SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 12-2009-111 (Biker Jacket)

2 more reviews
Review submitted in Lined Jacket Contest Contest
Viewed 618 times 
Reviewed by:froggiegirl
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About froggiegirlstar
Member since: 5/23/09
Reviews written: 86
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 46 people
patterns reviewed: 84
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/30/12 9:19 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
37 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
montanachic said...
This is AMAZING!
9/7/12 9:37 AM
j Renee Design said...
This jacket is amazing! Awesome tips for working with leather, too.
9/4/12 2:12 PM
Nancy K said...
I know what you mean about never wanting to sew leather again and wanting to make another project. Not being able to rip the stitches makes it kind of nerve wracking. You did a great job and it looks great on.
9/2/12 8:45 PM
iridaea said...
super! love/hate fabric? Yeah, I get that! Do you think sewing by hand would have been easier? Kudos!
9/2/12 5:47 PM
Sarsez said...
Really stunning jacket.
9/1/12 7:39 AM
Barbara V said...
It's beautiful in every way! Congratulations! Wear it with pride!!!!
8/31/12 9:15 PM
Maree P said...
Everything about this is stunning...gorgeous style, buttery leather, and your sewing and drafting skills are impeccable. Congratulations on your jacket.
8/31/12 8:31 PM
MNBarb said...
Ahh, I can almost FEEL the softness of the leather through the photos. You did a smashing job with this jacket!
8/31/12 8:06 PM
chenille said...
I just love this! I am in awe of the work and how professional this looks.
8/31/12 6:15 PM
Aroura said...
Totally amazing work, I am so impressed! You did an amazing job both drafting and sewing this up. And your leather is just a gorgeous color, love everything about it!
8/31/12 4:41 PM
allycovey said...
You did a great job!!!!!!
8/31/12 4:38 PM
grays08 said...
Way to hang in there and stick with it...awesome jacket. I think you did an excellent job with all the revisions - truly impressive!
8/31/12 2:30 PM
marymary86 said...
Nicely done! It looks amazing but it also looks amazing on you!
8/31/12 12:54 PM
bebro said...
Amazing! I can't believe someone could actually sew a leather jacket and have it look so--so---REAL!
8/31/12 12:49 PM
rozzybabe said...
Great effort, you did amazing work in duplicating the knock off. Congratulations!!
8/31/12 12:48 PM
SavageCoco said...
Ooooh, man, you are BRAVE. And really, really well done! Brava!
8/31/12 12:35 PM
crisford said...
That is really amazing! What a wonderful finished project, it fits you like a glove and the gorgeous leather begs to be touched. Thank you for the inspiration!
8/31/12 12:25 PM
marec said...
My gosh-that is a beautiful jacket and very nicely fitted. I applaud your courage, persistence and patience, as well as your creativity.
8/31/12 11:41 AM
cleverkitty said...
Incredible, this is gorgeous!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
8/31/12 11:10 AM
sewnaomi said...
Your topstiching and sleeve vents are beautiful. Thanks for not setting it on fire:) Looking at it is a treat.
8/31/12 10:59 AM
Wianno Girl said...
Your jacket is WAY more amazing than the Fossil. The sewing is perfect even up close on your blog. Thank you for listing your sources.
8/31/12 10:33 AM
froggiegirl said...
Thanks everyone for your comments! Forgetting how much the materials cost really helped with making the project. When I added the cost up after posting the review I almost fainted.
8/31/12 10:30 AM
lcdrbetty said...
Great jacket!! Impressed with all your alterations...I would have been crying through all that! Fabulous!
8/31/12 9:54 AM
truebias said...
this is amazing!
8/31/12 9:51 AM
wordchick said...
Wow...you go girl! I think it looks fantastic! I love the color and your courage to take on leather @ home! Great job....
8/31/12 9:30 AM
Sewlful said...
Your jacket is AHMAZING!! I have this pattern and some faux leather than I planned to make this up last winter. Never got to it. Now seeing your wonderful work, I'm not sure I'm ready. This is an absolute winner!
8/31/12 9:22 AM
QueenZ said...
That's a damn good-looking jacket, (am I allowed to say that?)!!!
8/31/12 9:17 AM
Jstarr4250 said...
You are so brave...this is beautiful. It takes a lot of courage to cut into $200 worth of leather! The zippers are most impressive of all.
8/31/12 7:00 AM
Westy85 said...
Wow impressive jacket looks amazing.
8/31/12 5:26 AM
Renata said...
A very impressive jacket, both for looks and first attempt at working with leather. As far as difference in colour, I am sure you would be the only one to judge that too harshly, isn't that the nature of leather. I think once it softens up it will look even better than it does now. If not, I will be very happy to take it off your hands. A winner!
8/31/12 3:09 AM
Jrhee said...
Looks great!
8/31/12 1:28 AM
poppykettle said...
This is just totally uber-cool. I knew of the pattern, but you've just totally raised my opinion of it. HAWT!
8/31/12 1:22 AM
Knitters Delight said...
Beautiful work. A very professional job!
8/31/12 0:12 AM
PattyE said...
I've been dying to see your jacket...it's worth the wait...so cool.
8/30/12 10:57 PM
Amanda.Claire said...
Wow, what a great looking jacket! I am very impressed with your leather sewing.
8/30/12 10:38 PM
nancy2001 said...
Wow! Super duper and very impressive! Your pattern drafting and sewing skills really are "up to snuff" because this stunning jacket looks even better than the Fossil original!
8/30/12 9:55 PM
MaryDB said...
Bravo! Gorgeous jacket, nice work.
8/30/12 9:37 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Understanding Wool Fabrics
Understanding Wool Fabrics

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 09-2012-112

photo
by: French.Sea...

Review
Ultrasuede Jacket DVD

Ultrasuede Jacket DVD

Buy Now
Paradiso Designs Perfect Pillows Pattern

Paradiso Designs Perfect Pillows Pattern

Buy Now
Vogue Patterns 8856

photo
by: stitchywit...

Review