Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
New Look: 6294 (easy tops & skirt) thumbsup - Type:Coordinates    printable version
Viewed 1955 times 5 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
Reviewed by:drsue
photo
About drsuestarstarstarstar
Member since: 11/11/03
Reviews written: 169
Sewing skills:Beginner
Favored by: 184 people
patterns reviewed: 152
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/12/05 11:24 AM
Last Updated:1/12/05 11:34 AM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Tops    Skirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Levone said...
Your top looks great! I'm sorry that it didn't work out for you. I also have this pattern, and appreciate your helpful review. It looks like it would make a lovely spring top.
1/12/05 11:42 AM
cindyann said...
I'm sorry that this didn't work out for you. Thanks for the heads up because I was drawn to this pattern. Since we are of similar ages and figures, I always pay close attention to your reviews. It looks great on your dressform though.
1/12/05 11:51 AM
Elemenopeo said...
I think it looks really pretty.
1/12/05 12:23 PM
PhyllisC said...
Oh Sue - it's not that bad really. I like it - the pattern matching on the fabric is very effective and I figured that was your intent even before I read the review. Maybe you'll find a similiar pattern that fits the way you'd like - your design concept is really solid.
1/12/05 12:54 PM
jlg said...
It looks beautiful on the dress form.
1/12/05 1:30 PM
sewsue said...
I made this pattern also and I have to say I wouldn't wear it in public! I too liked the butterfly sleeve design but when I put it on the sleeves seemed to accentuate my D cup bust and my large upper arms and I looked hideous in it! This top ended up in the bin, so I agree with your rating of the pattern. Having said all that, your top looks lovely on the dress form!
1/12/05 3:12 PM
minieme said...
It looks good on the dress form though.
1/12/05 6:28 PM
drsue said...
Thanks for your nice comments. Its a bit better on the dress form than on me, but I think I'd look OK in it in picutres and to a non-sewer. It's just little things: too much ease on the side, gathers under bust a bit too much on the side, empire seam a bit too low, one top side pattern a bit off. Little things but they add up, especially when you know you can do better.
1/12/05 7:00 PM
Kathy Russell said...
The top is stunning, so i was suprised by the review. The fabric is sheer but beautiful with that style top and I'll bet on would look good to us. Nice job on a disappointing project.
1/12/05 11:50 PM
valerie sews said...
drsue, I do like your top even though you found this pattern a disapointment. It'd probably work for you scaled down and made up in a knit fabric..thank you for a helpful review.
1/13/05 4:37 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Sorry this did not work for you. I have yet to attempt empire waist type tops. When I was a member of the IBTC they looked great. Now I am a member of the FBAC and just don't think this will be flattring. Love your fabric though.
1/14/05 5:56 AM
knitknitknit said...
Thanks, Dr. Sue! I always enjoy your thoughtful and intelligent comments. Your comments about Jalie 2005 have cost me a great deal of money, however. I bought the pattern, then had to have some new fabrics to make it in; within a week I had bought a new serger. I have been eyeing this particular pattern for some little while now. Thanks for the heads up about the ties! Jane in MA
2/6/06 1:04 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Lazy Girl Designs 211 Wonder Wallet
photo
Review by Deepika on 3/8/07
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Hang Time Basketball Shorts Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Hang Time Basketball Shorts Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SBCC Patterns Foldover Waistband Maxi Skirt Digital Pattern (XXS-L)
SBCC Patterns Foldover Waistband Maxi Skirt Digital Pattern (XXS-L)

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Other Mini Wardrobe May 2009
photo
Review by kal1 on 5/31/09
Read Review

Islander Sewing Systems Irish Coat Pattern Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Irish Coat Pattern Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Wrap Top
Christine Jonson Wrap Top

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 3772 Pattern ( Size 4-5-6 )
Butterick 3772 Pattern ( Size 4-5-6 )

Details
Price: $11.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 5038 Pattern ( Size 7-8-10 )
McCalls 5038 Pattern ( Size 7-8-10 )

Details
Price: $11.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us