Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 8839 (Misses' Jacket) thumbsup - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 724 times 6 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 12 people   
Reviewed by:marthamyers
photo
Friend of PR
About marthamyersstarstarstarstar
GA USA
Member since: 11/14/05
Reviews written: 147
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 68 people
patterns reviewed: 132
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/29/12 10:08 PM
Last Updated:8/29/12 11:10 PM


See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
Available for sale on PR: $27.50 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $27.50     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
MaryDB said...
I'm glad to see this pattern made up! Nice work, looks great on you. Looks like a fun jacket.
8/30/12 0:18 AM
Annette1 said...
Oh, my, SO NICE in your contrasting fabrics, and I too really like that it has the double collar. Your info on the use of a woven fabric is very useful. (That would be something I'd try WITHOUT the use of a muslin -- ha!) Oh, and the fabric you linked on Marcy Tilton's site, I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE. I saw that the other day and have DREAMED of it ever since. :o)
8/30/12 0:25 AM
2 Airedales n Me said...
Your jacket looks just great on you - classic colorways, intriguing color-blocking and an artful pattern. Great combo. Thanks for the review - this is on my "stack" but now that I've read your review I'll be very careful with my fabric selection.
8/30/12 1:24 AM
cleverkitty said...
your jacket is so sharp and that Marcy Tilton fabric would be excellent for this pattern.
8/30/12 8:52 AM
marec said...
Your version of this cardi is so pretty and just right for your wardrobe. I like the bands of color and the drape of the double collar is perfect. Excellent review with lots of tips on how best too make this up-thank you.
8/30/12 10:05 AM
VogueMistress said...
Thanks for the informative review. This one is on my list for this fall.
8/30/12 11:22 AM
sewtime said...
Wow! Beautifully made. Love the contrasting colors and the color is so cute!! Enjoy you fabulous new jacket!
8/30/12 11:40 AM
DorothyK said...
That's a nice-looking jacket. What a brilliant idea to use color blocking. And yes, Marcy's fabric is to die for.
8/30/12 1:23 PM
JillyBe said...
Your color blocking and fabric choices are so elegant! I'm dying to make this jacket; your review is very helpful; especially since I'm afraid now that I'm realizing I probably have to give up on my initial fabric choice.
9/20/12 6:00 PM
GumLeafDesigns said...
I also wanted to use a fabric where both sides were interesting and provided the contrast, but appears to be very illusive. For my first try I gave up. Thank you for your review - very helpful. This will be my first garment with raw edges. Looking forward to getting started.
9/24/12 6:32 PM
Sue Parrott said...
I just love this! So adorable!
12/22/12 10:44 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

New Look 6170
photo
Review by rmusic1 on 8/10/13
Read Review

Vogue 1247 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16-18 )
Vogue 1247 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16-18 )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6083 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )
McCalls 6083 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 6207
photo
Review by Poppycat22... on 1/16/11
Read Review

Salme Pussy Bow Blouse Digital Pattern
Salme Pussy Bow Blouse Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Jenny Dress Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Jenny Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Urban T-Shirt & Pants Pattern
Sewing Workshop Urban T-Shirt & Pants Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Chopin Blouse Pattern
Sewing Workshop Chopin Blouse Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us