SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Brother
Brother

Pattern Reviews> New Look> 6097 (dress)

45 more reviews
Viewed 441 times 
Reviewed by:redsilvia
photo

 
 
About redsilviastar
CA USA
Member since: 1/20/09
Reviews: 47 (patterns: 47)
Skill level:Advanced
Favored by: 10 people
more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2013
Posted on:8/30/12 2:55 PM
Review Rating:
Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Historical Patterns
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment    
Re Becca said... (9/17/12 10:44 PM) Reply
I am making this now and pawing my way through the instructions. I think your way is easier! Do you have some pictures for the steps on a blog? This is my first knit dress and your looks truly beautiful and well made.
Levone said... (9/4/12 3:07 PM) Reply
Gorgeous dress!
Barbara V said... (8/31/12 9:17 PM) Reply
Great fabric and wonderful fit. It looks super on you!
wordchick said... (8/31/12 5:33 AM) Reply
Looks fantastic on you...and I love the print!
momsurfing said... (8/30/12 10:29 PM) Reply
looks great on you and i like the fabric print
redsilvia said... (8/30/12 7:11 PM) Reply
FYI for SavageCoco - The double needle I used here is a Schmetz 130/705H 4.8/80 and it's got a red plastic bridge between the two needles so I guess that means it's for wovens but I use it almost exclusively on knits. I usually adjust the tread tension a bit looser and make the stitch a bit longer. It still skips every now and then but not enough to bug me.
cleverkitty said... (8/30/12 5:36 PM) Reply
Lovely dress for sure looks great on you! I just bought this pattern and will refer to your review when I sew it, thanks for writing such a good one. I agree with you on facings on knits.
SavageCoco said... (8/30/12 4:54 PM) Reply
Great review! I so want to make this dress. I can never get the double-needle trick to work - the needles just keep skipping stitches no matter what I've tried. What needle did you use? Do tell! Your dress is lovely!
sunnysewer said... (8/30/12 3:58 PM) Reply
I am glad to see your review as I have this pattern in my list to things to make, very helpful. Looks great on you, you got the fit adjusted nicely.
saranoemi said... (8/30/12 3:53 PM) Reply
Double needle! So clever; totally forgot to do that. It is a bit loose on the sides, right? Glad I wasn't the only one to take it in at the waist. Yours came out great and I love the fabric print. Lovely job!
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Class Details

Online Class
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Class Details

Butterick 5493

photo
by: Modiste Ma...

Review
You Sew Girl Adult Hats Pattern

You Sew Girl Adult Hats Pattern

Pattern Details
SewBaby Quick and Comfy Dresses Pattern

SewBaby Quick and Comfy Dresses Pattern

Pattern Details