SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> New Look> 6643 (Misses Dresses)

22 more reviews
Viewed 722 times 
Reviewed by:prostheticsgirl
photo

 
 
About prostheticsgirlstar
OH USA
Member since: 3/6/12
Reviews written: 16
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 8 people
patterns reviewed: 16
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/8/12 10:21 PM




Buy Pattern
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 3 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $4.49 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $4.49 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
sewin said...
Lovely little black dress. Great job.
12/22/13 10:12 PM
prostheticsgirl said...
Thank you so much caper81! I really should get new pics of this dress; these were taken after officiating an outdoor wedding and grocery shopping, so I feel more windblown than polished! As for lining, there are a couple of ways you could do it. In the past when I've made this, I've just used the same dress pieces for the lining and fused interfacing to the inside of the lining to prevent the neckline from stretching and distorting. I used the Threads technique (http://www.threadsmagazine.com/item/4971/a-shortcut-to-great-linings/) this time due to the scallops. I wanted them to have extra support and ensure there was no lining peaking out given the more complex edges
3/13/13 10:29 AM
caper81 said...
Beautiful! Very elegant neckline! I've had this pattern for what seems like *forever*! I think I'm going to take a crack at it, and line it, like you said. I just borrowed Connie Long's Lining book from the library (is that the method you mean by "quick lining"). You always look so polished in your creations :)
3/12/13 8:32 AM
clothingengineer said...
Those scallops are beautiful! Great job!
11/16/12 1:53 PM
zoe said...
This is so gorgeous! Jeeze; I really do need a paying membership; I almost missed this gorgeous dress of yours!
9/15/12 10:02 PM
prostheticsgirl said...
Thank you so much everyone! The photos were actually taken after a long day of wear; officiating an outdoor wedding and then grocery shopping. I did receive 3 compliments from strangers though, which is never a bad thing
9/10/12 9:01 AM
Jstarr4250 said...
Stunning dress. How clever you are to have added the scalloped the neckline, which elevates this classic dress to another level entirely.
9/9/12 2:48 PM
1SewSweet said...
Very pretty!
9/9/12 1:53 PM
PattyE said...
What a lovely dress!
9/9/12 12:38 PM
KamiSue2 said...
Wow!
9/9/12 12:20 PM
NJcowgirl said...
I love the fabric. You fit it beautifully.
9/9/12 10:19 AM
margy.64 said...
Love the scalloped neckline. This dress is very flattering on you.
9/9/12 6:56 AM
BillieJean said...
Beautiful dress and a great review.
9/9/12 6:35 AM
QuiltSewSewSue said...
Fabulous dress! Great job!
9/9/12 3:57 AM
Scheri said...
Beautiful just beautiful. You look fantastic this dress
9/9/12 3:20 AM
TalyQ said...
Love the neckline and it looks so beautiful on you.
9/9/12 2:02 AM
Jrhee said...
Beautiful LBD!
9/9/12 1:10 AM
Lhan said...
This is the most elegant dress I have seen in a long time - or perhaps it's you. Whichever, the two of you go together awfully well. You obviously have very high standards of sewing, and it shows. Enjoy the uses you put it to, and train up the hubby while you are at it. Not that the photos are all that bad!
9/9/12 0:07 AM
61sew4fun said...
Love the scalloped neckline. Lovely dress and great fit. Enjoy wearing it!
9/8/12 11:14 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Class Details

Online Class
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Class Details

McCall's 6278

photo
by: kristy bis...

Review
Vogue Patterns 8844

photo
by: Louweezy23

Review
Petite Plus 603 Pattern

Petite Plus 603 Pattern

More Info
Christine Jonson BaseWear Two - Straight Skirt, Taper Skirt, & Top with Options

Christine Jonson BaseWear Two - Straight Skirt, Taper Skirt, & Top with Options

More Info