Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
New Look: 6643 (Misses Dresses) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 693 times 18 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 3 people   
Reviewed by:prostheticsgirl
photo
About prostheticsgirlstar
OH USA
Member since: 3/6/12
Reviews written: 16
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 8 people
patterns reviewed: 16
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/8/12 10:21 PM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $4.49 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $4.49     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
61sew4fun said...
Love the scalloped neckline. Lovely dress and great fit. Enjoy wearing it!
9/8/12 11:14 PM
Lhan said...
This is the most elegant dress I have seen in a long time - or perhaps it's you. Whichever, the two of you go together awfully well. You obviously have very high standards of sewing, and it shows. Enjoy the uses you put it to, and train up the hubby while you are at it. Not that the photos are all that bad!
9/9/12 0:07 AM
Jrhee said...
Beautiful LBD!
9/9/12 1:10 AM
TalyQ said...
Love the neckline and it looks so beautiful on you.
9/9/12 2:02 AM
Scheri said...
Beautiful just beautiful. You look fantastic this dress
9/9/12 3:20 AM
QuiltSewSewSue said...
Fabulous dress! Great job!
9/9/12 3:57 AM
BillieJean said...
Beautiful dress and a great review.
9/9/12 6:35 AM
margy.64 said...
Love the scalloped neckline. This dress is very flattering on you.
9/9/12 6:56 AM
NJcowgirl said...
I love the fabric. You fit it beautifully.
9/9/12 10:19 AM
KamiSue2 said...
Wow!
9/9/12 12:20 PM
PattyE said...
What a lovely dress!
9/9/12 12:38 PM
1SewSweet said...
Very pretty!
9/9/12 1:53 PM
Jstarr4250 said...
Stunning dress. How clever you are to have added the scalloped the neckline, which elevates this classic dress to another level entirely.
9/9/12 2:48 PM
prostheticsgirl said...
Thank you so much everyone! The photos were actually taken after a long day of wear; officiating an outdoor wedding and then grocery shopping. I did receive 3 compliments from strangers though, which is never a bad thing
9/10/12 9:01 AM
zoe said...
This is so gorgeous! Jeeze; I really do need a paying membership; I almost missed this gorgeous dress of yours!
9/15/12 10:02 PM
clothingengineer said...
Those scallops are beautiful! Great job!
11/16/12 1:53 PM
caper81 said...
Beautiful! Very elegant neckline! I've had this pattern for what seems like *forever*! I think I'm going to take a crack at it, and line it, like you said. I just borrowed Connie Long's Lining book from the library (is that the method you mean by "quick lining"). You always look so polished in your creations :)
3/12/13 8:32 AM
prostheticsgirl said...
Thank you so much caper81! I really should get new pics of this dress; these were taken after officiating an outdoor wedding and grocery shopping, so I feel more windblown than polished! As for lining, there are a couple of ways you could do it. In the past when I've made this, I've just used the same dress pieces for the lining and fused interfacing to the inside of the lining to prevent the neckline from stretching and distorting. I used the Threads technique (http://www.threadsmagazine.com/item/4971/a-shortcut-to-great-linings/) this time due to the scallops. I wanted them to have extra support and ensure there was no lining peaking out given the more complex edges
3/13/13 10:29 AM
sewin said...
Lovely little black dress. Great job.
12/22/13 10:12 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

New Look 6405
photo
Review by slanden99 on 1/24/07
Read Review

Sewing Workshop Sandra Betzina Vest & Skirt Pattern
Sewing Workshop Sandra Betzina Vest & Skirt Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewn Square One Swing Shift Pattern
Sewn Square One Swing Shift Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Patterns Cowl Neck Tunic Digital Pattern
Christine Jonson Patterns Cowl Neck Tunic Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Salme Sundress Digital Pattern
Salme Sundress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew Sewing for Toddlers Book
photo
Review by Trinity. on 10/24/07
Read Review

Simplicity 2188 Pattern( Size XXS-XS-S-M-L-XL-XXL )
Simplicity 2188 Pattern( Size XXS-XS-S-M-L-XL-XXL )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8939 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16-18-20 )
Vogue 8939 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16-18-20 )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us