Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: 5778 (Misses Dress) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 857 times 4 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
Reviewed by:Barbara V
photo
Friend of PR
About Barbara Vstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 87
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 180 people
patterns reviewed: 87
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/29/12 6:25 PM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $18.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $18.95     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
DorothyK said...
Barbara, this is a terrific dress and the fabric is so sassy. Did you do this after you returned from Jackson? After all, you had one day less :)
8/29/12 7:00 PM
Christas said...
I LOVE this on you! I'm glad you think this dress camouflages many "body issues", but you look fantastic in EVERYTHING you make! Actually, I'm thinking "WHAT body issues"? :-)
8/29/12 7:42 PM
Nan Kay said...
Love the polka dots! Your dress really looks nice on you.
8/29/12 7:49 PM
TJSEWS said...
Gorgeous!
8/29/12 8:09 PM
ArtAttack said...
Oh, I LOVE this on you! The polka dots rock! Love it
8/29/12 8:18 PM
lamstu said...
You always look great - I have never noticed any "body issues!" Such a fun dress here. Your lazy sewing is really smart - a good result and more time to sew something else. Thanks for telling us how you did it.
8/29/12 8:56 PM
NancyZL said...
Looks great ! I also wear a size 12 but have been seeing a problem with the neckline on knits so may use size 6-8 in the future. Thanks for such a helpful review!
8/29/12 9:00 PM
marthamyers said...
So charming. Gotta love those polka-dots. And you're not lazy - just practical. Nicely done.
8/29/12 9:17 PM
CynthiaSue said...
You look a thousand times better than the envelope picture!! so elegant! How did you get the dress to not have the empire waist that appears on the envelope picture! Yours looks like it hits almost at your natural waist which I actually like so much more!
8/29/12 11:54 PM
Annette1 said...
Can somebody please point me to the POLKA DOTS? :o)) I LOVE this dress. It's just so CLASSY, especially in this length. I also like your way of doing the cowl neck. If I can remember, I may give that a try next time I make a cowl neck. By the way, I wonder if you could CRAM some fabric in that little pagoda back there. It would be covered, at least, and you could pile it in teetering stacks on the chairs and the table, and even UNDER the table. Heh-heh-heh.
8/30/12 0:21 AM
Barbara V said...
Thanks for the comments! CynthiaSue, I see what you mean about my dress having a longer waistline than what shows on the envelope. I used the size 8 pattern for the bodice length, so my guess is that it is a combination of the stretchy fabric relaxing down with the weight of the skirt, plus my smallish upper shape that does not fill it "up and out". Making an adjustment to the pattern would be simple if one would like a slightly longer bodice section.
8/30/12 0:22 AM
Margie T said...
Love your work! Lovely dress!
8/30/12 1:33 AM
2 Airedales n Me said...
I am in "sundress making mode" right now and have several patterns and fabrics auditioning on my studio table. This pattern is right there in full view so I was very happy to see your review and the beautiful result of your experiments. Thanks for saving us some time! Really very cute.
8/30/12 1:36 AM
Knitters Delight said...
Gorgeous dress especially with the fabric you chose. Well done.
8/30/12 2:31 AM
cleverkitty said...
Love your dress, the lazy way I have used too, great review your funny bumpity bumps!
8/30/12 8:41 AM
sew2little said...
A perfect dress to transition into fall in our hot valley.
8/30/12 10:37 PM
SavageCoco said...
Long live the dress that camos the bumpity bits! Beautiful workmanship once again!
8/30/12 10:48 PM
j Renee Design said...
your version is wonderful! I love the polka dots and the longer length. Thanks for the shout out! My cowl totally DOES have the same creasy-foldy odd look that yours did when you had the facing in - and I thought mine was doing that because I used a 2-way stretch instead of 4-way! Guess it's just the pattern bein' wonky.
8/31/12 11:47 AM
Ann Smith said...
Great looking dress on you. Love the choice of polka dots. Also I'm amused by Annette's idea to convert your gazebo to stash storage. LOL.
8/31/12 12:37 PM
pdiddly said...
beautiful dres
9/12/12 3:31 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

McCall's 6328 misses shorts
photo
Review by CindysIsla... on 5/21/12
Read Review

Oliver + S Secret Agent Trench Coat Digital Pattern ( 5-12)
Oliver + S Secret Agent Trench Coat Digital Pattern ( 5-12)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Floppy Flower Sun Hat Digital Pattern ( Size newborn - child )
Peek-A Boo Floppy Flower Sun Hat Digital Pattern ( Size newborn - child )

Details
Price: $4.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

No Pattern Used 0001
photo
Review by Ceidhle on 12/1/12
Read Review

Gracie Handbag
Gracie Handbag

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl 90mm Barrel Purse Pattern
You Sew Girl 90mm Barrel Purse Pattern

Details
Price: $25.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6878 Pattern ( Size 2-3-4-5 )
McCalls 6878 Pattern ( Size 2-3-4-5 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6234 Pattern ( Size 8-10 )
McCalls 6234 Pattern ( Size 8-10 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us