Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 1314 (Misses' Dress) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 1806 times 50 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 40 people   
Reviewed by:chenille
photo
Friend of PR
About chenillestar
AK
Member since: 7/4/11
Reviews written: 57
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 18 people
patterns reviewed: 57
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2013
Posted on:8/23/12 2:47 AM
Last Updated:8/23/12 2:53 AM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $32.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $32.00     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
48 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Athene said...
Great review and photos. Your pose is fantastic. I am interested in this pattern and if I purchase it and make it up I will be sure to refer to your very helpful review and photos. You look fabulous in this dress. Thank you.
8/23/12 3:14 AM
chenille said...
Thanks! You know I did try to get on the windowsill, but I didn't fit.
8/23/12 3:20 AM
Rebecca D said...
Thanks for the helpful photos and good tip on the pleating.
8/23/12 6:32 AM
Sew4Fun said...
Great dress and super helpful review. Thanks!
8/23/12 7:13 AM
Marnie D said...
Thanks for such a fantastic review. I intend to buy this pattern and it will be very helpful. Your pose made me laugh. Thanks
8/23/12 7:31 AM
no7262 said...
Love it! Nora :)
8/23/12 7:49 AM
canei said...
Very nice....love the pose!!!!
8/23/12 8:05 AM
Deepika said...
What a great idea to pleat. I have some RtW dresses which have pleats. I also have the Janome ruffler foot but it doesn't work on knits. Using fusible tricot is a great tip. I'm going to have to try this. Thank you!!! Oh and I love the pose
8/23/12 8:39 AM
marthamyers said...
Love the pose! And the dress is great too. How clever of you to notice the pleats in RTW. I would not have thought of that. Your dress looks fabulous on you.
8/23/12 8:57 AM
AuntieShel said...
Beautiful dress!!
8/23/12 9:02 AM
Carolyn.S said...
Your dress is very beautiful, and your pose is priceless!!! I loved it!
8/23/12 9:12 AM
ArtAttack said...
Great dress and review. Super tip to pleat rather than gather. I must pick up this pattern on the next Vogue sale. Thanks for the great review!
8/23/12 9:58 AM
marec said...
A+ (sorry, in a hurry to get to jury duty)
8/23/12 10:00 AM
sunnysewer said...
Clever innovation and your dress looks great. But the pose is genius. I think everyone should copy the Vogue poses this season, I hope you have started a trend.
8/23/12 10:54 AM
zuzu_petal said...
That pic made my morning! Thanks, too, for the brilliant tip.
8/23/12 11:25 AM
GoSewGirl said...
Wonderful review with lots of good tips. And I love your photo.
8/23/12 11:41 AM
Judy Kski said...
I guess you have to be in a New York highrise to strike that pose....
8/23/12 12:27 PM
Judy Kski said...
Sorry! I didn't appear to take the first time.
8/23/12 12:27 PM
chenille said...
So glad that you liked the pleating tip. I am sewing on a Janome 3160 QDC and using the Janome ruffler. With the solvy - I could even do gathering every stitch. I agree that we should all do the Vogue poses in our reviews - fun!
8/23/12 12:38 PM
Levone said...
Gorgeous dress and great review! The pose is priceless, LOL.
8/23/12 2:26 PM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
"This was a straight size 6"... ;D :'( Sew cute!!
8/23/12 5:06 PM
Sarah Sewing said...
Love the dress and fabric choice, your pose is perfect!
8/23/12 5:41 PM
Jrhee said...
Awesome dress and hilarious pose!
8/23/12 9:23 PM
MNBarb said...
Funny, when I saw this dress I wondered if I might see you in a review of it. Now many women look this great in a very fitted knit dress. How nice of you to include all of the details you've worked out. Love the pose (what is with these odd poses? How about the woman who looks like she is sitting on the toilet?). Fun, fun!
8/23/12 9:38 PM
1SewSweet said...
Cute, cute, cute! What a perfect dress on you! Awesome pose! Vogue needs to hire you!
8/24/12 5:31 AM
sfshaza said...
lol. Love the pose! And the dress is very nice but that pose caught my attention. :)
8/24/12 6:51 AM
Fran G said...
