SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> LaFred> Clio Blouse (Clio Blouse)

5 more reviews
Viewed 399 times 
Reviewed by:Annette1
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Annette1starstarstarstar
Member since: 3/5/04
Reviews written: 153
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 204 people
patterns reviewed: 149
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/28/12 1:03 AM
Last Updated:8/28/12 1:07 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 19 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
22 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Margaret said...
Cute top and wonderful gift! Love all the different directions shown off by the checks!
8/30/12 7:57 AM
1SewSweet said...
Beautiful blouse...your friend is a very lucky person!
8/29/12 10:48 PM
VivianZ said...
This is a beautiful blouse. I love it with this fabric. I bought this same fabric and made a vintage Vogue shirt dress for my daughter.
8/29/12 7:20 AM
Karendee said...
After seeing this wonderfully made blouse I quickly bought a Clio before the mad dash to find them. I love the way the collar is so beautifully executed and frames the face. Your work is beautiful and perfect as always. You are so generous will your talents and time.
8/28/12 8:06 PM
Barbara V said...
So glad to see that you have sewn a LaFred pattern. Makes me happy to see Fred's designs being sewn; but a bit sad in recalling her passing. I feel fortunate in having known her. You're always so generous with sharing your fabrics and here you are sewing for a friend.....what a Sweet Heart! The top turned out really cute and you did a super job (no surprise there)....and the button adds a nice touch. Looking forward to seeing the next one that you make for yourself! And BTW, I agree with you that it would look good with a long pencil skirt.
8/28/12 6:48 PM
cmarie12 said...
This is a pretty top. Love the fabric choice. And you write the best reviews, so thorough!
8/28/12 12:26 PM
persevering said...
Thanks for sharing - this is a great style - I learn so much from reading your reviews and seeing what you post of the process too (thanks for the entertainment of your writing too), and appreciate reading your linked interfacing tip for the 1st time too.
8/28/12 11:47 AM
blue mooney said...
This is so darn nice! Your friend is awfully lucky to be getting it. Now I'll be on the lookout for this pattern.
8/28/12 11:16 AM
MNBarb said...
Annette, you need to make this pattern for yourself! It's so YOU. I'm wearing a Burda top with similar shape today and it's so easy/breezy. Your work on this top is impeccable and I love the 2 inch topstitching. Everything about it is "just right".
8/28/12 11:05 AM
Gilberta said...
Very nice, crisp looking collar~
8/28/12 10:45 AM
mleclair said...
So very well done. Thanks for a wonderful review.
8/28/12 10:40 AM
RLL said...
Annete, this is beautifully done and the button is perfect. You always know the right touch. I have always liked alot of the LaFred patterns and I am glad to see that you can still get them after Fred's passing in 2010. She was a wonderful designer, a fabulous person all around.
8/28/12 10:03 AM
Mermie said...
Love this! You do beautiful work!
8/28/12 9:36 AM
KarlaB said...
Very pretty top! I'm sure your friend will love it!
8/28/12 9:00 AM
Christas said...
Very lovely top! The fabric is sooo pretty and looks so perfect made into this pattern. Of course, the button is a great detail, too! Excellent review and garment, AS ALWAYS! This looks like a great brand of patterns. Thank you for bringing them to my attention!
8/28/12 8:49 AM
HeyJane said...
Very pretty, that looks like some high quality fabric that's very comfortable to wear.
8/28/12 8:05 AM
Rebecca D said...
I saw those couture cottons and it's nice to see the fabric made up. Great looking blouse. I had never heard of this LaFred pattern. Darn chic and versatile.
8/28/12 6:42 AM
BillieJean said...
Beautiful top and super review. Thanks for being so thorough.
8/28/12 6:03 AM
Sigrid. said...
Pretty top. Beautifully made as always and the button is an Annette feature. Lovely.
8/28/12 3:01 AM
Annette1 said...
SewWil and Renren: I had never used a LaFred pattern either, but I really did like the way this one turned out! I have her "Thalia Pants" pattern, too, and I'm kind of anxious to try that one now. And I like the "Helena Dress," too (although I don't have that one YET). :o) Thanks!
8/28/12 2:01 AM
Renren said...
Your friend is going to love this. I like the turn of the wing collar, the button, the perfect topstitching, and the couture cotton! I don't know what couture cotton is either, but that is one fine looking piece of fabric. I'm guessing it's made with long-staple cotton and it feels silky smooth. I think I need to look into these LaFred patterns.
8/28/12 1:46 AM
SewWil said...
VERY PRETTY top!!! Great choice of fabric for this style and I like the button you added. Great job! I've never heard of this brand of pattern. Thanks for your detailed review.
8/28/12 1:22 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
More Knits
More Knits

Class Details

Online Class
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Class Details

Simplicity 2443

photo
by: SewingDo0f

Review
Other Postcard

photo
by: Renren

Review
My Favorite Duffle Bag

My Favorite Duffle Bag

More Info
Sewing Workshop Icon Shirt

Sewing Workshop Icon Shirt

More Info