Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 7975 (Jacket) thumbsup - Type:Suits / Separates    printable version
Viewed 2764 times 60 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 14 people   
Reviewed by:Nancy Anne
photo
About Nancy Annestar
TX USA
Member since: 11/26/04
Reviews written: 50
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 8 people
patterns reviewed: 37
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/12/05 10:45 AM
Last Updated:2/11/08 7:54 PM


See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
Available for sale on PR: $20.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $20.00     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
27 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
GorgeousFabrics said...
NancyAnne, I get a "file inaccessible" message when I try to look at the pictures. :( -Ann
1/12/05 10:59 AM
Nancy Anne said...
Hi Ann! AAAAUUUUGGGGHHHH! I will try to fix that when I get back from lunch with a friend.
1/12/05 11:19 AM
Denny1600 said...
NancyAnne--I can't see your picture yet, but I really like your review. You ARE very thorough. If I decide to do this jacket, I will have your review at hand. And you are detail oriented, but that will help anyone who wants to sew this pattern. Nice review. I'll come back and look later to see if you got the photo fixed.
1/12/05 12:07 PM
Nancy Anne said...
Okay, I think I have the photos finally made public. Denny, thank you for the compliment. If you do decide to sew this one, be sure to check the other reviews on it, too. They were really helpful to me!
1/12/05 1:37 PM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Ooh, pretty jacket! I bet this would also look great with a zipper closure. Hmmm... off to the sewing room! :) -Ann
1/12/05 1:56 PM
CatherineN said...
A great, thorough review. All those pics are helpful.
1/12/05 1:59 PM
Irene said...
Simple and elegant! The fabric speaks for itself, without embellishment. Thanks for a thorough review.
1/12/05 2:11 PM
PegL said...
Nancy, this pattern is my next project -- thanks so much for the very thorough review and helpful hints! Your jacket is beautiful as is! It really doesn't need anything else, IMHO.
1/12/05 2:40 PM
MariaDenmark said...
Wow! This is a great jacket! I'm looking forward till when I'm able to sew something like this! And great review!!
1/12/05 3:30 PM
cindyann said...
Very pretty, Nancy Anne! Great fabric.
1/12/05 4:08 PM
jlg said...
Beautiful jacket. I love the purple tweed.
1/12/05 4:50 PM
CarolynGM said...
Your jacket looks fantastic, and I love the purple tweed. Did you put shoulder pads in yours? The pattern didn't call for them, but I really needed them in mine.
1/12/05 6:07 PM
Levone said...
Very nice jacket and helpful review.
1/12/05 11:38 PM
Kathy Russell said...
Great review and thank you so much for adding the thread on how to make fringe. It was so detailed and i never can find what i want at the stores.
1/12/05 11:42 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Your jacket is lovely. Very helpful review. Love the color of the fabric, black lining seems to work okay with it in my opinion.
1/13/05 6:05 AM
SandraB said...
Very nice jacket Nancy Anne. I love the fabric that you chose and the simplicity of the garment. I wouldn't add a thing to it. I haven't made a lined jacket in years. You have inspired me to do another one now.
1/13/05 8:07 AM
AnneM said...
Lovely!
1/13/05 8:39 AM
Skymom said...
What a great-looking jacket--very flattering, and a wonderful job of sewing. Is there a back-neck facing on this? If so (if not, you could easily draft one), you can put the lining in entirely by machine, and save yourself the tedious step of doing the sleeves by hand. Look at the article "Bag Your Jacket LIning" on the Threads website (www.threadsmagazine.com, under "Garment Construction"). It explains in detail how to do the whole thing--you'll be glad once you learn how!
1/13/05 11:53 AM
marjenann said...
Great looking jacket. Very wearable with jeans, skirts and dress pants. Love it!
1/14/05 12:41 PM
tigger said...
Fantastic looking jacket and great review - really a good insight for beginners like me who might be brave enough to try it soon..... :)
3/12/05 12:17 PM
Gilraen Surion said...
Very Nice, easy to dress up but also for jeans. Lovely colour. You did an amazing job on it.
3/12/05 12:30 PM
amadoofus said...
That jacket looks HOT on you!!
3/12/05 9:00 PM
drsue said...
Very nice job! this jacket is quite flattering on you.
3/12/05 9:22 PM
kathi s said...
Nancy, great review, love your jacket! I think I have the same tweed- I got mine at Hancock's where it was labeled as being raw silk. Mine smelled so bad that I gave up the idea of making something of it straight off and I washed it three times in cold water and liquid detergent. It bled like mad and is now more muted looking but it no longer smells like old caterpillers (I used to work in an entomology lab). It shrank a little, but not as much as I expected. I don't know what your jacket would do if you tried washing it. It is so lovely that perhaps you should just try spraying it down with Chanel # 5!
3/12/05 10:45 PM
Nancy Anne said...
Kathi, I have found that as I let it hang it is smelling a lot better. At least it is tolerable now! I did find this on sale at Hancocks, in the upholstry section, of all things. I didn't see any silk markings and I appreciate your heads-up on washing it, as I will definitely have it dry-cleaned now. I have also considered Febreeze, but don't want to damage it. I really appreciate all of the comments! :)
3/13/05 8:31 AM
kkkkaty said...
I wasn't able to see the photos, but I got a mesage that said this: "if you would like to link your album from a personal web site or create a custom email message, please follow these instructions: Share the album with yourself, from the "Share Photos" tab, with your own email address in the "To" field. After you receive the share email, copy the URL, or web address, included at the bottom of the email. This web address can be sent to friends or family with a custom email message, or you can use it to add to your personal web site." or presumably to pattern review....
2/8/08 3:11 PM
Nancy Anne said...
THANK YOU for letting me know that, Katy! What a pain! I don't know how I would manage to do that with all of the photos in my reviews, but at least now I know what the problem is.
2/8/08 3:35 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Vogue Patterns 8656
photo
Review by maedchen on 6/5/10
Read Review

Simplicity 1778 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Simplicity 1778 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6702 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )
McCalls 6702 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Ottobre Woman Magazine 02-2013-1
photo
Review by Rustybobn on 7/21/13
Read Review

Oliver + S Sleepover Pajamas Digital Pattern (Size 5-12)
Oliver + S Sleepover Pajamas Digital Pattern (Size 5-12)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Leighanna Peasant Top Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Leighanna Peasant Top Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things Happy Feet Pattern
Favorite Things Happy Feet Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Small Tote Pattern
You Sew Girl Small Tote Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us