Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
New Look: 6097 (dress) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 931 times 37 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
Reviewed by:Jstarr4250
photo
Friend of PR
About Jstarr4250starstarstar
SC USA
Member since: 4/11/12
Reviews written: 65
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 90 people
patterns reviewed: 65
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2013
Posted on:8/27/12 12:13 PM
Last Updated:8/27/12 12:14 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
MNBarb said...
This looks like a winning pattern. I have found that NL tend to run large in the shoulder/bodice area.
8/27/12 1:03 PM
BillieJean said...
This is a beautiful dress. Love the pockets!
8/27/12 2:00 PM
sewnaughty said...
Beautiful dress I love the finishing on the neck and sleeve.
8/27/12 2:59 PM
marec said...
Great looking dress-and pockets!
8/27/12 3:00 PM
canei said...
Very nice!!!
8/27/12 4:39 PM
prostheticsgirl said...
I love the exposed facings and never would have guessed that it wasn't a planned design element. The textured fabric is so nice too!
8/27/12 5:45 PM
Christas said...
Your dress is so nice & very pretty! Wonderful fabric choice, too!
8/27/12 7:56 PM
ArtAttack said...
Super cute dress! I love your fabric and you're making me look (again) at this pattern even though I don't wear dresses very often.
8/27/12 8:21 PM
Ms. McCall said...
Fabulous dress, it looks very very well made - worth the time spent unpicking!
8/28/12 0:30 AM
Scheri said...
Wow did not think I liked tjis pattern but your dress has chsnged my mind. Great job and what a nice fabric.
8/28/12 1:57 AM
Judy Wentz said...
You did a beautiful job.
8/28/12 7:03 AM
QuikSew said...
Beautiful dress. I would not have guessed that the trim was an error and not planned. You did a great job!
8/28/12 8:33 AM
couturemom said...
Looks like you did a great job on the sewing. The pleats lay beautifully.
8/28/12 9:01 AM
cleverkitty said...
Beautiful! I just got this pattern in the mail yesterday thanks for the great review.
8/28/12 9:46 AM
JudyMac said...
I love the exposed facings on the neckline and sleeves!
8/28/12 2:07 PM
Mlandry said...
Gorgeous dress!
8/29/12 8:29 AM
kias2 said...
I am in the middle of making this. Thanks for the tip about the facings. Mine looked perfect until I turned them under and top-stitched. I was shocked when I checked - all wavy and stretched. Help !!!! Just thrown it to the side and looked at this site for any hints. I do, however think it is a great pattern. Yours has inspired me to finish it.
9/1/12 1:12 PM
Jstarr4250 said...
Kias2- that is exactly what I was afraid would happen with the top stitching on my knit fabric and why I left the facings exposed. In the end it turned out to be a great solution. An update after the first wearing; I decided the armscyes and cap sleeve openings were too large so I took an additional inch off the small sleeve underarm seams, continuing down the bodice side seams and tapering to the point where the pleats begin. This had the added benefit of fixing the bit of gap I was experiencing at the bodice criss cross.
9/2/12 10:30 AM
SewWil said...
How did I miss this? Your dress is beautiful. I love your fabric. Great job. I'm about to cut this pattern.
9/26/12 4:12 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Burda 7517 DRESS
photo
Review by birdmcfarl... on 3/16/10
Read Review

Burda 9493 Pattern
Burda 9493 Pattern

Details
Price: $5.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1558 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Simplicity 1558 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Ottobre Design Magazine 03-2009-23 Bert Shorts
photo
Review by lara900 on 8/20/09
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Starboard Jacket Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Starboard Jacket Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Jump Rope Dress Digital Pattern( Size 6m-3T )
Oliver + S Jump Rope Dress Digital Pattern( Size 6m-3T )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus 102 Pattern
Petite Plus 102 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Shapes Four Good Measure Pattern (Size 1-3)
Shapes Four Good Measure Pattern (Size 1-3)

Details
Price: $16.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us