SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> New Look> 6294 (easy tops & skirt)

5 more reviews
Viewed 1955 times 
Reviewed by:drsue
photo

 
 
About drsuestarstarstarstar
Member since: 11/11/03
Reviews written: 169
Sewing skills:Beginner
Favored by: 183 people
patterns reviewed: 152
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/12/05 11:24 AM
Last Updated:1/12/05 11:34 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Tops    Skirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Levone said...
Your top looks great! I'm sorry that it didn't work out for you. I also have this pattern, and appreciate your helpful review. It looks like it would make a lovely spring top.
1/12/05 11:42 AM
cindyann said...
I'm sorry that this didn't work out for you. Thanks for the heads up because I was drawn to this pattern. Since we are of similar ages and figures, I always pay close attention to your reviews. It looks great on your dressform though.
1/12/05 11:51 AM
Elemenopeo said...
I think it looks really pretty.
1/12/05 12:23 PM
PhyllisC said...
Oh Sue - it's not that bad really. I like it - the pattern matching on the fabric is very effective and I figured that was your intent even before I read the review. Maybe you'll find a similiar pattern that fits the way you'd like - your design concept is really solid.
1/12/05 12:54 PM
jlg said...
It looks beautiful on the dress form.
1/12/05 1:30 PM
sewsue said...
I made this pattern also and I have to say I wouldn't wear it in public! I too liked the butterfly sleeve design but when I put it on the sleeves seemed to accentuate my D cup bust and my large upper arms and I looked hideous in it! This top ended up in the bin, so I agree with your rating of the pattern. Having said all that, your top looks lovely on the dress form!
1/12/05 3:12 PM
minieme said...
It looks good on the dress form though.
1/12/05 6:28 PM
drsue said...
Thanks for your nice comments. Its a bit better on the dress form than on me, but I think I'd look OK in it in picutres and to a non-sewer. It's just little things: too much ease on the side, gathers under bust a bit too much on the side, empire seam a bit too low, one top side pattern a bit off. Little things but they add up, especially when you know you can do better.
1/12/05 7:00 PM
Kathy Russell said...
The top is stunning, so i was suprised by the review. The fabric is sheer but beautiful with that style top and I'll bet on would look good to us. Nice job on a disappointing project.
1/12/05 11:50 PM
valerie sews said...
drsue, I do like your top even though you found this pattern a disapointment. It'd probably work for you scaled down and made up in a knit fabric..thank you for a helpful review.
1/13/05 4:37 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Sorry this did not work for you. I have yet to attempt empire waist type tops. When I was a member of the IBTC they looked great. Now I am a member of the FBAC and just don't think this will be flattring. Love your fabric though.
1/14/05 5:56 AM
knitknitknit said...
Thanks, Dr. Sue! I always enjoy your thoughtful and intelligent comments. Your comments about Jalie 2005 have cost me a great deal of money, however. I bought the pattern, then had to have some new fabrics to make it in; within a week I had bought a new serger. I have been eyeing this particular pattern for some little while now. Thanks for the heads up about the ties! Jane in MA
2/6/06 1:04 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Other Itty Bitty Boxer Briefs

photo
by: Stacy Sews

Review
Sewing Workshop Quincy Top and Pants

Sewing Workshop Quincy Top and Pants

Buy Now
Paradiso Designs Anna Handbag Pattern

Paradiso Designs Anna Handbag Pattern

Buy Now
Simplicity 5914

photo
by: guineveres...

Review