SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 7975 (Jacket)

62 more reviews
Viewed 2768 times 
Reviewed by:Nancy Anne
photo

 
 
About Nancy Annestar
TX USA
Member since: 11/26/04
Reviews written: 50
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 8 people
patterns reviewed: 37
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/12/05 10:45 AM
Last Updated:2/11/08 7:54 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 14 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
Available for sale on PR: $20.00 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $20.00 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
27 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Nancy Anne said...
THANK YOU for letting me know that, Katy! What a pain! I don't know how I would manage to do that with all of the photos in my reviews, but at least now I know what the problem is.
2/8/08 3:35 PM
kkkkaty said...
I wasn't able to see the photos, but I got a mesage that said this: "if you would like to link your album from a personal web site or create a custom email message, please follow these instructions: Share the album with yourself, from the "Share Photos" tab, with your own email address in the "To" field. After you receive the share email, copy the URL, or web address, included at the bottom of the email. This web address can be sent to friends or family with a custom email message, or you can use it to add to your personal web site." or presumably to pattern review....
2/8/08 3:11 PM
Nancy Anne said...
Kathi, I have found that as I let it hang it is smelling a lot better. At least it is tolerable now! I did find this on sale at Hancocks, in the upholstry section, of all things. I didn't see any silk markings and I appreciate your heads-up on washing it, as I will definitely have it dry-cleaned now. I have also considered Febreeze, but don't want to damage it. I really appreciate all of the comments! :)
3/13/05 8:31 AM
kathi s said...
Nancy, great review, love your jacket! I think I have the same tweed- I got mine at Hancock's where it was labeled as being raw silk. Mine smelled so bad that I gave up the idea of making something of it straight off and I washed it three times in cold water and liquid detergent. It bled like mad and is now more muted looking but it no longer smells like old caterpillers (I used to work in an entomology lab). It shrank a little, but not as much as I expected. I don't know what your jacket would do if you tried washing it. It is so lovely that perhaps you should just try spraying it down with Chanel # 5!
3/12/05 10:45 PM
drsue said...
Very nice job! this jacket is quite flattering on you.
3/12/05 9:22 PM
amadoofus said...
That jacket looks HOT on you!!
3/12/05 9:00 PM
Gilraen Surion said...
Very Nice, easy to dress up but also for jeans. Lovely colour. You did an amazing job on it.
3/12/05 12:30 PM
tigger said...
Fantastic looking jacket and great review - really a good insight for beginners like me who might be brave enough to try it soon..... :)
3/12/05 12:17 PM
marjenann said...
Great looking jacket. Very wearable with jeans, skirts and dress pants. Love it!
1/14/05 12:41 PM
Skymom said...
What a great-looking jacket--very flattering, and a wonderful job of sewing. Is there a back-neck facing on this? If so (if not, you could easily draft one), you can put the lining in entirely by machine, and save yourself the tedious step of doing the sleeves by hand. Look at the article "Bag Your Jacket LIning" on the Threads website (www.threadsmagazine.com, under "Garment Construction"). It explains in detail how to do the whole thing--you'll be glad once you learn how!
1/13/05 11:53 AM
AnneM said...
Lovely!
1/13/05 8:39 AM
SandraB said...
Very nice jacket Nancy Anne. I love the fabric that you chose and the simplicity of the garment. I wouldn't add a thing to it. I haven't made a lined jacket in years. You have inspired me to do another one now.
1/13/05 8:07 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Your jacket is lovely. Very helpful review. Love the color of the fabric, black lining seems to work okay with it in my opinion.
1/13/05 6:05 AM
Kathy Russell said...
Great review and thank you so much for adding the thread on how to make fringe. It was so detailed and i never can find what i want at the stores.
1/12/05 11:42 PM
Levone said...
Very nice jacket and helpful review.
1/12/05 11:38 PM
CarolynGM said...
Your jacket looks fantastic, and I love the purple tweed. Did you put shoulder pads in yours? The pattern didn't call for them, but I really needed them in mine.
1/12/05 6:07 PM
jlg said...
Beautiful jacket. I love the purple tweed.
1/12/05 4:50 PM
cindyann said...
Very pretty, Nancy Anne! Great fabric.
1/12/05 4:08 PM
MariaDenmark said...
Wow! This is a great jacket! I'm looking forward till when I'm able to sew something like this! And great review!!
1/12/05 3:30 PM
PegL said...
Nancy, this pattern is my next project -- thanks so much for the very thorough review and helpful hints! Your jacket is beautiful as is! It really doesn't need anything else, IMHO.
1/12/05 2:40 PM
Irene said...
Simple and elegant! The fabric speaks for itself, without embellishment. Thanks for a thorough review.
1/12/05 2:11 PM
CatherineN said...
A great, thorough review. All those pics are helpful.
1/12/05 1:59 PM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Ooh, pretty jacket! I bet this would also look great with a zipper closure. Hmmm... off to the sewing room! :) -Ann
1/12/05 1:56 PM
Nancy Anne said...
Okay, I think I have the photos finally made public. Denny, thank you for the compliment. If you do decide to sew this one, be sure to check the other reviews on it, too. They were really helpful to me!
1/12/05 1:37 PM
Denny1600 said...
NancyAnne--I can't see your picture yet, but I really like your review. You ARE very thorough. If I decide to do this jacket, I will have your review at hand. And you are detail oriented, but that will help anyone who wants to sew this pattern. Nice review. I'll come back and look later to see if you got the photo fixed.
1/12/05 12:07 PM
Nancy Anne said...
Hi Ann! AAAAUUUUGGGGHHHH! I will try to fix that when I get back from lunch with a friend.
1/12/05 11:19 AM
GorgeousFabrics said...
NancyAnne, I get a "file inaccessible" message when I try to look at the pictures. :( -Ann
1/12/05 10:59 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Class Details

Online Class
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Class Details

Petite Plus 102 Pattern

Petite Plus 102 Pattern

More Info
You Sew Girl City Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl City Bag Pattern

More Info