Wonderful review..great idea/tip about using the usible before pleating and a good alternative to gathering. But I loved your pose the best!!!!! Too funny!
8/24/12 8:21 AM
cleverkitty said...
Your so funny I just love your pose! great review beautiful dress on you as always.
8/24/12 9:14 AM
couturemom said...
Whoever shot the photos for the fall Vogue must have been bored with regular shots. Unfortunately they make it very hard to discern the styling elements of the patterns, not to mention the poses are ridiculous for a high rise office window.
8/24/12 9:16 AM
JOshiro said...
Awesome review and even awesomer pic! Thanks for the laugh! I have a ruffler, although I never used it for anything beyond samples. Maybe this will be the dress for it?!
8/24/12 10:00 AM
karen n said...
Now that I've seen the pattern photo I finally get it! That's funny!
8/24/12 3:11 PM
SewPrincess said...
Great dress! And you're giving the model a run for her money with that pose! :)
8/24/12 5:55 PM
QuikSew said...
Fabulous job!! The dress is stunning on you, and the creativity is quite motivating. I need to follow your lead and spend more time analyzing RTW.
8/26/12 7:36 AM
Sue Parrott said...
How fun, I love how you copied the model's photo! Great idea on the use of the ruffler.
8/26/12 9:42 AM
DOMESTICATEDMENNONITE said...
You look so happy! :-)
8/28/12 8:43 AM
slee said...
Great review! Love your dress and your Vogue pose! LOL
8/28/12 9:49 AM
Paris75008 said...
What a great photo and great review. I love your dress. I bought this pattern and I'm planning on making it soon. Your tip for using a ruffler is pure gold, thank you so much. Now I just have to go out and buy a ruffler foot...
8/28/12 6:48 PM
allycovey said...
What great tips, adn the pose ...WONDERFUL.... I have this pattern on the way I can't wait to make it now.
8/31/12 4:33 PM
wordchick said...
This looks wonderful on you! The fabric is beautiful...love it!!! Thanks for the detailed pics in your gallery...very helpful!
9/1/12 6:35 AM
sewcool21 said...
Great revew! I love the pic!
9/1/12 9:01 PM
BeckyNoSleep said...
Thanks for the laugh, I needed it today! Great dress, too.
9/12/12 3:43 PM
jenleeC said...
Thanks so much for this detailed review and your pics on the gathering/ruffling process. I have just ordered this pattern to make for my DD and will refer to your review.
10/23/12 0:17 AM
evelynhughes said...
Thank you for taking the time to create this review. Now I know to add a bit of length the the dress to fit my 6ft body. LOVE the pic by the way!
10/30/12 10:20 PM
Susan J. said...
Thanks for your comprehensive review. I am wondering what you used for your lining fabric. Thanks.
11/3/12 9:02 PM
Susan J. said...
Thanks for your comprehensive review. I am wondering what you used for your lining fabric. Thanks.
11/3/12 9:02 PM
chenille said...
Susan, I used a knit tricot fabric that I think I got from Joanne's. It looks like a fine mesh and does have some lycra in it.
11/7/12 7:15 PM
SewWil said...
How did I miss this?!!! Your dress is beautiful. Great review. Thanks.
3/7/13 10:08 PM
Sew Good said...
Thank you! This was an excellent review. Your tips will help me a lot.
10/16/13 0:59 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Burda 7738
photo
Review by HawkeMorni... on 2/16/12
Read Review

Oliver + S Hopscotch Skirt, Knit Top & Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )
Oliver + S Hopscotch Skirt, Knit Top & Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Music Box Jumper Digital Pattern (Size 5-12)
Oliver + S Music Box Jumper Digital Pattern (Size 5-12)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewaholic Patterns 1204 Alma
photo
Review by starryfish on 3/20/13
Read Review

Jamie Christina Sunny Day Dress and Skirt Pattern (JC308SD)
Jamie Christina Sunny Day Dress and Skirt Pattern (JC308SD)

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sew Chic Clara Bow Apron Pattern (ln102)
Sew Chic Clara Bow Apron Pattern (ln102)

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 4686 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20 )
Butterick 4686 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20 )

Details
Price: $15.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7308 Pattern
Burda 7308 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us