nursing form", but because of the gathers under the breast I am confused on how to do the adjustments. This will be my second try making something for myself. I bought my first pattern (Simplicity 4823) based on my bust size and cut a size 18 and it turned out huge everywhere else! My high bust is 38 and bust is 41. Any help GREATLY appreciated!!!
9/12/05 11:22 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $34.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

Vogue Patterns 7975
photo
Review by sunnysewer on 2/23/14
Read Review

Sewing Workshop Equinox Jacket Pattern
Sewing Workshop Equinox Jacket Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Easy Coat
Christine Jonson Easy Coat

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Salme Loose Fitting Pleated T-shirt Digital Pattern
Salme Loose Fitting Pleated T-shirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Pattern Runway Coffee Date Dress Digital Pattern
Pattern Runway Coffee Date Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $11.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 8889 Men's Shirt
photo
Review by Wendy Part... on 9/18/13
Read Review

Vogue 1314 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Vogue 1314 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $32.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 3219 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )
McCalls 3219 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us