Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
New Look: 6097 (dress) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 414 times 37 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
Reviewed by:redsilvia
photo
About redsilviastar
CA USA
Member since: 1/20/09
Reviews written: 35
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 6 people
patterns reviewed: 35
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2013
Posted on:8/30/12 2:55 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
saranoemi said...
Double needle! So clever; totally forgot to do that. It is a bit loose on the sides, right? Glad I wasn't the only one to take it in at the waist. Yours came out great and I love the fabric print. Lovely job!
8/30/12 3:53 PM
sunnysewer said...
I am glad to see your review as I have this pattern in my list to things to make, very helpful. Looks great on you, you got the fit adjusted nicely.
8/30/12 3:58 PM
SavageCoco said...
Great review! I so want to make this dress. I can never get the double-needle trick to work - the needles just keep skipping stitches no matter what I've tried. What needle did you use? Do tell! Your dress is lovely!
8/30/12 4:54 PM
cleverkitty said...
Lovely dress for sure looks great on you! I just bought this pattern and will refer to your review when I sew it, thanks for writing such a good one. I agree with you on facings on knits.
8/30/12 5:36 PM
redsilvia said...
FYI for SavageCoco - The double needle I used here is a Schmetz 130/705H 4.8/80 and it's got a red plastic bridge between the two needles so I guess that means it's for wovens but I use it almost exclusively on knits. I usually adjust the tread tension a bit looser and make the stitch a bit longer. It still skips every now and then but not enough to bug me.
8/30/12 7:11 PM
momsurfing said...
looks great on you and i like the fabric print
8/30/12 10:29 PM
wordchick said...
Looks fantastic on you...and I love the print!
8/31/12 5:33 AM
Barbara V said...
Great fabric and wonderful fit. It looks super on you!
8/31/12 9:17 PM
Levone said...
Gorgeous dress!
9/4/12 3:07 PM
Re Becca said...
I am making this now and pawing my way through the instructions. I think your way is easier! Do you have some pictures for the steps on a blog? This is my first knit dress and your looks truly beautiful and well made.
9/17/12 10:44 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Simplicity 2683
photo
Review by sacmabell on 7/6/11
Read Review

Sewing Workshop Hong Kong Vest Pattern
Sewing Workshop Hong Kong Vest Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sew Liberated Reading Pillow
Sew Liberated Reading Pillow

Details
Price: $11.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Liesl + Co. Women's Metro Shirt Digital Pattern
Liesl + Co. Women's Metro Shirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Belle Bow Blouse
Belle Bow Blouse

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 4968 OOP (50s/60s)
photo
Review by gabc on 12/30/12
Read Review

Loes Hinse Gore Skirt
Loes Hinse Gore Skirt

Details
Price: $16.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 8974 Pattern
Burda 8974 Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us