SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> New Look> 6097 (dress)

41 more reviews
Viewed 428 times 
Reviewed by:redsilvia
photo

 
 
About redsilviastar
CA USA
Member since: 1/20/09
Reviews written: 39
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 7 people
patterns reviewed: 39
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2013
Posted on:8/30/12 2:55 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
saranoemi said...
Double needle! So clever; totally forgot to do that. It is a bit loose on the sides, right? Glad I wasn't the only one to take it in at the waist. Yours came out great and I love the fabric print. Lovely job!
8/30/12 3:53 PM
sunnysewer said...
I am glad to see your review as I have this pattern in my list to things to make, very helpful. Looks great on you, you got the fit adjusted nicely.
8/30/12 3:58 PM
SavageCoco said...
Great review! I so want to make this dress. I can never get the double-needle trick to work - the needles just keep skipping stitches no matter what I've tried. What needle did you use? Do tell! Your dress is lovely!
8/30/12 4:54 PM
cleverkitty said...
Lovely dress for sure looks great on you! I just bought this pattern and will refer to your review when I sew it, thanks for writing such a good one. I agree with you on facings on knits.
8/30/12 5:36 PM
redsilvia said...
FYI for SavageCoco - The double needle I used here is a Schmetz 130/705H 4.8/80 and it's got a red plastic bridge between the two needles so I guess that means it's for wovens but I use it almost exclusively on knits. I usually adjust the tread tension a bit looser and make the stitch a bit longer. It still skips every now and then but not enough to bug me.
8/30/12 7:11 PM
momsurfing said...
looks great on you and i like the fabric print
8/30/12 10:29 PM
wordchick said...
Looks fantastic on you...and I love the print!
8/31/12 5:33 AM
Barbara V said...
Great fabric and wonderful fit. It looks super on you!
8/31/12 9:17 PM
Levone said...
Gorgeous dress!
9/4/12 3:07 PM
Re Becca said...
I am making this now and pawing my way through the instructions. I think your way is easier! Do you have some pictures for the steps on a blog? This is my first knit dress and your looks truly beautiful and well made.
9/17/12 10:44 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 02-2009-124

photo
by: MissCelie

Review
New Look 6735

photo
by: Rebecca Sz...

Review

Pattern

Paradiso Designs Kimono Jacket Formula Pattern

Paradiso Designs Kimono Jacket Formula Pattern

Buy Now
Islander Sewing Systems Men's City Western Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Men's City Western Shirt Pattern

Buy Now