SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fabulous Fit
Fabulous Fit

Pattern Reviews> New Look> 6097 (dress)

45 more reviews
Viewed 439 times 
Reviewed by:redsilvia

About redsilviastar
Member since: 1/20/09
Reviews: 47 (patterns: 47)
Skill level:Advanced
Favored by: 9 people
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2013
Posted on:8/30/12 2:55 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History

Historical Patterns
Web site

Nature's Fabrics

Natural & Organic Fabrics

Elliott Berman Textiles

Fabrics for Greater Ideas

<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment    
Re Becca said... (9/17/12 10:44 PM) Reply
I am making this now and pawing my way through the instructions. I think your way is easier! Do you have some pictures for the steps on a blog? This is my first knit dress and your looks truly beautiful and well made.
Levone said... (9/4/12 3:07 PM) Reply
Gorgeous dress!
Barbara V said... (8/31/12 9:17 PM) Reply
Great fabric and wonderful fit. It looks super on you!
wordchick said... (8/31/12 5:33 AM) Reply
Looks fantastic on you...and I love the print!
momsurfing said... (8/30/12 10:29 PM) Reply
looks great on you and i like the fabric print
redsilvia said... (8/30/12 7:11 PM) Reply
FYI for SavageCoco - The double needle I used here is a Schmetz 130/705H 4.8/80 and it's got a red plastic bridge between the two needles so I guess that means it's for wovens but I use it almost exclusively on knits. I usually adjust the tread tension a bit looser and make the stitch a bit longer. It still skips every now and then but not enough to bug me.
cleverkitty said... (8/30/12 5:36 PM) Reply
Lovely dress for sure looks great on you! I just bought this pattern and will refer to your review when I sew it, thanks for writing such a good one. I agree with you on facings on knits.
SavageCoco said... (8/30/12 4:54 PM) Reply
Great review! I so want to make this dress. I can never get the double-needle trick to work - the needles just keep skipping stitches no matter what I've tried. What needle did you use? Do tell! Your dress is lovely!
sunnysewer said... (8/30/12 3:58 PM) Reply
I am glad to see your review as I have this pattern in my list to things to make, very helpful. Looks great on you, you got the fit adjusted nicely.
saranoemi said... (8/30/12 3:53 PM) Reply
Double needle! So clever; totally forgot to do that. It is a bit loose on the sides, right? Glad I wasn't the only one to take it in at the waist. Yours came out great and I love the fabric print. Lovely job!
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
Online Class
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Class Details

Online Class
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Class Details

Butterick 5672

by: Sheila457

Vogue Patterns 8539

by: regine

Sewing Workshop New Yorker Jacket Pattern

Sewing Workshop New Yorker Jacket Pattern

Pattern Details
Jamie Christina Mission Maxi Paper Pattern

Jamie Christina Mission Maxi Paper Pattern

Pattern Details